We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nice Place to Stay in Durango” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Durango to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Free Shuttle & WiFi
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Wichita, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Nice Place to Stay in Durango”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Having spent several nights here on two different occasions....this is the best place to stay in Durango if you want a good night's sleep. We had no issues with this property. The location is perfect for walking to restaurants and shopping. When we come to Durango in the future...this will be where we stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Stan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Monument, Colorado
Level Contributor
104 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

I really love this place. Get a room on the river side and leave your door open to hear that mountain stream slide by. Even the construction nearby doesn't bother... and is probably already complete. You have an Albertsons grocery next door to pick up whatever you forgot. Main Street Durango with all its shops and restaurants is a block away.

Rooms are good-sized so you can stretch out; PURE rooms give you an allergy-free option which is especially good if your spouse is asthmatic. Yes, you should keep the door closed to take advantage of that benefit. We did breakfast each morning where service could definitely use a tune-up. Things were slow and the hotel was full. Or at least for the rooms available. Some may have been out of service to be refreshed, something this hotel has done over the years, one of the things I love about it.

Sleep comfort, always high on my list, is excellent. This is a quiet hotel, even when full. The bed is very comfortable and the shower is superb. Durango is a super spot for a couples' getaway any time of year. The dining options are very good and well-priced, the active types can get out there, walk the great river walk right by the hotel or get active with x-sports. And if you just wanted to take a nap, hey, that's fine, too!

Room Tip: Definitely spring for a room on the river, preferably on the second or third level. Very fine.
See more room tips
Green Features: This place makes environmentally-friendly unnoticeable. The shower in the bath is fine, better than the one at home. The PURE option is super for those needing extra care. You feel pampered, not somehow being good instead of having a good time.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Foodandfrolic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staunton
Level Contributor
134 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

My favorite of all the Doubletrees I have visited. Thank you J.P. for moving my family members so that our balconies were side-by-side! We were here 3 nights and it was so nice to be able to chat back and forth balcony to balcony overlooking the Animas River.

The restaurant and lounge areas are by the river also--what a wonderful atmosphere and just beautiful! Breakfast buffet is way above par for most hotels. Really, I can't say enough good things about this hotel and its staff.

Room Tip: Choose 3rd or 4th floor (4th is the Hilton Honors member floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Foamergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. It is always great to get feedback from our guests. We are pleased to learn that we are your favorite of DoubleTree's. Thank you for staying with us. We welcome you back to stay with us again the next time your travels bring you to Durango.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sedona, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

This was my first time to Durango. The hotel is beautiful! Our room overlooked the Animus River and the apple trees were in full bloom. Tessa and Darcy at the front desk were so friendly, helpful and professional. They patiently answered all our questions. I know it is trying interacting with so many people and personalities and these two girls are awesome! Our room was so huge... we loved it. It was nice to come back from a long day of "getting lost" and see a smile at the front desk and a very comfortable bed. There was also a thank you note along with the HHonors water. What a nice touch. We didn't eat on property as we spent most of our time roaming around. The train ride to Silverton is a must for first timers. The mountains are breathtaking. We decided to make another trip later this year to take in some spots that we missed and to try some new ones. The Doubletree is our choice! Thank you to the staff for making this a wonderful trip.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new mexico
Level Contributor
323 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

The hotel itself, is very nice with a large, comfortable lobby; plenty of parking; many amenities such as a pool and exercise room; restaurant; convenient location to the train, shops and restaurants. Our room was large, clean and nicely furnished. There is a microwave,refrigerator, flat panel TV, and coffee maker. The bathroom looked recenly remodeled and the towels are nice and thick. The front desk folks were friendly and helpful. Of course, the huge chocolate chip cookies are always yummy. One big negative is that breakfast is not included and the cost of the buffet is $16/pp - pretty hefty even for Durango. When we were there, major road construction was happening right in front of the hotel and it took us 15 minutes to navigate around to the parking lot. They work all night long and as our room faced the road, it was very noisy and kept us awake. However, this is not the fault of the hotel but I wish we'd known about it prior to booking our room.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mwcw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor.
We do apologize for the noisy construction issues that you endured during your stay with us. We
are almost at the end of the highway construction out front of our hotel. The traffic jams and all have been rough for everyone but soon it will be over. We thank you for your business and welcome you back to stay with us again when the construction is over and peace and quiet will reign
again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

My daughter was graduating from the local Fort Lewis College. After a HORRIBLE travel day (thanks United), we arrived at the Doubletree at almost midnight to our cookies and a very comfy bed. The location of the hotel is perfect next to the scenic Animas River Trail and just a couple blocks from all that's happening downtown Durango.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank smurph13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We love getting feedback from our guests. We are pleased that you found out location to be a great one by being on the Animas River and close to all the amenities of Durango. We look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ouray, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Nice hotel from the days when they built nice hotels. Well kept, clean, great rooms, with plenty of space and beautiful river views. Professional and friendly staff. Durango has four distinct seasons and each is beautiful in a different way. Try them all.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Randall L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
We thank you for your review of our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. It is
great to get your compliments of our hotel. We thank you for your business and welcome you back to stay with us again the next time your travels bring you back to Durango.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
2.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Durango
Hampton Inn Durango
#3 of 30 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 657 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rochester Hotel & Bar
Rochester Hotel & Bar
#2 of 30 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#6 of 30 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 769 reviews
0.2 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#5 of 30 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 280 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Address: 501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Durango
#1 Green Hotel in Durango
#2 Family Hotel in Durango
#3 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Durango 3.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Low-rise Hotel set on the banks of Animas River at Highways 160 & 550; convenient to Fort Lewis College & tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Durango
Durango Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing