We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Convenient to Train and Downtown” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Tucson
Level Contributor
208 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Convenient to Train and Downtown”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

This was my second visit in about 4 years. This is a very comfortable, convenient property. The river view is tops. The staff are very friendly. The breakfast buffet was a great start to the day. (Ask about the off-menu breakfast panini's that are included with the buffet.)

Room Tip: Almost all upper level rooms have a balcony (city and river view). One except is the room next to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HornsAndTail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the Doubletree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We do appreciate your feedback. We do have a great location on the beautiful Animas River and close to downtown and the Durango Silverton Train. We do have a few rooms without balconies, as you say, so guests need to be sure to ask for a balcony room. We know comfort and convenience are important to our guests. Thank you for staying with us. We welcome you back anytime you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    765
    445
    126
    41
    14
See reviews for
460
541
38
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

We've stayed at this hotel numerous times over the years. As former residents and frequent visitors of Durango, the location and proximity to the town is the main reason for us choosing this hotel. Our stay last year was not good and after posting this on Trip Advisor the management gave us a complimentary 1 night stay. This year, we were far more pleased with their attention to our comfort.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank 455patrickn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We thank you for your review and compliments of our hotel. We find many of our guests choose to stay with us because of our great location. We thank you for staying with us and welcome you back when ever your travels bring you to Durango again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

This hotel is comfortable, and backs to the Animas river. Rooms are clean and well appointed. We had a balcony overlooking the river. I believe in the summer the rooms facing the front of the hotel may be hot because the hotel faces west. It was a fairly short walk to the main historic street of Durango. Lots of eateries, bars and shopping. I don't think Durango was exactly as I imagined. I expected there to be a real 'Old West' section of town. When I asked, I was told that there are certain historic buildings that sometimes give a nod to the old days with a reenactment of some kind. That didn't happen while we were there. One night in Durango was fun. It was a great stop after a drive along the million dollar highway, starting in Taos, meandering through Ouray and Silverton, and ending in Durango. If you get to Silverton, try the Handlebar and grill ( I think I got that right). When standing in line for a table, I wondered aloud whether the food was worth the wait. One man said it was -- he traveled 60 miles just for the peach cobbler! I didn't try the cobbler but the food was great-- and there was almost too much of it!

Room Tip: The rooms toward the front may be hot in summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PatM208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for your review of our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your feedback. We're pleased that you found our hotel to be a nice place for an overnight stay. We would like to welcome you back again when ever you are in the area for another overnight stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

First visit to Durango for a friends wedding. This area: Durango, Silverton, Mesa Verde is a MUST SEE!!!!! Venue at The Sleeping Beauty Ranch was Magnificent! And spending our days at the Doubletree was Wonderful from start to finish. The friendliest, most gracious staff.... truly EXCEPTIONAL!!!! We can't wait to return next year!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Maria F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. It is always great to get feedback from our guests. Thank you for your compliments of our staff, we will be sure to pass them along to all of them. We are pleased to learn that you will be back to stay again. We look forward to that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nc
Level Contributor
102 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

We loved staying in this hotel for two nights in early July. It is new and the best part is it's location across from the Durango/Silverton train station and two blocks away from the main st in Durango. We booked a train/rafting package where we rode the train up and had a shuttle bring us back down to the rafting company and then we rode a raft on the Animas. The doubletree was right beside the rafting office so we were able to run in to our hotel and change clothes and put up valuables before heading off to rafting. The hotel is also right on the river with gorgeous views and a paved walking/running/biking trail that runs for miles along the river. I would definitely ask for a room with a view..we had a balcony as well which was awesome. The only negatives about the hotel are that you have to cross a very busy street to get to downtown Durango/train station, the pool is very small but we were so busy with other activities that we did not use and the restaurant is hohum. We would definitely stay here again! Loved that we didn't have to get in our car once we arrived at the hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the river and a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank buttercup16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for your review of our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We do have a great location, on the Animas River, close to downtown and the train. We are pleased that you had a great stay with us and welcome you back to stay again the next time your travels bring you to Durango.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

Hotel is nice, walking distance to downtown Durango, restaurants, shopping and the Durango-Silverton Railroad. River view rooms are really nice also. Staff was friendly and willing to help. Only issues is that the hotel is a bit pricey.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Jigar A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your feedback. We are pleased that you found our hotel to meet your needs. Thank you for the compliments. We would like to welcome you back to stay with us again when ever your travels bring you back to Durango.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, Texas
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

We just stayed 6 nights at this property and were very pleased with our selection. The location is fantastic. The hotel sits right on the Animas River and is just a short stroll to the old historic downtown area. There is an Albertson's right across the street that was very handy. We had an end room on the river side which was quiet with a great view of the river. We spent a lot of time enjoying the river from our balcony and walking on the Animas River Trail that is right outside your door. The staff were very good and restaurant food was good. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Spend the extra money and stay on the river side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StevefromKaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We always love hearing from our guests about their stay. We're pleased to learn that you wouldn't stay anywhere else. That is great to hear. We look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
2.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
0.2 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#7 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Durango
Hampton Inn Durango
#3 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#10 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rochester Hotel & Bar
Rochester Hotel & Bar
#6 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Address: 501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301-5449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Durango
#1 Green Hotel in Durango
#2 Family Hotel in Durango
#3 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Durango 3.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Low-rise Hotel set on the banks of Animas River at Highways 160 & 550; convenient to Fort Lewis College & tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Durango
Durango Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing