We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“great location, nice room, watch the fine print” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great location, nice room, watch the fine print”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

we booked the room for 6 nights over the phone, after having visited the website. At check-in, we were informed there would be a $50/night penalty if we checked out before our scheduled date. If this is the policy, it should be published on the website and communicated during phone reservations, not when we are standing at the front desk with our luggage after driving for two days. Also, restaurant and room service outrageously expensive, Durango has many very fine restaurants with master chefs, so take your money there. Two blocks to the main downtown area, nice clean room, we never worried about leaving valuables in the room while we were out.

Room Tip: Don't take the end room next to the exit staircase, very noisy, especially with heavy winter sno...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Miki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We do thank you for your feedback. You are right about room location away from the stairs in winter is a good idea, We think the River view Rooms could be the best choice for our guests. We've referred your comments about our restaurant to our Chef for review. We do hope that the next time your travels bring you to Durango that you'll stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    765
    445
    125
    41
    14
See reviews for
460
540
38
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

The rooms were quite updated and nice. The beds were comfortable, the rooms were large and comfortable, and the soaps smelled good. As with many hotels, the restaurant seems like an expensive afterthought where they don't really want to have to have a restaurant. It was so dreary and expensive, we walked half a block to Applebee's which was bright, cheery, and half the price for dinner. With that short of a walk to just about any mealtime option, the hotel makes up for anything lacking in the lobby.

Oh, and the cookies upon check-in are fantastic. "Good thinking" to whomever came up with that idea.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael1490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, on Trip Advisor. We do appreciate feedback from our guests. We're pleased that you like our cookies, they're a special recipe made just for us and we bake them daily here at the hotel so they are fresh. We have a warmer we keep them in so the guests enjoy a warm chocolate chip cookie upon check in. We have referred your comment about our restaurant to our Chef for review. We appreciate your candid remarks. You'll be interested to learn that we are in the planning stages now for a renovation in our future which we are very excited about. We know that the renovation is going to greatly enhance our guests stay wtih us. it takes a lot of planning and organizing to carry off a renovation of this size and we want to be sure we are covering all the bases. We look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
65 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

First, you would be hard pressed to improve upon the location of the hotel; immediately adjacent to downtown (a quick walk, though uphill and you do cross a highway at a stop light). Immediately behind the hotel is the river, and there is a drugstore on the other side of the parking lot.

The lobby is charming, with lots of old West touches. Front desk were courteous, and acknowledged Diamond Status. I did feel that the staff in the restaurant did a poor job (overly familiar; slow and inattentive; promised to bring things and then did not) and were not overly courteus, which is out of step with the rest of the property. Service is marked "average" below, but would more likely be five stars for hotel staff and one for the restaurant.

Of note to beer enthusiasts: small but very good selection of local craft brews on tap at the bar.

The rooms are sizable, and very clean. Everything worked as it should; it's a Doubletree, you're not going to have fancy furniture. Wifi worked fine.

While Durango has more-romantic options available, this is more than acceptable as a choice for a weekend ski trip or business travel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danhedonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We like getting feedback from our guests, its very helpful to us. We appreciate your compliments of our hotel, you can be sure that we will work on the area you suggested needing to improve on customer service. We're pleased to hear that you would choose our hotel for the next time you are in Durango. We will look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

Not ever being to Durango Colorado I didn't know what to expect as far as the town and accommodations. I had the hotel booked for me but figured Hilton properties are usually pretty good. I wasn't appointed. The hotel is quit nice with spacious rooms and flat screen televisions. The bed was quit comfortable with plenty of pillows to choose from. The bar and restaurant and very nice with good food and service. When you check in you're offered warm cookies. mmmmm I would definitely stay here again. Just a quick something on the town it's self. Very quaint with that rocky mountain feel and plenty of great restaurants and clubs.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LHouchins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We do like hearing from our guests about their stay with us. We're pleased that you had a successful business trip and that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We welcome you back anytime your travels bring you to Durango.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoeniz, az
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

What a wonderful hotel, it was beautifully decorated, the rooms were large, clean and comfy. They gave you warm cookies when you checked in, and we saw warm cookies available other times during the day. The pool and spa were nice, and we had a nice time using them. All of the staff we encountered during our brief stay went out of their way to make our stay nice. In the evening after swimming we went to the lobby to fill up our cups of water (From a pitcher of water they had made available during the day) We were sad to see it had been removed the man who was taking care of the pool noticed and brought us three cold bottles of water. We will definitely come again, and stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank newsgirl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. It is always good to get feedback from our guests. We appreciate your compliments of our hotel. We agree with you about our location and amenities and especially our staff, they are great.
We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Lovely Hotel in fab location. Nice size room with excellent river view, however all rooms seem to be well appointed. our room was clean, spacious and had a lovely bathroom, good size and comfortable bed, Great pool facilities and brilliant hot tub. Excellent location to town, recommend Bells and Ken and Sues for food and drink. I would stay here again, the only problem we had was that we only stayed for one night. Looks a great place for the skiing fraternity recommended..

Room Tip: ask for river view, away from lifts, less noise and traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank micwic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We do
enjoy getting feedback from our guests. We're pleased that you had a good stay with us and we welcome you back anytime you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

This hotel is one of the nicest and conveniently located near downtown. The rooms are well appointed and the entire facility is very nice. We alternate between the Hampton on the north side and the DoubleTree.
We like being able to walk everywhere downtown even in the winter time. This is the first trip (Jan 13) where the walk seemed pretty long due to the very cold (below -10) temperatures!
One problem was tracking salt into the rooms from the walkways which were kept very clear of ice and snow into the room. Housekeeping service was not vacuuming it up and it is not fun to step on with bare feet!

Room Tip: We like to stay on the upper floors facing town. Watching the snow fall against the city lights at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaxmanFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. Its always great to get feedback from our guests. Thank you for the comment about the ice melt, we've reminded our housekeeping department to keep it vacuumed up. We look forward to your next stay wtih us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
2.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
0.2 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#7 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Durango
Hampton Inn Durango
#3 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#10 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rochester Hotel & Bar
Rochester Hotel & Bar
#6 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Address: 501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301-5449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Durango
#1 Green Hotel in Durango
#2 Family Hotel in Durango
#3 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Durango 3.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Low-rise Hotel set on the banks of Animas River at Highways 160 & 550; convenient to Fort Lewis College & tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Durango
Durango Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing