We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Riverview room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 9, 2011

Typical of Doubletree properties. New carpets, nice room with a river view. Mattress was due for a replacement. Way too soft. Staff was super and the property was very clean and up to date.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PoppyonPoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2011

Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We are happy to learn that you had a good stay with us, yes, we love families! Thank you for the compliments on our staff, we feel we have an outstanding crew. We look forward to having you stay with us again your next trip to Durango.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,576)
There are newer reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,345 - 1,351 of 1,578 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2011

We stayed here Labor Day Weekend two nights and got a room overlooking the river. Beautiful in the day and night. Perfect location right across the street from the Train station and next to it is the McDonalds perfect for breakfast for 6 yr and us. Comfortable beds. Most of the rooms we found cost the same price, so worth it to stay here. They have their own restaurant on site by the river -- a bit pricy. Some folks ordered pizza and eat at the pool. The pool is next to the resturant so you can hear the live music playing which nice. 3ft to 5ft and hot tub on the side. What was nice is you could walk to the train and leave your car parked at the hotel -saves you $9. TIP for the train - remember to wear sunglasses if in the open gondola and a hoodie type jacket. Also nearby is Durango Mtn where they have alpine slides and bungie jumping.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ArizonaAZ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your comments and review. We do have a great location near the train and also on the Animas River. We offer complimentary transportation to the train depot for our guests. We hope that you'll stay with us again your next trip to Durango.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Great location - our room opened to the Animas River. Somewhat older hotel but very clean and updates throughout. Large rooms with very comfortable beds and nice bathrooms. Our dogs were very welcome and we noticed each day how the staff thoroughly cleaned the rooms and hallways.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lonestar438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2011

Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the Doubletree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor.
We appreciate your feedback and we are pleased that you had a good stay with us.
We look forward to having you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2011

Decent location for walking downtown. Nice hotel. Would ask about a room with a balcony. We had a nice large room, but no balcony. The cafe was a disappointment dut to the amount of time for the food to arrive at lunch, but the food was fine. Hot tub and pool OK. Next to an Albertson's grocery store for food shopping.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paperprofits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2011

Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your feedback. We welcome you back anytime you are in our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2011

Hotel is nice location and clean. The room are nice with river view .
I just can not believe it that one night is almost cost same price as downtown in Chicago hotel.
Breakfast is over price but ok $18 per breakfast is little bit steep.Dinner in same place is $35 + drink is similar to other restaurants in town.
Nice place to take walk around river just be careful so many homeless people are walking around as well.
Bring your iPad to not get charge for movies. Internet is free and good speed.
Room service is very nice but no chocolate on your pillows as in Hilton.
Very diseponted.
Renting conference room $750 per day it is very expensive. We did not rent it under this price.
Overall nice place but I am not sure if this is worst for the money.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BigVv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2011

Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We're pleased that you found so many things to write about in your review. We do have a lovely location and its great to take walks on the River Path. We hope that you will stay with us again the next time you are in Durango.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

My Husband & I were sitting on Main Street in Durango eating Lunch and I was looking at Hotels on my iPad. The waitress recommended the Doubletree because it was on the River. After Lunch we checked it out and loved it so much we extended our stay for 3 days! The Room opened up to the River and the weather was beautiful. We would get up in the morning and walk the path along the River. The Restaurant also overlooks the River. We will definitely go back!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 52packrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2011

Thank you for reviewing our hotel - the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We are so pleased that you loved our hotel. There is so much positive going for it we agree. We are pleased that you are going to come back and stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

We had a lovely room overlooking the Animas River for only one night. (the remaining portion of the week we stayed in a fabulous rental house from VRBO.com). It was good to be close to Downtown Durango to get to know the area by walking. The hotel is dated and could really use a facelift in the hallways but it was clean and the location could not be beat.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dagny49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2011

Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the Doubletree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor.
We appreciate your comments. We are in the planning stages now for a renovation next year which we are very excited about. We do hope that you will stay with us again your next trip to Durango.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
2.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
0.2 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#8 of 33 in Durango
1,073 reviews
0.2 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#11 of 33 in Durango
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
0.3 mi away
The Leland House and Rochester Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Address: 501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301-5449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Durango
#1 Green Hotel in Durango
#2 Family Hotel in Durango
#3 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range: $120 - $317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Durango 3.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Low-rise Hotel set on the banks of Animas River at Highways 160 & 550; convenient to Fort Lewis College & tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Durango
Durango Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing