We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Always a great experience”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Exceptionally clean and comfortable hotel with a wonderful view of the river (ask for a balcony room). The rooms are spacious and well-appointed and service at the front desk is outstanding. Bath products are top of the line. The Double Tree is in a great location and within walking distance of downtown Durango and many fine restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lindy3968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We do appreciate getting feedback from our guests. We're pleased that you had a great stay wtih us and we welcome you back anytime you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    870
    480
    136
    41
    14
See reviews for
529
589
44
205
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Super clean & the most comfy beds I have ever slept in on the road! The staff was great & started us off with a warm chocolate chip cookie as soon as we checked in! We will definitely stay here when we head through Durango again! For the price of the rooms I do feel as though they could offer a complimentary breakfast or something but all & all we were extremely happy with our stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bishopsontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We're pleased that you had a great stay with us, that you loved our hotel. We welcome you back anytime you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburg, Kansas
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Ask for a balcony room overlooking the river. I could have sat out there all day. This is a very comfortable hotel walking distance from all the best Durango has to offer. My only tiny complaint is the wifi was slow. I would definitely stay here again, though. Very friendly and helpful staff, too.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We appreciate the feedback. We're happy to hear you were pleased with your stay, we look forward to having you as our guests again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

I enjoyed my two nights stay here. The front desk staff was pleasant and the rooms were worth the $. I kno wit's a bit more than the average rate for the area, but I pay more to ensure quality. Quality is exactly what I received here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnnyWalksAlot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. Its great to get your feedback, we're pleased you had a good stay with us and that you enjoy the quality of service we provide our guests. We welcome you back any time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stayed here while in town for a high school sporting event. The front desk staff was very efficient and friendly. Check in was quick! The room, bed & pillows were so comfortable. A great night's sleep is so important. The bathroom was very nice, nice thick towels and the shower had great water pressure. The chocolate chip cookies and bottled water is also very nice. I would stay again when we are in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Conraff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
We thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to having you stay again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Great place to stop on my way to Mesa Verde.
The room was clean and well appointed.
At breakfast the food was so-so, however the view was great.
The hotel is at a great point to take 160 West on the way to Mesa Verde.
I think it could also be good for visitors to Durango, as well as for business.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank idasp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. Its always good to get feedback from our guests. We couldnt agree with you more about our location, perfect for a trip to Mesa Verde, a wonderful place to see! We welcome you back anytime you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

While the hotel was in general excellent, they screwed up on booking the room.
I asked for a pet room(traveling with two cats) and when I checked in they were going to give me the allergen free room!
So my advice is to call again after reserving a room and check the details.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xtine46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We appreciate the feedback. We're pleased you found us to be a great hotel, we' do apologize for the mix up on the room type. We welcome you back to stay again next time you are in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.2 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#6 of 33 in Durango
463 reviews
0.2 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#7 of 33 in Durango
1,037 reviews
2.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
0.3 mi away
The Leland House and Rochester Hotel
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Address: 501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301-5449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Durango
#1 Business Hotel in Durango
#2 Family Hotel in Durango
#3 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Durango 3.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Low-rise Hotel set on the banks of Animas River at Highways 160 & 550; convenient to Fort Lewis College & tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Durango
Durango Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing