We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Out in the sticks” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Tibenham, Norwich
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Out in the sticks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

We only had a single night here in our three-week tour of America, but it was thoroughly enjoyable. We had enjoyed the fantastic ride through the valleys (from Rockwood) over the Durango & Silverton Railway and had a short wait for the rooms. But it was well worth the wait, with a terrific ground floor view over the river at the rear of the hotel. At the other end, it was a little trek into town, where we enjoyed a number of shops. This was probably our first look at the real USA - after staying on Broadway (NY), Jersey Ave (Washington) and next top the Magnificent Mile (Chicago).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, on Trip Advisor.
We appreciate your feedback. We're so pleased that you had the opportunity to enjoy Durango, a small but delightful American town. We welcome you back to stay with us again should your travels bring you back our way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    727
    434
    119
    38
    13
See reviews for
451
512
36
177
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westminster
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

I was disappointed with the breakfast on this trip the usually great granola was uneatable. It was bunch in large pieces and hard to eat. When asked to have it corrected it really was no better. The shuttle is always great the drivers very courteous and helpful

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Raymond C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor.
We appreciate your feedback. We've forwarded your comment about the granola to our Chef for improvements. We look forward to having you stay with us again the next time your travels bring you to Durango.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at this hotel about 5 times now and each time the experience has been great. The staff is friendly and accommodating. The rooms are very clean and updated. The hotel has a great charm about it with beautiful woodwork in the lobby and the Animas River running in the back. We always have the breakfast buffet at the hotel which is ample and delicious. We highly recommend this hotel for families on vacation or someone on a business trip.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blessedinlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor.
We always appreciate feedback from our guests. We're pleased that you are a returning guest and that your stay met your expectations. We welcome you back again and again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed our overnight stay in this hotel. The room was very comfortable and the rate very competitive and reasonable. The view from the room in the morning was nice. The room was very quite and we were not disturbed by any other guests. The bed was very comfortable and we had a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank holdenfj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We are very pleased that you had a good stay with us, that you found our "Sweet Dreams" beds comfortable and that you had a good nights sleep. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evergreen, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
123 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

I love the Doubletree Durango - very nice accommodations, a very fair value for the price, and the hotel is dog friendly, so I can bring along Diesel the Wonder Dog. I intend to stay here on my future trips to Durango!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Kevin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We are pleased that you had a great stay with us. We welcome you and "Diesel the Wonder Dog" back to stay again when ever your travels bring you our way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
95 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Firstly what an interesting town to stop in. There are a couple of Hotels in or near the centre but this is probably the best place to stay, unless you want a centre of town sort of theme hotel. Having said that it is only a couple of minutes’ walk to the High Street. For a Three Star Hotel it is fine. It does suffer the room creep/noise and plumbing issues so common in hotels of this construction. Try to stay on the top floor at the rear facing the river. This is much quieter. They really should have a refrigerator in the room. The rooms are reasonable size but bathrooms small. A free shuttle runs to the local airport. Book via the internet rather than phone unless you want to be driven potty by 20 questions, offers, repetitions, set script and so much rabbit I nearly gave up! Even after it all they still got my names reversed and therefore could not find my booking.

Room Tip: Top Floor and River view. Corner room best
See more room tips
Green Features: Just an excuse not to wash towels and save themselves money.
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rotate100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. It is great to get feedback from our guests. We're pleased that you had a good stay with us. We do offer free transport to and from the airport which is great for travelers. The beautiful Animas River at our back door provides great ambience for our guests. We welcome you back to stay with us again when ever your travels bring you back to Durango.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Overall, my stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton was extremely satisfying, as usual. The service that the staff provided at all levels was outstanding and the facilities were clean if a bit aged. But, the age lends a touch of history so I had no real complaints in that regard. The only issue was the heating/cooling system which is certainly out-dated and was unable to maintain a comfortable temperature. It was either blowing hot or blowing cold air neither of which were acceptable. Still, that was a minor issue in an overall extremely pleasant experience. Again, the staff made the difference and they should be commended.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Christopher C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. Its always great to get feedback from our guests. We apologize for the issue you had with the heating and cooling system in the room you were staying in. We've had our maintenance staff fix it so it won't happen again. We would like to welcome you back to stay with us again when ever your travels bring you to Durango.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
2.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
0.2 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#6 of 32 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 913 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Durango
Hampton Inn Durango
#2 of 32 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
0.4 mi away
Rochester Hotel & Bar
Rochester Hotel & Bar
#7 of 32 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 234 reviews
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Address: 501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301-5449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Durango
#1 Business Hotel in Durango
#2 Family Hotel in Durango
#3 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Durango 3.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Low-rise Hotel set on the banks of Animas River at Highways 160 & 550; convenient to Fort Lewis College & tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Durango
Durango Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing