We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Pricey without the perks” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Honolulu, Hawaii
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pricey without the perks”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Great property and staff but pricey without the perks compared to like properties. Disappointed that no complementary bottled water was provided in the room, no safe in the room and no bikes for guests to use the beautiful river trail just outside your door. Other DT properties provide these things in similar resort areas.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Doug M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We really like getting feedback from our guests. We apologize that you did not get your complimentary bottled waters - they should have been waiting for you in your room. We've reminded staff of this important task. We hope that you will stay with us again and give us the opportunity to show you a perfect stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    765
    445
    125
    41
    14
See reviews for
460
540
38
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Everett, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay at the Doubletree in Durango. We spent a little more for a room on the river which was well worth the money. The room was very nice, bed extremely comfortable, service was outstanding. The restaurant was reasonably priced, food was outstanding. The coffee and sometimes fresh cookies in the lobby was a great way to start the day.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor.
Thank you for your compliments of our hotel, We're pleased that you had a great stay with us and we welcome you back anytime your travels bring you to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Tuesday, August 27, 2013

Dear Doubletree Team,

I would like to take advantage of this venue to express how truly grateful I am to all of you for making my recent stay with you memorable.

My wife and I chose your hotel to celebrate our 16th wedding anniversary and it was a perfect choice indeed.

Upon our arrival to our room we were surprised to receive a Happy Anniversary card personally signed by Mr. Peter Marshall and his entire team.

Being a member of the management team of another Hilton property I can attest to how much a simple gesture such as that goes to demonstrate the genuine level of commitment to personalized service this represents.

The condition of the property and grounds were exemplary.

To any travelers considering this property, not only can I recommend every aspect of the hotel, but also cannot speak highly enough of Durango as a destination.

When staying at this hotel upgrade to a river view room, you will be glad you did.

We have already made our next reservation and cannot wait to return.

Regards,

Hugh Thomas

Room Tip: When staying at this hotel upgrade to a river view room, you will be glad you did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hugh T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We thank you for your complimentary review. We welcome you back to stay with us again when ever your travels bring you to Durango.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

The Double Tree Hotel in Durango, Colorado is close by the Animas River, and convenient to the down town area and to the Durango/Silverton Train. The quality of the food in the restaurant did not meet my expectations, so we ate out in the local restaurants (which weren't very good).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank George P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We apologize that we were not able to meet your expectations in our restaurant.
We would like to have you stay with us again and give us the opportuinity to show you a perfect stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Hotel is located on the Animas River (request river view) with nice walking trails right out the door. You can also walk to the downtown area where all the shops, reastaurants and train are located. They accept pets! We were traveling with a dog and found there were few hotels that were pet friendly. Rooms are spacious and well appointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Cindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We do take pets and we love them too. They are an important part of many people's lives. We appreciate your feedback and we look forward to having you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

The hotel property is not overwhelming. It seems a bit old and tired. Staff we encountered were adequate but also underwhelming. We were originally booked in a river side property but had to change to a "city" view which is really parking lot and highway view. I would definitely recommend staying on the river side if you stay at this property. And if you are planning on walking to the Durango train station, just be advised that it is a short walk but involves crossing the highway. It isn't quite as convenient as I had anticipated. Overall it was fine.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, on Trip Advisor. We apologize that we did not fully meet your expectations for your stay. We are in the planning stages for a renovation for our hotel and we are very excited about all the wonderful changes we are going to be making. We do not have a date or approvals acquired yet for this renovation. We do hope that the next time your travels bring you to Durango that you would stay with us again and give us the opportunity to show you a much better than a "so-so" experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lumberton, Mississippi
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Non experienced staff. Our luggage was left in Denver by United. When we checked in to hotel we requested a robe because we only had clothes we wore on trip. We were refused because we were not staying in a "SUITE."
Of course management sent robes the next morning & tried to compensate with bottle of wine. A nice gesture on her part, but the whole robe incident was uncalled for.
Common courtesy goes a long way & costs nothing.
Restaurants were pricey & not a lot to choose from.
On the bright side, the shuttle drivers, J.P. & Herschel were fantastic! Very nice & informative young men & made the stay at hotel more worthwhile.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReneeMoses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel -the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, on Trip Advisor.
We apprelciate your feedback. We welcome you back to stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
2.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
0.2 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#7 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Durango
Hampton Inn Durango
#3 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#10 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rochester Hotel & Bar
Rochester Hotel & Bar
#6 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Address: 501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301-5449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Durango
#1 Green Hotel in Durango
#2 Family Hotel in Durango
#3 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Durango 3.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Low-rise Hotel set on the banks of Animas River at Highways 160 & 550; convenient to Fort Lewis College & tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Durango
Durango Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing