We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Riverview room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Pueblo, Colorado
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Riverview room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

Typical of Doubletree properties. New carpets, nice room with a river view. Mattress was due for a replacement. Way too soft. Staff was super and the property was very clean and up to date.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PoppyonPoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, September 14, 2011
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We are happy to learn that you had a good stay with us, yes, we love families! Thank you for the compliments on our staff, we feel we have an outstanding crew. We look forward to having you stay with us again your next trip to Durango.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    706
    425
    115
    36
    12
See reviews for
442
491
35
175
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Level Contributor
82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

We stayed here Labor Day Weekend two nights and got a room overlooking the river. Beautiful in the day and night. Perfect location right across the street from the Train station and next to it is the McDonalds perfect for breakfast for 6 yr and us. Comfortable beds. Most of the rooms we found cost the same price, so worth it to stay here. They have their own restaurant on site by the river -- a bit pricy. Some folks ordered pizza and eat at the pool. The pool is next to the resturant so you can hear the live music playing which nice. 3ft to 5ft and hot tub on the side. What was nice is you could walk to the train and leave your car parked at the hotel -saves you $9. TIP for the train - remember to wear sunglasses if in the open gondola and a hoodie type jacket. Also nearby is Durango Mtn where they have alpine slides and bungie jumping.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArizonaAZ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, September 14, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your comments and review. We do have a great location near the train and also on the Animas River. We offer complimentary transportation to the train depot for our guests. We hope that you'll stay with us again your next trip to Durango.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

Great location - our room opened to the Animas River. Somewhat older hotel but very clean and updates throughout. Large rooms with very comfortable beds and nice bathrooms. Our dogs were very welcome and we noticed each day how the staff thoroughly cleaned the rooms and hallways.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lonestar438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, September 7, 2011
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the Doubletree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor.
We appreciate your feedback and we are pleased that you had a good stay with us.
We look forward to having you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

Decent location for walking downtown. Nice hotel. Would ask about a room with a balcony. We had a nice large room, but no balcony. The cafe was a disappointment dut to the amount of time for the food to arrive at lunch, but the food was fine. Hot tub and pool OK. Next to an Albertson's grocery store for food shopping.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paperprofits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, August 31, 2011
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your feedback. We welcome you back anytime you are in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

Hotel is nice location and clean. The room are nice with river view .
I just can not believe it that one night is almost cost same price as downtown in Chicago hotel.
Breakfast is over price but ok $18 per breakfast is little bit steep.Dinner in same place is $35 + drink is similar to other restaurants in town.
Nice place to take walk around river just be careful so many homeless people are walking around as well.
Bring your iPad to not get charge for movies. Internet is free and good speed.
Room service is very nice but no chocolate on your pillows as in Hilton.
Very diseponted.
Renting conference room $750 per day it is very expensive. We did not rent it under this price.
Overall nice place but I am not sure if this is worst for the money.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigVv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, August 31, 2011
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We're pleased that you found so many things to write about in your review. We do have a lovely location and its great to take walks on the River Path. We hope that you will stay with us again the next time you are in Durango.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

My Husband & I were sitting on Main Street in Durango eating Lunch and I was looking at Hotels on my iPad. The waitress recommended the Doubletree because it was on the River. After Lunch we checked it out and loved it so much we extended our stay for 3 days! The Room opened up to the River and the weather was beautiful. We would get up in the morning and walk the path along the River. The Restaurant also overlooks the River. We will definitely go back!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 52packrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, August 31, 2011
Thank you for reviewing our hotel - the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We are so pleased that you loved our hotel. There is so much positive going for it we agree. We are pleased that you are going to come back and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

We had a lovely room overlooking the Animas River for only one night. (the remaining portion of the week we stayed in a fabulous rental house from VRBO.com). It was good to be close to Downtown Durango to get to know the area by walking. The hotel is dated and could really use a facelift in the hallways but it was clean and the location could not be beat.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dagny49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, August 24, 2011
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the Doubletree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor.
We appreciate your comments. We are in the planning stages now for a renovation next year which we are very excited about. We do hope that you will stay with us again your next trip to Durango.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
2.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
0.2 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#6 of 32 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 888 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Durango
Hampton Inn Durango
#3 of 32 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
0.4 mi away
Rochester Hotel & Bar
Rochester Hotel & Bar
#7 of 32 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Address: 501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301-5449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Durango
#1 Green Hotel in Durango
#2 Family Hotel in Durango
#3 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Durango 3.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Low-rise Hotel set on the banks of Animas River at Highways 160 & 550; convenient to Fort Lewis College & tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and Travelocity so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Durango
Durango Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing