We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Iron Horse Bicycle Classic overnignt.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Los Alamos, New Mexico
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Iron Horse Bicycle Classic overnignt.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Lovely, clean, bright, and friendly, with river-view room. Will definitely be first choice for future Iron Horse Bicycle Classic events.

Room Tip: River view is worth the price increment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor.
We are always pleased to get feedback from our guests. We're glad that you are going to choose our hotel for you next stay for the Iron Horse Bicycle Classic. We'll be ready for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    727
    433
    119
    38
    13
See reviews for
451
511
36
177
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Room with a river view and very roomy. Good clean room well serviced. No complaints about service. Good location.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RichardRyder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We appreciate the feedback. We're pleased you had a good stay with us and that you will be back again. We're pleased that you found your room to your satisfaction. We welcome you back anytime you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABQ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

Very nice hotel, close to downtown and dining. Great location, next to the river and riverwalk. Front desk was amazing with fast and easy check in, loved the cookies, and had answers to my questions. They also offer a shuttle, a big plus to night life. Had problems with tv remote but issue was resolved within minutes of my phone call to the front desk. GREAT STAY AND VERY CLEAN ROOMS>>>>>>>>>

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our hotel the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We thank you for the feedback. We're pleased that you had a great stay with us and we look forward to having you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

Had a very nice stay last night at the Doubletree in Durango. The room - a corner king room with a river view - was fabulous. Roomy, well maintained, quiet, clean, with a fantastic view of the river from the private balcony.

My only complaint would be about the helpfulness of the staff. My husband and I were struggling with a number of bags at the end of a week's vacation, and the staff never once offered any help. And this morning, when I went to the customer service desk to inquire about the location of the business center to print our boarding passes, the young man behind the desk didn't know where it was. Really? And you're the customer service representative?

Other than those minor glitches, it was a nice hotel, centrally located an easy walk from historic downtown Durango, and I'd stay there again.

Room Tip: It's worth it to pay a bit extra for a river view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank catlaz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We
appreciate your comments. We will be working with our newly hired seasonal staff to be sure they are on top of everything, especially the things you referred to in your review. We are pleased that you commented that you'd stay with us again. We look forward to your next stay with us, we'll make it a perfect one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Take your dog to Durango! This hotel has dog friendly rooms, which open up to the riverwalk: great for a walk with Fido. Walking distance to supermarket and dog park across river on other side of bridge. Nice bar upstairs, so you don't have to go far from the room if your dog will not bark and you put the DND sign on the door (we put our Wallace in the crate so he can feel safe sleeping and there are no surprises for staff) Comfortable beds, coffee in room and very nice staff. Hint: keep the sliding door locked. There are a few people living under the nearby bridge, and unfortunate sign of the times....but not a reflection on the hotel itself...very well kept.

Room Tip: River side, first floor best for those with pets
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chicago55Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, on Trip Advisor. We do appreciate your feedback. We love pets too. We're pleased that you found our location so convenient for those with pets. We welcome you and your dogs back anytime you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
44 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

We were very pleased with everyone we met and who assisted us. When we needed an extra service, it was there before 5 minutes, It was a big task for the staff, not something like towels. We could not have asked for more, we were more than happy. The location was perfect for us also.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We do appreciate your feedback. We're pleased that you were satisfied with your stay with us, our goal is to satisfy every customer every time they stay with us. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Media, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

We stayed here for one night while we were passing through. Although it is across the highway from town, it is a 2 minute drive over with easy parking... Not a big deal. Behind the hotel is the animas river and there is a gorgeous paved path that travels along it. We did the Durango- silverton train ride and they offered to shuttle us over for free to avoid paying for parking. The only problem we had was at check in they put us in a room with two queen beds after we had reserved a king bed. They initially tried to tell us they didn't have a kings, but after asking to see the manager, they suddenly found one. A few minutes of inconvenience after a long trip there, but was overall a good experience. Rooms were spacious, nice little balcony overlooking the river, and comfy beds.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelinwebbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, on Trip Advisor.
We appreciate your feedback. We apologize for the mixup on your room type, and happy that we were able to accommodate you with a king bed room. We welcome you back to stay with us again anytime you are in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
2.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
0.2 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#6 of 32 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 912 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Durango
Hampton Inn Durango
#2 of 32 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
0.4 mi away
Rochester Hotel & Bar
Rochester Hotel & Bar
#7 of 32 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 234 reviews
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Address: 501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301-5449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Durango
#1 Green Hotel in Durango
#2 Family Hotel in Durango
#3 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Durango 3.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Low-rise Hotel set on the banks of Animas River at Highways 160 & 550; convenient to Fort Lewis College & tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Durango
Durango Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing