We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“College Graduation - check that off the list” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“College Graduation - check that off the list”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

My daughter was graduating from the local Fort Lewis College. After a HORRIBLE travel day (thanks United), we arrived at the Doubletree at almost midnight to our cookies and a very comfy bed. The location of the hotel is perfect next to the scenic Animas River Trail and just a couple blocks from all that's happening downtown Durango.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank smurph13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We love getting feedback from our guests. We are pleased that you found out location to be a great one by being on the Animas River and close to all the amenities of Durango. We look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    794
    458
    129
    41
    14
See reviews for
489
547
41
194
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ouray, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

Nice hotel from the days when they built nice hotels. Well kept, clean, great rooms, with plenty of space and beautiful river views. Professional and friendly staff. Durango has four distinct seasons and each is beautiful in a different way. Try them all.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Randall L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
We thank you for your review of our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. It is
great to get your compliments of our hotel. We thank you for your business and welcome you back to stay with us again the next time your travels bring you back to Durango.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

Hotel accommodations were perfect in every way. It was amazing to see how the staff took care of every little detail. Any thing that was needed was taken seriously and the staff made it happen. The food was excellent and plentiful, always presented professional. Each person was friendly always asking if everything OK and was there anything we needed.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Elaine Woodall M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
We thank you for your review of our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor.
Its great to get feedback from our guests and know that we are doing our job. We love catering for our guests and pleased that your event was successful. Thank you for your business, We look forward to having another opportunity to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

Based on the lack of customer service, ability to accomodate my needs and provide key information I am not a fan of the Doubletree in Durango, CO. Would not stay at this hotel again. The staff did not understand their own billing system and wrong information was provided during my check out. NO information was given on the internet access of the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Tanya D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor after your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback as it assists us on improving our service and quality.

I am hoping to get an opportunity to speak with you regarding your stay and do hope to hear from you soon. I am sorry for the experience you had and ask that you please either email or call me at my contact information below. Your opinions are important to us.

peter.marshall@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

The room and view was beautiful. Close to town. Gorgeous lobby. Good bfast buffet. Goregous, large bathroom. Super comfy bed. Superb staff and customer service. Had a few technical difficulties, but they were resolved easily and quickly. Either we didn't have neighbors or walls are like brick, cuz we didn't hear a peep! Not sure which one! Manager when we checked out was wonderful in his demeanor and his handling of our few room problems. JP, Kaci, and Zach were all wonderful-especially JP :) Can't wait to come back :)

Room Tip: Room 450-gorgeous view, quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sahmdeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
We thank you for your review of our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango. Thank you for your compliments, especially those of our staff, we will be sure to pass them on to each of them.
We were pleased to learn that you "cant wait to get back" and want to welcome you back anytime you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

I had stayed in this hotel before, and I was excited to come back. They are great with every aspect. Food is awesome, great service, super clean pool and workout area. It was nice to watch the snow from the balcony window in the warm room, while enjoying the great steak salad, fish and chips, and kids pizza!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Mariana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the Double Tree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We are thrilled to learn that you could not have had a better experience. That's our goal, to make the best experience for each of our guests. We thank you for your compliments and welcome you back to stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

This Doubletree Durango accepted pets which was a must for our stop. We were treated to the amenities of a more luxurious setting when traveling with dogs. Would definitely stay here again. The Doubletree is located centrally and was within a short distance of restaurants and the downtown area. There is also a walking/running trail behind the hotel next to the river which is very convenient.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
2 Thank kmm9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
We thank you for your review of our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor.
We are so pleased that you have found our hotel to meet your needs and those of your pets. We
welcome you back to stay with us again the next time your travels brings you to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.2 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#3 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
2.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
0.2 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#7 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Rochester Hotel & Bar
Rochester Hotel & Bar
#8 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Durango
Hampton Inn Durango
#4 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Address: 501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301-5449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Durango
#1 Green Hotel in Durango
#2 Family Hotel in Durango
#3 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Durango 3.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Low-rise Hotel set on the banks of Animas River at Highways 160 & 550; convenient to Fort Lewis College & tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct and Booking.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Durango
Durango Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing