We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Ranked #5 of 34 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Great location by the river and so close to the Durango/Silverton railway. The room was extremely nice and comfortable with everything we could want. Breakfast was excellent the first morning, when the eggs were cooked in the kitchen, but not so good the second morning when they were cooked in the restaurant. We only had dinner one evening, in an almost deserted dining room with no atmosphere and constantly hovering staff. As I have mentioned before in my reports of US hotels, how can a good chef cook the same things every night, without having a bit of variation on a "specials" board. I chose the vegetable wellington and I was amazed by the amount of pastry. It would have been so much nice had it been half the size but perhaps served with some tomatoes or salad, and some potatoes. But we had a nice stay and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ObanTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We do appreciate your feedback. We forwarded your comments about our food to our Chef. We are pleased that you had a good stay with us and we welcome you back anytime you are in our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,615)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,220 - 1,226 of 1,615 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2012

We enjoyed our rooms at the Doubletree. One recommendation would be to add a shower arm to the shower. The restaurant has a lovely view of the Animas River.
There should be better access to the hotel for suitcases. A customer should also be able to get help when needed.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view of the Animas River and away from the Highway. We stayed here twice. Onc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ewilkens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We are pleased that you found our staff friendly and that you had a good stay with us. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

The Doubletree in Durango is beautifully located beside the river, just a couple blocks from downtown Durango and the Stater Hotel. The room was well furnished with high quality liners and excellent bedding. The best part of the stay, however, was the breakfast buffet. Wide range of hot and cold offerings, excellent egg station and best of all, the finest, flakiest, butteriest croissants ever encountered in this country, rivaling some of the better ones in Paris. Stayed at this property for two nights as part of an organized tour so have no idea of value, but the quality was excellent. Dined one night in the restaurant from the tour company's restricted menu. The selection was fine and the quality of the meal was first rate.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marshall C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We are happy that you enjoyed our croissants, we will be sure to pass this on to our Chef. We hope that you will stay with us again the next time you are in our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We called the morning of our check in, and arrived earlier than the 3:00 check in. The staff was very accomodating, and even upgraded our room for free because our room wasn't ready early. Loved the cookies, and the room was very comfortable!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor.
We do thank you for the comments and want you to know that we are pleased you had a good stay and that you will be back again. We look forward to your next visit with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Nice hotel in a very attractive small town. We had a "street side" room but were not disturbed by the traffic. Rooms on the back side look towards the river and mountain.

Very pleasant and helpful staff who clearly can use their initiative to give customers the best service.

Excellent buffet breakfast in an attractive setting.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Seat_9F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor.
We do appreciate your feedback and complilments. We're plesed that you had a good stay with us and we welcome you back to stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Doubletree in October of 2011. We brought our dog and chose DoubleTree because of the quality, value and pet friendly policy. It was a great choice. If you let them know specifically you have a dog, they'll bring a water dish, mat and a dog treat for you.

This hotel isn't the cheapest place in Durango but it is close to the downtown and is a very clean, comfortable property. I would easily stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee_Bu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, on Trip Advisor. Its great to know that you'd easily stay with us again. We appreciate your feedback and want you to know that we welcome you and your pet back to stay with us anytime you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Not the cheapest hotel but the best located for a visit to Durango and the surrounding area. The hotel is new and very well maintained. The rooms and beds are very comfortable. Breakfast is excellent. Front Desk staff is friendly and efficient. I will be back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fionn2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We do appreciate your kind compliments and feedback. We couldn't agree more about our location
right on the Animas River and close to everything in Durango. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
2.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
0.2 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#12 of 34 in Durango
501 reviews
0.2 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#8 of 34 in Durango
1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango
0.3 mi away
The Rochester Hotel and Leland House
2.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn and Suites Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Address: 501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301-5449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Durango
#1 Business Hotel in Durango
#2 Family Hotel in Durango
#3 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range: $112 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Durango 3.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Low-rise Hotel set on the banks of Animas River at Highways 160 & 550; convenient to Fort Lewis College & tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Durango
Durango Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing