We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Surrey
Level Contributor
144 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Stayed here 2 nights in November and found the hotel and staff to be very good. The room was a good size and very clean. Great location on the edge of town meaning you can get anywhere quickly. Loads of parking space available which is always a plus point. Easy to get to all the local restaurants as close to downtown. I would definitely recommend the hotel to anyone visiting Durango.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meggles57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor.
It's great to get your positive feedback and to learn that you'd recommend us to anyone who wants to stay in Durango. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    823
    468
    133
    41
    14
See reviews for
501
565
42
202
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
112 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

nice hotel, friendly people, good restaurant with little bit slow servers. room towards the little river have a nice view, plenty of parking space close to downtown and the attractions, unfortunately did the train not run at that time.

Room Tip: get a room towards the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank curtis69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, on Trip Advisor. We do appreciate your feedback. We're pleased that you found us "up to standards" and that you enjoyed our restaurant etc. Please come back and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Stayed here for two nights at end of October.. good location on the Animas river... close by walk to downtown Durango.. Restaurant on property is good with view overlooking the river.. room clean.. hotel staff very friendly and helpful..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gns50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We do appreciate your feedback. We couldlnt agree more with you about our location, we're pleased you had a good stay with us and we welcome you back anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed here for 5 days in October. The room was large and well appointed. We had a room with a balcony overlooking the Animas river. It was a nice spot to sit out and watch the world go by. The staff was helpful with directions and suggestions for restaurants. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the river offer a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krisandjohn32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor.
We appreciate your feedback. We are happy to learn that you would stay with us again and we welcome you anytime you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
127 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Located within easy walking distance of picturesque downtown Durango (when its not 18 degrees in the am), the rooms are large, some facing the Animas River and quiet. Parking is convenient.
Large grocery across the parking lot for those that have been on the road for awhile (Starbucks located inside the grocery....the breakfast coffee is weak in lots of places in this part of the country)
Will definitely return here on next trip to Durango

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phototype
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the Doubletree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your feedback and we're pleased to learn that you definitely will be back to stay with us again. We will look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grangeville, Idaho
Level Contributor
60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

The rate allowed by the government per night in Durango is $95 per night yet this hotel's lowest "government" rate is $114. Who in their rate mind would pay an extra $19 per night out of their own pocket to stay here? I travel all the time for my govenment job and when I see a hotel that charges that much more it shows me they do not support the many government employees out there serving the public. It also sure makes me take my business elsewhere for private trips as well. They missed out on my 5 nights of business.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whitewolf678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for your review of our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, on Trip Advisor. We absolutely do honor government Rates for standards rooms at the $95 room rate. It is very possible at the time you checked for a reservation with us that we were sold out on our standard room’s and offered a rate for an upgraded room at $114 which still represents a discount off our regular room rates. We want to assure you that we value all of our guests and we hope that you will stay with us the next time you are in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
187 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Great location by the river and so close to the Durango/Silverton railway. The room was extremely nice and comfortable with everything we could want. Breakfast was excellent the first morning, when the eggs were cooked in the kitchen, but not so good the second morning when they were cooked in the restaurant. We only had dinner one evening, in an almost deserted dining room with no atmosphere and constantly hovering staff. As I have mentioned before in my reports of US hotels, how can a good chef cook the same things every night, without having a bit of variation on a "specials" board. I chose the vegetable wellington and I was amazed by the amount of pastry. It would have been so much nice had it been half the size but perhaps served with some tomatoes or salad, and some potatoes. But we had a nice stay and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ObanTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We do appreciate your feedback. We forwarded your comments about our food to our Chef. We are pleased that you had a good stay with us and we welcome you back anytime you are in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.2 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#3 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
2.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
0.2 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#7 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Rochester Hotel & Bar
Rochester Hotel & Bar
#10 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Durango
Hampton Inn Durango
#4 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Address: 501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301-5449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Durango
#1 Green Hotel in Durango
#2 Family Hotel in Durango
#3 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Durango 3.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Low-rise Hotel set on the banks of Animas River at Highways 160 & 550; convenient to Fort Lewis College & tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Durango
Durango Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing