We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Ranked #5 of 34 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 29, 2013

This place is more like a convention center/hotel. Bus tours dropped off people and they filled the hotel. There were also seminars going on in the hotel. There was absolutely no service from the staff. You have to be a member of some club to get breakfast, otherwise you get nothing as the coffee pot in the lobby was empty each morning. You would not want to eat breakfast there anyway as it appeared the bus tours get free breakfast and the restaurant was jammed. This hotel has not been decorated or updated in decades. Very unappealing place at an expensive price. There are many other hotels in the area - try another.

Room Tip: This hotel is located at the major intersection in Durango - noisy and busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patti2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We appreciate getting feedback from our guests. We apologize for the disappointment you experienced staying at our hotel. We take pride in providing excellent service to our guests and it sounds like we didn't do that for you and we are very sorry. Out hotel was very busy during the time you stayed with us. We have the largest meeting facilities in Durango and many local activities and seminars take place with us. However each guest is very important to us. We have forwarded your review to our staff to remind them of the importance of every guest who stays with us. We do hope that the next time your travels bring you to Durango that you would stay with us and give us the opportunity to show you a perfect stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,631)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,046 - 1,052 of 1,631 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2013

I wish there were Hilton or Hyatt in Durango, but Doubletree did the job for me! Perfect location, directly on a scenic biking/jogging trail along the river. Gold/diamond members receive a lavish full breakfast buffet. Also a nice arrival gift of mixed nuts in addition to bottled water. Very friendly small-town atmosphere.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atl475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the Doubletree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We do appreciate your feedback. Thank you for your compliments of our hotel, we will be sure to pass them on to our staff, We welcome you back to stay with us again when ever your travels bring you to Durango.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Hotel in great. It is on the river and you can sit on your deck and watch nature. Rooms are terrific and staff was very helpful. Nice location and easy access. The restaurant is nice and right on the river. For breakfast you can order off the menu or a full buffet.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. Thank you for your compliments of our hotel. We are pleased that when you come to Durango our hotel is where you want to stay. We welcome you back to stay with us again anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

This hotel is in dire need of a face lift. You feel like you are back in the 80's when you walk in. It is the only dog friendly hotel in the town and they seem to know it and their prices reflect it and the room reveal it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Dan P F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Thank you for reviewing our hotel the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We do appreciate your feedback. You are correct, we do need a face lift, we are in the planning stages now and waiting for our corporate approvals. We are very excited about all the wonderful changes that we will be making and know that they will greatly enhance our guests stay with us.
We welcome you back to stay with us anytime your travels bring you to Durango.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Stayed here one night after staying in historic hotels downtown. This place is on expensive side, but more affordable on weekday (weekends very expensive!). Very large, very clean rooms, wonderfully quiet, within easy walking distance of historic Durango, shops, restaurants, and DSN&G steam train. Beautiful hotel, is on our list of places to return to next time we are in Durango. Walking/bike bath right below on river. Hotel is on river, fantastically beautiful! Beds are extremely comfortable, lots of lighting with many lamps in room, great shower, big bathroom, all the amenities in your room that you need (but no makeup mirror). Linens and many pillows on bed very comfortable! We had a GREAT night's sleep here! Quiet, roomy, comfy, great temp. control. Free wifi, but no included breakfast in morning. Restaurant on-site, but did not try. Free coffee downstairs in morning, warm cookies when you check in. Parking safe, lighted, free, ample parking. Next to an Albertson's grocery store. Safe area. Best place ever! Wished we knew about this place when we still had our German Shepherd, as we took him everywhere with us; they are dog friendly! Really nice folks at front desk!

Room Tip: Pay a little more and get a king bed, river view. Sooo relaxing and beautiful! Maybe rent a bike for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, on Trip Advisor. We do appreciate your feedback. Your review was very complimentary, just what we work hard to accomplish for our guests. We're so pleased that you found our hotel and we look forward to having you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

This is my 4th stay over the last 20 years. The staff has treated my dogs as members of the family. The prepartion og the room with a dog mat, water bowl, biscuits, and a toy was a surprise, and a hit! We had an excellent stay!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Patrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We do appreciate feedback from our guests, learning how their stay with us went. We too love Dogs,
and understand how important it is to travel with them. We look forward to you and your pets staying with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

excellent location for walking to Main St. Lots of fun so close, including shopping, drinking lots of restaurants, hiking, biking, train rides to Silverton and a great river walk just steps from the hotel. Some of the best Chicken wings and the greatest variety of micro breweries.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Loren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. Thank you for your compliments of our hotel. We have a lot going for us with our location, close to everything, and on the banks of the Animas River with the beautiful river walking path just at our back door. We'd like to welcome you back to stay wtih us again when ever your travels bring you to Durango again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
2.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
0.2 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#12 of 34 in Durango
503 reviews
0.2 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#8 of 34 in Durango
1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango
0.3 mi away
The Rochester Hotel and Leland House
2.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn and Suites Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Address: 501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301-5449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Durango
#1 Green Hotel in Durango
#2 Family Hotel in Durango
#3 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range: $116 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Durango 3.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Low-rise Hotel set on the banks of Animas River at Highways 160 & 550; convenient to Fort Lewis College & tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Durango
Durango Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing