We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Breckenridge
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“nice place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

I have stayed at the Doubletree in Durango 3 or 4 times over the past 10 years. This stay was as good as past stays. The rooms are large and nice. There is a great 7 mile running path right by the hotel. Get a room that over looks the river.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Doug P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
We thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We appreciate getting the feedback from you. We're pleased that you love our location, we do too. The beautiful Animas River, the great River Path, it all adds up to the perfect location. We thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent Durango stay and welcome you back anytime you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    690
    415
    111
    36
    12
See reviews for
429
478
35
173
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014 via mobile

After camping back to back nights through national parks, we ended up in quaint Durango at the Doubletree. We had a room with a view of the Animas River and easy access to it, as well as historic downtown Durango. Perfect spot to enjoy the town and it's sights. Walking distance. JP was absolutely fantastic getting us quickly checked in and into our room knowing how far we'd traveled! And great restaurant recs!

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kasie Lynn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. Thank you for the compliments of our hotel. We appreciate the fact that you chose our hotel for your Durango stay and pleased that we were able to help you recoup from back to back
camping. We welcome you back anytime you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

The staff at the Durango DoubleTree was gracious, competent and much appreciated. Our stay was very relaxing and low stress, just as we had hoped for on our vacation. The hotel is only a couple blocks from the Durango Silverton Narrow Gage RR station making is a very convenient location when taking the train.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank rosskis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We are so pleased to learn that your stay with us was a good one. We thank you for the compliments.
We would like to welcome you back to stay with us again when ever your travels bring you to Durango.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level Contributor
112 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014 via mobile

Choose the Doubletree over more historic hotels in town for the view / location. The hotel is easy to find, very close to historic Durango (couple of block walk), and right on the Animas River.

They have a special floor just for HiltonHonors members (quiet - away from tourists) - and my room overlooked the river. I spent my evening with the sliding door open, enjoying the cool evening and listening to the river flow by. Absolutely fantastic way to spend the night.

Room was clean, quiet and nothing to complain about. Grocery store next door - McD's across the street - Historic Durango 2 blocks up.

I am a fairly picky person - and I can't think of a single negative about this hotel. Thanks for the nice stay!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We do appreciate getting feedback from our guests. Our Hilton Honor's program is really great with lots of benefits for our guests. We would like to welcome you back to stay with us again when ever your travels bring you to Durango.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
155 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

We have stayed at this hotel a few times. This time we had a trailer with an ATV, so wanted a location where we could park and walk to downtown/restaurants. This was perfect - we walked to dinner both nights. Hotel is a little dated as well as the rooms, but clean and neat. Staff was friendly. I rented a bike next door at Mountain Waters - don't do that - bike was poor quality but it was close to the hotel and the river trail was less than a 1/4 mile away. After I rented and complained, they said they were selling their bikes soon and refunded the $25 they charged for a 2 hour rental.

Room Tip: Back side on the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We noted your comment concerning the bike rental and will advise our staff of other rental options. We thank you for staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the future whenever your travels bring you back to this area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

Loved this hotel beside the river. The staff were extra friendly. The prices are a little high, but it is a resort area. Very close to train. You can walk everywhere from hotel. Grocery store with a Starbucks right beside hotel. Easy access to Mesa Verde and New Mexico.

Room Tip: Ask for a river front room. Ground level opens out to beautiful river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elijah619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We do have a great location, on the beautiful Animas River, great river walking path behind the hotel, close to Durango and all the amenities it has to offer. We are so pleased that you chose our hotel for your recent Durango Stay. We welcome you back anytime your travels bring you to Durango.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

Very quiet rooms, excellent breakfast and friendly staff. This hotel is right on the Animas River with a nice walking jogging path, It is one block from town and much quieter and less expensive than down town hotels. We will be back

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the Double Tree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We thank you for your compliments. We are happy to learn that you will stay with us again. We welcome you back anytime your travels bring you to Durango.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
2.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
0.2 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#4 of 32 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 866 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Durango
Hampton Inn Durango
#2 of 32 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Rochester Hotel & Bar
Rochester Hotel & Bar
#8 of 32 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 221 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Address: 501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Durango
#1 Green Hotel in Durango
#2 Family Hotel in Durango
#3 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Durango 3.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Low-rise Hotel set on the banks of Animas River at Highways 160 & 550; convenient to Fort Lewis College & tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Durango
Durango Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing