We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Large room with beautiful river view” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
174 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Large room with beautiful river view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

We had a double river-view room with balcony for three nights. The non-river view rooms look out over the parking lot - not the nicest of views if you'll be lounging on your balcony. The room was quite large, with two sinks and plenty of room to move the four of us and all of our stuff around. There's a coin-operated (you can also purchase detergent in there from a machine) laundry room that officially closes at 9pm but we were able to finish our laundry after that time. Breakfast was included in our room so we took advantage of that - beautiful buffet with pretty good food, but I wouldn't pay $17 for the buffet otherwise. Nice omelet station, waffles, lots of fruit and yogurt choices. Solid wifi (again, included in our rate when we were there). Bigger indoor pool than most hotels. The lower level where the pool and laundry are is a bit dated and needs some updating. We used Durango as our hopping off point to the San Juan Skyway (and a wonderful day in Ouray) and to Mesa Verde (about 45 minutes to park entrance). You can walk into main street area of Durango in less than five minutes from this hotel - a great plus. And, there's a large grocery store next door for gathering picnic supplies, etc. Staff were very professional and helpful.

Room Tip: Book a river view room and enjoy a few minutes on the pretty balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank citysuburb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We do appreciate your feedback. Its great to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do have great rooms, plenty of space, etc. We are in the planning stages for a renovation for our hotel. We are waiting for corporate approvals. We do thank you for staying with us and welcome you back anytime you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    765
    445
    124
    41
    14
See reviews for
460
540
38
189
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paraparaumu, New Zealand
Level Contributor
343 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014

This is a big swish hotel but feels comfortable. Staff friendly and helpful.
I liked the chocolate cookie in the room on arrival!
The bed was a bit soft for me, but still fairly comfortable.. Good size towels.
Handy for station and restaurants

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HKinsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. Its great to get feedback from our guests. We're pleased that you had a great stay with us and enjoyed our guest rooms. Our beds are specially made for Hilton Hotels and are called Sweet Dreams Beds. They consist of a feather bed on top of a firm mattress set and are completed with down pillows and comforter. They are very popular with our guests. Thanks for staying with us, come back to see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pineville, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014

This was a beautiful hotel in Durango. If you are looking for place to stay - choose this. Restaurant was also very good. and there is an excellent gift shop, too. Rooms were quiet and very comfortable. Everything is new and clean.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Carolyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We do appreciate your feedback. We're pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks for choosing our hotel; we welcome you back anytime you are in the Durango area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014

If you are looking for a conveniently located hotel close to downtown then this hotel is good. The hotel is overpriced for the service you receive. Nothing is free or included in the price of the room. You can get the same room amenities at a hotel half the price. They do not have a continental breakfast available free of charge it cost $10 and was mediocre at best. I will not stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
2 Thank Mathew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your comments. I hope that you will consider our off-season offerings that are substantially more affordable, but I do understand that the summer is much higher. We do thank you for staying with us and of course welcome you back anytime you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lufkin, Tx.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014

I spent one great night Aug. 1st and again on Aug. 9th. Loved the décor. The wood carved murals were unbelievable. The view from our balcony of the Animas River and mountains in the background was breath taking. I love the breakfast buffet and our server. We also had an evening meal in the outdoor café. The live music was entertaining. This was a perfect end to my Co. trip.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a river view. And dogs are welcome.
See more room tips
Green Features: Great to be given chocolate chip cookies and bottled water.
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Can1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the Doubletree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We always love getting feedback from our guests. We're thrilled that we were the perfect end to your trip.
Thanks for staying with us. come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014

Really nice hotel. However...very outdated...smelled like moldy basement...Needs update. Great location close to downtown strip...Hotel employees very nice and friendly... We would return if we were in the area...Durango is a nice little city.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Hungry0699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We do appreciate your feedback. You'll be interested to learn that we are in the planning stages for a renovation for our hotel. We are waiting for corporate approvals. We thank you for staying with us and welcome you back any time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
258 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014

Travelling as part of a tour group - we arrived early evening, but the check-in was brilliant and we were in our room in no time.

We overlooked the river and it was pleasant sitting on the balcony watching the torrents of water in the swollen river (due to the snow melt we were told). Good sized room and the whole hotel was spotlessly clean.

Location was good - we were able to walk into town and have a meal and although not a big place, Durango has lots of character. Sadly, our visit there was short, so didn't get much chance to explore, but it's a place we'd love to go back to.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stenolass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel -the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We do appreciate your feedback. We hope that you would come back and enjoy Durango again, there is so much to do and see in this area. We welcome you back anytime your travels bring you to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
2.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
0.2 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#7 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Durango
Hampton Inn Durango
#3 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#10 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rochester Hotel & Bar
Rochester Hotel & Bar
#6 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Address: 501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Durango
#1 Business Hotel in Durango
#2 Family Hotel in Durango
#3 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Durango 3.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Low-rise Hotel set on the banks of Animas River at Highways 160 & 550; convenient to Fort Lewis College & tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Durango
Durango Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing