We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Double Tree Hotel - Durango, Co.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Albuquerque, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Double Tree Hotel - Durango, Co.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Wonderful hotel located on the river. A real plus is the bike/running path right outside the door. Staff is friendly and very helpful. Add the warm cookies to the scenery and friendly atmosphere and you are all set for a great get away.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We do appreciate feedback from our guests. We thank you for your compliments of our hotel and welcome you back to stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    725
    433
    119
    38
    13
See reviews for
451
509
36
177
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durango, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

This is the first tiime I have stayed in Durango, CO and at this hotel. The service was great. Very clean, spacious and quiet rooms. The view of the river from my room was amazing. Centrally located and you can walk to many of the stores and restaurants in the downtown area. I would definetly stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Duane V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango. We appreciate your compliments of our hotel and staff. We agree with you on our location, on the banks of the beautiful Animas River, and close to everything Durango has to offer. We're pleased to learn that you would stay with us again and we welcome you anytime you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albuqueruqe, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Stayed here a lot on business travel. It's always great. This motel is my office's first choice when staying in Durango, CO. A riverside room is better, if you can get it. The other side looks out on the parking lot and highway and can be a little loud at times.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Sharon B W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
We want to thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. It's always great to get feedback from our guests. We're pleased that you stay with us often, repeat guests are the best ever. We look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

I don't normally do reviews, but since I was asked I thought I would mention a few things. Pro's : Comfortable, clean room. Nice view. Excellent indoor pool. Con's : No Complimentary breakfast - (We normally stay at Embassy suites and enjoy and have come to expect a great breakfast as part of the room fee). Noise complaints - Not from us thinking it was too loud, but the front desk called us saying that we had been turned in for being too loud. It was barely 10:00 pm my 4 year old daughter had taken a bath and got soap in her eyes, she was crying for 2 minutes at most and in bed by the time they called. So the rest of the stay we felt we could only whisper in our room. It would have been nice if the front desk would have investigated before assuming we were being unruly and calling to ask us to keep it down.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We do appreciate your feedback. We apologize for making you feel unwelcome, that is the one thing we do not want to have happen. We love having families staying at our hotel. We know that there is bound to be the noise factor, it can't be helped. We will remind our staff of the importance of finding a balance with our guests. We do hope that the next time your travels bring you to Durango that you would stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Love this hotel. Excellent location on the river. Free shuttle to and from airport is great. Front desk staff terrific. Breakfast pricey though. I have to write enough for 200 characters minimum. Does this criteria really prevent my rating from being posted?

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Tamara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We're so pleased to learn that you love our hotel. We will pass your compliments of our front desk staff on to them. We thank you for your business and welcome you back to stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonito, Colorado
Level Contributor
62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We chose Doubletree because they allow pets at a MUCH more reasonable rate than other hotels, and we were not disappointed with the service, comfort of the room, and cleanliness. I asked for a room on the river side which was very convenient to take our dog out for a walk. Noise did not seem to be an issue, and the view of the river was very relaxing. I will definitely be back the next time I need a room in Durango.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grannydee57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We do appreciate your feedback. We couldnt agree with you more about our location, its great, close to everything and on the banks of the beautiful Animas River. We are pleased that you found our rooms to be comfortable and that you had a good stay with us. We thank you for your business and welcome you back when ever your travels bring you to Durango again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Overall, the staff was the best experience. Front desk was quick and helpful. Ordered room service and the person on the phone was kind and helpful explaining the food. He went above and beyond in the service. We will stay here again and recommend it to others. Worth the price.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. It is great to get your feedback and learn that you are satisfied! Thats what we want....every guest satisfied. We know our guests have many choices when selecting a hotel and we thank you for your business. We welcome you back to stay with us again anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
2.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
0.2 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#6 of 32 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 909 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Durango
Hampton Inn Durango
#2 of 32 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
0.4 mi away
Rochester Hotel & Bar
Rochester Hotel & Bar
#7 of 32 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 234 reviews
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Address: 501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301-5449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Durango
#1 Green Hotel in Durango
#2 Family Hotel in Durango
#3 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Durango 3.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Low-rise Hotel set on the banks of Animas River at Highways 160 & 550; convenient to Fort Lewis College & tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Odigeo, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Durango
Durango Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing