We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellence among mediocrity” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellence among mediocrity”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

A Durango hotel that is worth the money. Yes. It's a bit pricey, but most hotels in Durango are almost as expensive and offer much less. Spacious, nicely appointed rooms. Large bathrooms, with 2 vanities. This hotel is a 5 minute walk to downtown (and the train), yet the grounds are peaceful and quiet -- our room overlooked the Animas river and its walkway. The lobby and restaurant exude elegance. I am glad I chose to pay a little more. For those of you who are tired of cramped rooms and eating off paper plates I recommend that you pay the $20-30 more a night and enjoy a relaxing stay rather than tolerate mediocrity just to save a few bucks. After driving for many hours don't you deserve better as well? Personally, I would rather pay more than have to complain. Btw, the buffet breakfast was $20 for both of us -- real table cloths, fresh pastry, classy clean dining room. The last time I stayed at a Best Western the food was ok, but it was $8.00 each and paled in comparison. One glitch (no place is perfect): Despite the huge size of our room there was no refrigerator. Sort of an oddity considering that the Doubletree had a nice laundry area (great for people would had been camping). I am sure that, had we mentioned the lack of refrigerator to the mgmt it could have been supplied. But, the point is, with all the space it seemed puzzling why one was not provided.

Room Tip: Get a room with the river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. It is so good to get feedback from our guests. It gives us great pleasure to learn of your compliments of our hotel. We work hard to make our guests stay a memorable one. We look forward to having you stay with us again the next time your travels bring you to Durango.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    724
    432
    119
    38
    13
See reviews for
450
509
35
177
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northglenn, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

The DoubleTree is located along the Rio de las Animas Perdidas en Purgatorio and within a block of the Durango & Silverton railroad station, making it the ideal location in Durango. The staff is always professional and friendly and the rooms quiet and clean. Rooms facing the river provide a relaxing environment typically after a long day of travel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We are always happy to get feedback from our guests. We're pleased that you enjoyed our location
on the Animas River with the convenience of downtown close by. We welcome you back to stay with us again the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

this hotel was LOVELY, in a lovely location (the Animas River runs in back of the hotel) and very convenient to two major highways that many tourists use. Our room was very comfortable and very nice!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Kathryn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We do appreciate your feedback. We welcome you back anytime you are in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
188 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in a king bed room with river view, and it was our last and favorite hotel of the vacation. Our room was spacious, clean, and up-to-date with a comfortable layout: two vanities (one inside the bathroom and one out); handy power outlets on the lamps, comfy bed, a small table with chairs, and a balcony overlooking the Animas River. Wi-fi was pretty good- we ran into a couple of glitches, but overall it worked well. Check-in was friendly and well-organized. I had asked for a refrigerator in my reservation and sure enough, it was already plugged in and waiting in our room. I had asked for a high floor, and got that too.

Other reviewers have already mentioned the great location, but it really is ideal- across the parking lot from an Albertsons and a short walk to downtown. Plus, if you’re taking the Durango Silverton train and already have your tickets, you don’t even need to walk to the train station to get on the train. From the hotel, you just walk across Camino Del Rio and turn right into the rail yard.

This is a good choice in Durango.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelerfromsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We
appreciate your feedback, it's always great to learn that our guests had a great stay, and that they loved our location which is close to everything in Durango and on the banks of the beautiful Animas River. We hope that the next time your travels bring you our way you would stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richardson, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Made a last minute reservation at this hotel, so it was a bit pricey. The beds were very comfortable and our room overlooking the Animas River was spacious. We were close to the highway so would give the view a B plus although it was fun watching people tube down the river. The hotel was right next to a grocery and liquor store and a block away from the train station. Also close to the Main Street of Durango. We didn't eat at the hotel with the exception of the complimentary chocolate chip cookies!

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Zinserzoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We do appreciate your compliments and review of our hotel. We are pleased that you had a good stay with us and we welcome you back anytime you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed on the river side view of the hotel. This hotel was extremely clean and the beds were very comfortable. (The warm cookies they give you makes it extra special) There were two vanities which made it nice. One vanity inside the bathroom and one outside of the bathroom. We didn't try the restaurant for the first couple of days because of reviews, but I have to say, we missed out. We finally tried it on the last day and breakfast was wonderful. We didn't buy the buffet, we ordered our meal instead. Our meal was only $9.00 and included bacon, eggs, sour dough toast, and hashbrowns. They served blackberry preserves that tasted homemade. Our breakfast was hot and fresh. I personally would not eat a breakfast buffet and it was more expensive. Breakfast food on warmers is just not going to be good, so we really missed out on having a very good breakfast the other mornings. This stay was worth the money and the location is walking distance to downtown and the train. There is an Albertsons right next door which was convenient for food items or other needed items.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hedyloy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, on Trip Advisor. We always appreciate getting feedback from our guests. We couldn't agree with you more about our location
with the Beautiful Animas River at our back door and downtown and the Durango Silverton Rail Road just a block away. We are pleased that you enjoyed our restaurant also. We welcome you back to stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed at the Double Tree because we know it to be a nice hotel option. We new it was close to the train, but didn't realize just how close....I think it was less than 5 blocks. A nice surprise! We also enjoyed the hotel restaurant who offer nice evening options and a killer buffet at brekki. Be sure to add the buffet to your hotel reservations...there is a cost savings!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank ZZ08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor.
We appreciate feedback from our guests. We are just a couple blocks from the Durango
Silverton Train and convenient to downtown Durango. We look forward to having you stay
with us again the next time your travels bring you to Durango.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
2.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
0.2 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#6 of 32 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 908 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Durango
Hampton Inn Durango
#3 of 32 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango
0.4 mi away
Rochester Hotel & Bar
Rochester Hotel & Bar
#8 of 32 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Address: 501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301-5449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Durango
#1 Business Hotel in Durango
#2 Family Hotel in Durango
#3 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Durango 3.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Low-rise Hotel set on the banks of Animas River at Highways 160 & 550; convenient to Fort Lewis College & tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Durango
Durango Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing