We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RATHER DISAPPOINTING...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
72 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“RATHER DISAPPOINTING...”
Reviewed August 10, 2011

Diubletree in Durango is quite a big hotel and would definitely need some improvements:

1) rooms are outdated and a bit run-down
2) room accessories should be checked (broken ironing-board...)
3) staff is not very helpful and often unavaliable
4) rates aren't exactly cheap

Even though the design and deoration aren't my taste (I prefer modern/minimal hotel design), and I feel the 2-nights' stay wasn't great value/money, Doubletree is in a strategic location and close to the cute riverside exercise trail.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VFitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, August 17, 2011
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, The DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We do appreciate your feedback. You'll be happy to learn that we are in the planning stages now for a guest room renovation next year. We do hope that you will stay with us again and give us the opportunity to show you a perfect stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    846
    472
    135
    41
    14
See reviews for
514
576
42
204
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
377 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 671 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Travel on Durango & Silverton Railroad. Travel over Red Mountain Pass- preferably withg someone else driving.Visit Ouray.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank malholme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, August 17, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, The DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We appreciate the feedback. We're pleased that you had a good stay with us. The drive over Red Mountain is certainly exciting and many would prefer someone else to do the driving for sure. We hope that you will stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NM
Level Contributor
37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We were on the river side and had a patio. Wonderful and relaxing view. Just minutes from downtown where we discovered great shopping and wonderful restaurants. Pool was nice, hot tub was great. Very efficiant room service. Would most definately stay again. Only negative was a bland/rude bleach blonde gentleman bartender.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BellaLuca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel on Trip Advisor. We appreciate the feedback and thank you for your compliments. We look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

This hotel is right on the Animas River (we had a great view from our room) and it is within easy walking distance of the Durango and Silverton Narrow Gauge Railway. My brother-in-law and I booked this room to walk around Durango (another easy walk from the hotel). There is an Albertsons and Liquor store conveniently directly across the street.

The hotel let us check a duffle bag in for 4 days while we took the train to the mountains and hiked around. We then came back 4 days later and they let us use their pool shower and shuttle to the airport. They even gave us extra cookies.

Our backpacking trip wouldn't have been nearly as good without their accommodation and their great service. Although they might be pricey for Durango, their airport shuttle service is worth it, since we got a quote of $30 per person from a local taxi service. That adds up.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, August 3, 2011
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the Doubletree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor.
We are pleased that you found out hotel to be fantastic and that you enjoyed our amenities. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

The Doubletree was great! We were treated well from the moment we walked in. The room was clean and comfortable and the river view was amazing! Another huge plus is the location......walking distance to downtown and major attractions.

Room Tip: The river view is worth the extra money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arichblonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, August 3, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, The Doubletree by Hilton Durango, on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your feedback. We're pleased that you had a great stay with us and we will look forward to having you stay again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

My husband, mother and I stayed at the Doubletree for four nights while my mom attended a conference at the college in Durango. The hotel is terrifically located - right along the Animas river, and shares a parking lot with an Albertson's grocery store and an organic, local, funky mexican restaurant: Cocina Linda. It is an easy two block walk to the heart of downtown Durango - at Main and College Avenues - where there are tons of restaurants and shops, and access to the Durango - Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad. The hotel also is bordered by a 5 mile walkway/bike trail that stretches north into Durango and south to the visitor center right along the Animas and provides a great place to watch kayakers and rafters.

This hotel provides a free shuttle around town - my mom used it to get to and from the college. Durango also offers a free trolley system that allowed us to explore north Durango (Animas City). You would want a car, though, if you'd like to explore into the mountains and the San Juan Skyway.

The restaurant is nothing too unique, but does offer attentive service and good enough food. There is a little cafe on the first floor right along the Animas River, but it was booked for private parties both nights we'd hoped to eat there. There are fresh baked cookies every evening. Breakfast was not included with our reservation.

There is a small indoor pool and a deep hot tub. Both were quite clean. There's a small fitness center as well.

Every staff member with whom we interacted was fabulous, polite and provided excellent customer service. Most specifically, Rysert at checkin, good-natured Seth in the restaurant, and the awesome and enthusiastic Nick at guest services.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tigerlily821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, August 3, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel The Doubletree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We are pleased you had a great 4 day stay with us and that we were able to assist you with shuttles and etc. We do hope that you'll stay with us again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Georgia
Level Contributor
278 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

The hotel is set on the main road in Durango so the location is great and the Animas River is directly behind the hotel to drown out any noise from the road. The rush of the water over the boulders in the river made great sounds that lulled us to sleep. The room was the typical Doubletree with nice amenities. Breakfast was above par with the buffet and menu ordering. The resturant looked out over the river for a nice way to start the day.
The location is great for taking the train to Silverton or spending time as Mesa Verde.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelerDavidfromGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, August 3, 2011
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the Doubletree by Hilton Durango, on trip advisor.
We appreciate your compliments, we're pleased you had a great stay. We look forward to having you stay with us again your next trip to Durango.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.2 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#7 of 33 in Durango
453 reviews
0.2 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#8 of 33 in Durango
1,021 reviews
2.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
0.3 mi away
The Leland House and Rochester Hotel
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Durango
Hampton Inn Durango
#4 of 33 in Durango
969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Address: 501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301-5449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Durango
#1 Green Hotel in Durango
#2 Family Hotel in Durango
#3 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Durango 3.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Low-rise Hotel set on the banks of Animas River at Highways 160 & 550; convenient to Fort Lewis College & tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Durango
Durango Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing