We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Howdy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Ranked #5 of 34 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Lovely Hotel in fab location. Nice size room with excellent river view, however all rooms seem to be well appointed. our room was clean, spacious and had a lovely bathroom, good size and comfortable bed, Great pool facilities and brilliant hot tub. Excellent location to town, recommend Bells and Ken and Sues for food and drink. I would stay here again, the only problem we had was that we only stayed for one night. Looks a great place for the skiing fraternity recommended..

Room Tip: ask for river view, away from lifts, less noise and traffic
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank micwic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We do
enjoy getting feedback from our guests. We're pleased that you had a good stay with us and we welcome you back anytime you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,581)
There are newer reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,153 - 1,159 of 1,581 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2013

This hotel is one of the nicest and conveniently located near downtown. The rooms are well appointed and the entire facility is very nice. We alternate between the Hampton on the north side and the DoubleTree.
We like being able to walk everywhere downtown even in the winter time. This is the first trip (Jan 13) where the walk seemed pretty long due to the very cold (below -10) temperatures!
One problem was tracking salt into the rooms from the walkways which were kept very clear of ice and snow into the room. Housekeeping service was not vacuuming it up and it is not fun to step on with bare feet!

Room Tip: We like to stay on the upper floors facing town. Watching the snow fall against the city lights at...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SaxmanFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. Its always great to get feedback from our guests. Thank you for the comment about the ice melt, we've reminded our housekeeping department to keep it vacuumed up. We look forward to your next stay wtih us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

A huge, luxurious and comfortable room, with two double beds and, conveniently, two washbasins (one in the bathroom, the other outside). There was, however, no minibar or fridge and as we were on the ground-floor with French windows, we were surprised there wasn’t an in-room safe either. Those quibbles aside, this hotel conveys size and quality and although it is on the edge of Durango it is only a short walk to the town’s shops, bars and restaurants, while there is a large supermarket across the car-park.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bonetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. Its always good to get feedback from our guests. It was good to speak to you in person about your visit. As we discussed we have remedied the issues you talked about and we look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We were offered the ski package, which included lift tickets and also the breakfast option. With all three together, we ultimately saved lots of money, had a nice place to stay, and a belly full of yummy breakfast to ski on. Location is great and close to shops and dining.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your feedback. Wer'e pleased you enjoyed your ski/breakfast package and we look forward to having you stay with us again the next time you are in Durango.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Room quality was adequate, but rooms were not well cleaned. Carpet was wet in first room, and after we moved the 2nd room was pet-friendly and smelled "doggy". On the 3rd try, the rooms were allegedly hypo-allergenic, but smelled bad and was very dusty. I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trav3lsT00Much
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the Doubletree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We want you to know that we have remedied the issues you brought up. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future and give us the opportunity to show you a perfect stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed here during a family vacation and really liked the hotel. Our room was clean and spacious. The staff was very nice and helped with any questions we had. Our room was on the river and the view was very pretty. We walked to downtown for dining or shopping. It was great to stay in town and then drive to Purgatory for a day of skiing. The mountain is only 30 minutes away and we were still able to enjoy the charm of downtown Durango.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, on Trip Advisor. We do appreciate getting feedback from our guests. We're so pleased you had a good stay with us and we couldnt agree with you more about our location, being right on the beautiful Animas River and just a block away from downtown Durangi is perfect. We look forward to having you stay with us again the next time your travels bring you to Durango.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

I took my family there for "The polar express" and the experience was great. Great location but the best was the way the staff treated my family and I. I hope the general manager knows he/she has a great team.

Room Tip: ask for "river view"
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lemonheadqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor.
We appreciate getting feedback from our guests. I definitely know what a great team
we have here at our hotel, it's wonderful working with them every day. We are pleased
that you had a good stay and we look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
2.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
0.2 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#8 of 34 in Durango
1,076 reviews
0.2 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#9 of 34 in Durango
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
0.3 mi away
The Leland House and Rochester Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Address: 501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301-5449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Durango
#1 Green Hotel in Durango
#2 Family Hotel in Durango
#3 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range: $119 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Durango 3.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Low-rise Hotel set on the banks of Animas River at Highways 160 & 550; convenient to Fort Lewis College & tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Durango
Durango Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing