We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay in Durango”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Shreveport, Louisiana
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay in Durango”
Reviewed June 10, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Doubletree in Durango for one night, before he flew home. It is a beautiful setting, directly on the Animas River and our room overlooked the river. Our stay was very short, but enjoyable. I ate dinner, at their Animas River Cafe, before I drove back to Pagosa Springs. They had live music, the food was delicious and I had a great little waiter. My only complaint is we did not get a room on top floor, as requested, so there was some walking noise overhead. It was a little on the expensive side, but the location and setting was worth it for a short stay. As a matter of fact, my daughters and I are staying there again this week, for one night, to ride the Durango & Silverton train!!!

Room Tip: Ask for end of hallway and on top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djwharrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, The DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, on Trip Advisor. We thank you for the feedback information. We're pleased that you had a good stay with us and that you are coming back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    848
    472
    135
    41
    14
See reviews for
514
578
42
204
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 6, 2012

The staff was very welcoming. Really appreciated the shuttle service but the best part was the breakfast! Banana stuffed French toast and warm coffee all while you overlook the river. It was a perfect start to the morning. Highly recommend. We will be staying there next time we visit.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivonne4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, on Trip Advisor. We are so pleased that you had a good stay with us and that you enjoyed our breakfast. We totally agree with the fact that our location is prime, to be able to sit and enjoy breakfast while looking at the river is truly enjoyable. We welcome you back anytime you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandia Park, New Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Great place to stay for Railfans. Good value for HHonors points; a bit pricy for cash stays. My choice for last 5 visits to Durango.

Room Tip: I prefer the lower level river side close to exit for loading/unloading car, walkout patio and river...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NMDanO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your feedback. We do have a great location that is convenient for our guests to downtown Durango and the train. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
102 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

This is a nice enough hotel (a little expensive for what it is, in my opinion).

The location is good - you have to cross a very busy road to get to downtown Durango (there are crossing points), but other than that it is a very quick and easy walk into town.

We had a few issues on checking in – firstly there was a very strong smell of smoke when we first entered our room, which was disappointing, and then we discovered a cigarette butt floating in the toilet bowl – not a great start! My husband mentioned this to the reception staff who told him that smoking was not permitted in the rooms and very quickly and efficiently moved us to another room. On settling into the second room, we noticed that several of the toiletry items were half-used, which we mentioned to reception on our way out, and these items were replaced on our return to the hotel. We were given free drink and dessert vouchers to compensate for our ‘trouble’ and my husband was particularly pleased by the way that Max on reception dealt with everything. Personally, I would have preferred that everything was ‘right first time’, as I feel it should be in a hotel of this type, but all problems were rectified well, so I suppose I can’t complain too much.

The rest of our stay was without incident and we were pleased that we had booked a room with a balcony overlooking the river, as it was much nicer. The balconies, however, are not totally private.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PooksNorthCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We appreciate the feedback. We apologize for the things we didn't get right the first time. We are happy that we were able to correct them. We will review these with our staff. We do hope that you will stay with us again the next time you are in Durango.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Alamos, New Mexico
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Lovely, clean, bright, and friendly, with river-view room. Will definitely be first choice for future Iron Horse Bicycle Classic events.

Room Tip: River view is worth the price increment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor.
We are always pleased to get feedback from our guests. We're glad that you are going to choose our hotel for you next stay for the Iron Horse Bicycle Classic. We'll be ready for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Room with a river view and very roomy. Good clean room well serviced. No complaints about service. Good location.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RichardRyder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We appreciate the feedback. We're pleased you had a good stay with us and that you will be back again. We're pleased that you found your room to your satisfaction. We welcome you back anytime you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABQ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Very nice hotel, close to downtown and dining. Great location, next to the river and riverwalk. Front desk was amazing with fast and easy check in, loved the cookies, and had answers to my questions. They also offer a shuttle, a big plus to night life. Had problems with tv remote but issue was resolved within minutes of my phone call to the front desk. GREAT STAY AND VERY CLEAN ROOMS>>>>>>>>>

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our hotel the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We thank you for the feedback. We're pleased that you had a great stay with us and we look forward to having you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.2 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#7 of 33 in Durango
453 reviews
0.2 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#8 of 33 in Durango
1,023 reviews
2.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
0.3 mi away
The Leland House and Rochester Hotel
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Durango
Hampton Inn Durango
#4 of 33 in Durango
969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Address: 501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301-5449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Durango
#1 Green Hotel in Durango
#2 Family Hotel in Durango
#3 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Durango 3.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Low-rise Hotel set on the banks of Animas River at Highways 160 & 550; convenient to Fort Lewis College & tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Durango
Durango Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing