We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel with Friendly Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
St Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
160 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel with Friendly Staff”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We enjoyed our rooms at the Doubletree. One recommendation would be to add a shower arm to the shower. The restaurant has a lovely view of the Animas River.
There should be better access to the hotel for suitcases. A customer should also be able to get help when needed.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view of the Animas River and away from the Highway. We stayed here twice. Onc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ewilkens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We are pleased that you found our staff friendly and that you had a good stay with us. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    823
    468
    133
    41
    14
See reviews for
501
565
42
202
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waynesville
Level Contributor
79 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

The Doubletree in Durango is beautifully located beside the river, just a couple blocks from downtown Durango and the Stater Hotel. The room was well furnished with high quality liners and excellent bedding. The best part of the stay, however, was the breakfast buffet. Wide range of hot and cold offerings, excellent egg station and best of all, the finest, flakiest, butteriest croissants ever encountered in this country, rivaling some of the better ones in Paris. Stayed at this property for two nights as part of an organized tour so have no idea of value, but the quality was excellent. Dined one night in the restaurant from the tour company's restricted menu. The selection was fine and the quality of the meal was first rate.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marshall C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We are happy that you enjoyed our croissants, we will be sure to pass this on to our Chef. We hope that you will stay with us again the next time you are in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springville, Utah, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We called the morning of our check in, and arrived earlier than the 3:00 check in. The staff was very accomodating, and even upgraded our room for free because our room wasn't ready early. Loved the cookies, and the room was very comfortable!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor.
We do thank you for the comments and want you to know that we are pleased you had a good stay and that you will be back again. We look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

Nice hotel in a very attractive small town. We had a "street side" room but were not disturbed by the traffic. Rooms on the back side look towards the river and mountain.

Very pleasant and helpful staff who clearly can use their initiative to give customers the best service.

Excellent buffet breakfast in an attractive setting.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Seat_9F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor.
We do appreciate your feedback and complilments. We're plesed that you had a good stay with us and we welcome you back to stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corrales, NM
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Doubletree in October of 2011. We brought our dog and chose DoubleTree because of the quality, value and pet friendly policy. It was a great choice. If you let them know specifically you have a dog, they'll bring a water dish, mat and a dog treat for you.

This hotel isn't the cheapest place in Durango but it is close to the downtown and is a very clean, comfortable property. I would easily stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee_Bu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, on Trip Advisor. Its great to know that you'd easily stay with us again. We appreciate your feedback and want you to know that we welcome you and your pet back to stay with us anytime you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Not the cheapest hotel but the best located for a visit to Durango and the surrounding area. The hotel is new and very well maintained. The rooms and beds are very comfortable. Breakfast is excellent. Front Desk staff is friendly and efficient. I will be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fionn2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We do appreciate your kind compliments and feedback. We couldn't agree more about our location
right on the Animas River and close to everything in Durango. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

great hotel
close to animas river
comfy beds
near albertsons
free shuttle bus
just to let you know there is white water rafting on the river for kids and grown ups
but a small pool not ment for laps
close to the durango and silverton railway
will be back

Room Tip: get a animas river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your feedback and we're pleased that you will be back to stay with us again.
We couldnt agree with you more, we do have a great location, and a great hotel. We look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.2 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#3 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
2.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
0.2 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#7 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Rochester Hotel & Bar
Rochester Hotel & Bar
#8 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Durango
Hampton Inn Durango
#4 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Address: 501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301-5449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Durango
#1 Business Hotel in Durango
#2 Family Hotel in Durango
#3 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Durango 3.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Low-rise Hotel set on the banks of Animas River at Highways 160 & 550; convenient to Fort Lewis College & tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Durango
Durango Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing