We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“If I go to Durango here is where I want to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Ellicott City
Level Contributor
163 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“If I go to Durango here is where I want to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Hotel in great. It is on the river and you can sit on your deck and watch nature. Rooms are terrific and staff was very helpful. Nice location and easy access. The restaurant is nice and right on the river. For breakfast you can order off the menu or a full buffet.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. Thank you for your compliments of our hotel. We are pleased that when you come to Durango our hotel is where you want to stay. We welcome you back to stay with us again anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    704
    422
    115
    36
    12
See reviews for
439
490
35
174
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

This hotel is in dire need of a face lift. You feel like you are back in the 80's when you walk in. It is the only dog friendly hotel in the town and they seem to know it and their prices reflect it and the room reveal it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Dan P F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We do appreciate your feedback. You are correct, we do need a face lift, we are in the planning stages now and waiting for our corporate approvals. We are very excited about all the wonderful changes that we will be making and know that they will greatly enhance our guests stay with us.
We welcome you back to stay with us anytime your travels bring you to Durango.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Stayed here one night after staying in historic hotels downtown. This place is on expensive side, but more affordable on weekday (weekends very expensive!). Very large, very clean rooms, wonderfully quiet, within easy walking distance of historic Durango, shops, restaurants, and DSN&G steam train. Beautiful hotel, is on our list of places to return to next time we are in Durango. Walking/bike bath right below on river. Hotel is on river, fantastically beautiful! Beds are extremely comfortable, lots of lighting with many lamps in room, great shower, big bathroom, all the amenities in your room that you need (but no makeup mirror). Linens and many pillows on bed very comfortable! We had a GREAT night's sleep here! Quiet, roomy, comfy, great temp. control. Free wifi, but no included breakfast in morning. Restaurant on-site, but did not try. Free coffee downstairs in morning, warm cookies when you check in. Parking safe, lighted, free, ample parking. Next to an Albertson's grocery store. Safe area. Best place ever! Wished we knew about this place when we still had our German Shepherd, as we took him everywhere with us; they are dog friendly! Really nice folks at front desk!

Room Tip: Pay a little more and get a king bed, river view. Sooo relaxing and beautiful! Maybe rent a bike for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, on Trip Advisor. We do appreciate your feedback. Your review was very complimentary, just what we work hard to accomplish for our guests. We're so pleased that you found our hotel and we look forward to having you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhorn, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

This is my 4th stay over the last 20 years. The staff has treated my dogs as members of the family. The prepartion og the room with a dog mat, water bowl, biscuits, and a toy was a surprise, and a hit! We had an excellent stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Patrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We do appreciate feedback from our guests, learning how their stay with us went. We too love Dogs,
and understand how important it is to travel with them. We look forward to you and your pets staying with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
agoura hills, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

excellent location for walking to Main St. Lots of fun so close, including shopping, drinking lots of restaurants, hiking, biking, train rides to Silverton and a great river walk just steps from the hotel. Some of the best Chicken wings and the greatest variety of micro breweries.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Loren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. Thank you for your compliments of our hotel. We have a lot going for us with our location, close to everything, and on the banks of the Animas River with the beautiful river walking path just at our back door. We'd like to welcome you back to stay wtih us again when ever your travels bring you to Durango again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David, Panama
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Everything went smoothly. I had packages shipped to the hotel, they were received and held for me at no charge. The staff was extremely helpful and accommodating. My flight was delayed several times and I had to call frequently to reschedule the pick-up van. It arrived on time. They allowed me to check in early. It was just a pleasant and easy stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review out hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We do appreciate your feedback. It pleases us to learn that your stay was easy, that we met or exceeded your expectations. That is our goal to make each guest feel at home, to meet their needs, and make the stay easy for them. We welcome you back to stay with us again the next time your travels bring you to Durango.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Lovely room with a view of the river. And welcomed our little doggie with a water bowl and treat. She and we were very happy for our stay while I did the Durango half marathon. Rooms spacious, clean and comfy.

Room Tip: Choose with river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TA4189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We always appreciate feedback from our guests. We're pleased that you had a good stay with us and that you did the half marathon! We welcome you back anytime you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
2.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
0.2 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#6 of 32 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 882 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Durango
Hampton Inn Durango
#2 of 32 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
0.4 mi away
Rochester Hotel & Bar
Rochester Hotel & Bar
#8 of 32 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Address: 501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301-5449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Durango
#1 Business Hotel in Durango
#2 Family Hotel in Durango
#3 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Durango 3.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Low-rise Hotel set on the banks of Animas River at Highways 160 & 550; convenient to Fort Lewis College & tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Durango
Durango Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing