We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good option in Durango” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
150 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Good option in Durango”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

We stayed one night while travelling around Colorado State. The Hotel may be one of the best options in Durango as it is just 2 blocks from downtown area where there are many good restaurants like Ore House.

We booked a room with the river view and it was worth it. Breakfast was quite good with plenty of choices. Service was very good from all the people we faced in the Hotel.

The only thing it was missing was a fridge in the room as this is for me a basic thing any good hotel should have.

Parking was very big. Finally next to the Hotel there is an Albertsons market, so this is very convenient to get drinks and food.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Prayanak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, The DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, on Trip Advisor.
We appreciate the review information. We're pleased you found us a good option, we've got a great location, with the beautiful Animas River out our back doors, close to town, lots of parking, convenient grocery store next door and all the services you could need right here at the hotel. We look forward to having you stay with us again the next time you are in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    691
    415
    111
    36
    12
See reviews for
430
478
35
173
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

great place to stay. convenient to the town. clean and comfortable. airport shuttle is a bonus

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodwellusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, April 4, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor.
We do appreciate the feedback. We're pleased that you found our location to be convenient for getting around the city and for being located on the Animas River just out our back door. We look forward to having you stay with us again the next time you are in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordeaux, Frankrijk
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

the hotel is beautful and the staff very friendly the rooms excelent and our room was just on the backside and the view of the river is beautiful. the breakfast buffet was great, also for dinner , ambiance was great. the indoor pool and sauna after a day outside was relaxing

Room Tip: rooms on the backside are quiet and good views on the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HRR111043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, March 28, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, The DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your comments and feedback. We're pleased that you found out hotel to your liking. We're excited about a renovation that is in the planning stages right now. We welcome you back anytime you are in the Durango area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

The rooms are clean, the view of the river is beautiful, the staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The restaurant isn't all that clean however, and for long stays a fridge would be helpful. It's right next to a grocery store which is very convenient.

Room Tip: higher floors, away from elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dani_BP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, March 21, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango. We appreciate your feedback. We are happy to learn that you had a good stay with us and we welcome you back any time you are in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

Very good breakfast. Front desk staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A_guy_from_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our hotel on Trip Advisor. We thank you for the compliments and welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

Our family of four had a wonderful stay at this hotel at spring break. We stayed in a suite which was perfect for our older kids (23 and 20). The sofa bed made out into a king-sized bed and we had them bring in a roll-away bed. Both of our kids said the beds were very comfortable. We loved having the mini fridge and microwave in the suite. The rooms are very large and were very well decorated. We had no complaints at all. The view of the snow covered mountain and river right outside of our room was wonderful. It was an easy walk to shopping in downtown Durango. The drive to ski resort is beautiful. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KSinTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, March 21, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, on trip advisor. Thank you for the good feedback information. We're pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you will be back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
657 reviews
176 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 325 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

This is a lovely hotel in a great location. The room had an incredible view of the river and mountain and was a good size. Wireless internet was good. My only complaint was the wait for food both at breakfast and dinner, it seemed as though the hotel needed a couple of extra staff in this area.

Room Tip: River rooms have a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcusHurley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, March 21, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your kind words and we are pleased that you had a good stay with us. We look forward to having you as our guest again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
2.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
0.2 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#5 of 32 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 867 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Durango
Hampton Inn Durango
#2 of 32 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Rochester Hotel & Bar
Rochester Hotel & Bar
#8 of 32 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 222 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Address: 501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301-5449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Durango
#1 Green Hotel in Durango
#2 Family Hotel in Durango
#3 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Durango 3.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Low-rise Hotel set on the banks of Animas River at Highways 160 & 550; convenient to Fort Lewis College & tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Odigeo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Durango
Durango Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing