We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Welcome Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
David, Panama
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Welcome Stay”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Everything went smoothly. I had packages shipped to the hotel, they were received and held for me at no charge. The staff was extremely helpful and accommodating. My flight was delayed several times and I had to call frequently to reschedule the pick-up van. It arrived on time. They allowed me to check in early. It was just a pleasant and easy stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review out hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We do appreciate your feedback. It pleases us to learn that your stay was easy, that we met or exceeded your expectations. That is our goal to make each guest feel at home, to meet their needs, and make the stay easy for them. We welcome you back to stay with us again the next time your travels bring you to Durango.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    827
    468
    133
    41
    14
See reviews for
503
567
42
202
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Lovely room with a view of the river. And welcomed our little doggie with a water bowl and treat. She and we were very happy for our stay while I did the Durango half marathon. Rooms spacious, clean and comfy.

Room Tip: Choose with river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TA4189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We always appreciate feedback from our guests. We're pleased that you had a good stay with us and that you did the half marathon! We welcome you back anytime you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Good clean and spacious room, well appointed.
Hotel is fairly near the town after crossing a very busy road. We did not use the restaurant, we decided to purchase some food for breakfast from a large local supermarket. hotel is beside a pleasant river walk.

Room Tip: If you get a choice take a room overlooking the river, very pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, the Doubletree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We do appreciate the feedback from you. We are pleased that you had a good stay, that you enjoyed our location, on the Animas River, Close to town and a grocery store just next door. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Had a great room in this hotel very clean, good facilities and a pleasant view of the river. The only concern we had was the quality of food and service in the restaurant. It maybe that it was a bad night in the kitchens - two tables next to us had their bills reduced for food inconsistencies - and a third was in the midst of negotiation whilst we left. Whilst the soup we had was good the main course was barely warm and whilst adequate, was not something we could recommend. Our waitress, whilst efficient, was overbearing and was insistent we order a bottle of wine rather than the two glasses we actually wanted - I refuse to be intimidated by such behaviour but would rather do without it. Sad that our restaurant experience detracted from an otherwise very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the river.
See more room tips
Green Features: Practice in line with current good environmental practices.
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CheshireDiscerning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, on Trip advisor. We always appreciate feedback from our guests. We apologize for the less than perfect experience you had while dining in our restaurant. That was definitely not up to our standards. We've reviewed your comments with our staff so that this would not happen again. Our Chef is insisting on better performance from his people. We do hope that the next time your travels bring you to Durango that you would stay with us again and give us the opportunity to show you a perfect stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

After renting a house for over two weeks we decided to extend our stay one more day. We travel with our two Wheaten Terriers and they were welcomed with open arms. Our room was big and the beds were comfortable. The shower was amazing... the best in three weeks. Our room was huge and on the Animas river. We loved that bec we were able to walk our dogs on the river walk. JP works the front desk.... He was excellent, friendly, helpful and professional. Oh, and those darn cookies are delish. The hotel is a bit pricey, but we think worth every cent. Close to everything ..... And did I mention the river walk :)

Room Tip: The views from the first floor are limited, but we liked that we could easily access the river walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DurangoLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, on Trip Advisor. Thank you for the compliments of our hotel and our staff, we will be sure to pass along to them your compliments. We're pleased to learn that you will definitely stay with us again and we welcome you back anytime you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new mexico
Level Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is right on the Animas River and there's a mikes long walkway along the river. The rooms are very clean, the staff accommodating and room service meals terrific. If you being a dog, which we did, you can't eat ANYWHERE in town which shocked us. It's illegal to have dogs on patios.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mdmjrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor.
We couldnt agree with you more about our location, right on the Animas River, river path at our door, dog feriendly, close to town and its amenities. We welcome you back to stay with us again when ever you are in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Great accomodations and food. The dinning room service is wonderful, and the food quality pretty good. The rooms are very clean and comfotable. The gym is OK, and you can get a reasonable work out. The pool is nice and the jacuzzi big enough for 6 to 8 people.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We always appreciate getting feedback from our guests. We're pleased that you found our hotel to meet your expectations. We welcome you back anytime your in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.2 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#4 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
2.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
0.2 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#7 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Rochester Hotel & Bar
Rochester Hotel & Bar
#9 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Durango
Hampton Inn Durango
#3 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Address: 501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301-5449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Durango
#1 Green Hotel in Durango
#2 Family Hotel in Durango
#3 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Durango 3.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Low-rise Hotel set on the banks of Animas River at Highways 160 & 550; convenient to Fort Lewis College & tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Durango
Durango Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing