We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Durango Downtown Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Durango Downtown Inn
Ranked #19 of 32 Hotels in Durango
Craig
Level Contributor
105 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

Comfortable beds, Applebees restaurant on site, close to grocery, highway and liquor stores. Dog friendly, good value for the price. Place was booked the night we stayed but was still quiet. Clean rooms.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ckaep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmeehanDurango, General Manager at Durango Downtown Inn, responded to this review, September 12, 2014
Dear Craig,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. I am so glad you could see the value of our hotel and could appreciate the cleanliness and location. This means quite a bit coming from a Top Contributor that is clearly so well traveled! Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    134
    78
    31
    13
See reviews for
84
138
14
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

The price seemed a little high but the location was great! Apparently Durango is just pricey in the summertime. Almost every hotel was booked.
This dog-friendly hotel is located right on the Animas River bike trail and just a couple blocks from historic Main Street.
There is a ton of green space for your dog.
Clean rooms, friendly staff.

Room Tip: Request a river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LB630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmeehanDurango, General Manager at Durango Downtown Inn, responded to this review, September 12, 2014
Dear LB630,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. Because of Durango's immense popularity in the summer time you will find that the hotels are often all booked up and quite expensive. We do try to be a great value for guests that want to be both on the river and walking distance to downtown, usually selling for almost $100 less than other hotels that boost the same qualities. I am glad you and your pup enjoyed your stay! We will see you again soon!


Sincerely,

Megan Meehan
General Manager

Megan Meehan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weimar, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We stayed here for the Durango Train ride over RailFest weekend. Walking distance to the train is about ten minutes. Also walking distance to Oscar's for breakfast. Lots of pets there, great yard with tons of grass (the stuff you walk on, not the stuff they are now selling in Colorado). Excellent paved bicycle / hike trail just out the back parking lot that goes along the river.

Very dog friendly. Wish they had no carpet dog rooms like some hotels have. Just keeps the scent down for the next K9 visitors.

Only issue was we asked for a downstairs room and that was confirmed. All they had when we got there was upstairs. Our rescue lab had never done stairs before so it was a challenge getting Isaac up and down to the room.

No breakfast, just some heat up oatmeal and not even any fruit or milk for the oatmeal.
For the price, we expected some sort of breakfast. Also, there was no refrigerator or microwave in the room. This used to be a Holiday Inn, so I'm not sure why those were removed/changed.
The shower was good, the towels adequate and there was a hairdryer.

Free WiFi but real slow.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunni2Weimar_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmeehanDurango, General Manager at Durango Downtown Inn, responded to this review, September 12, 2014
Dear Sunnie2Weimar,

Please tell Isaac I am so sorry about the steps! We really try our very best to accommodate any special requests our guests have so I am looking in to why we were not able to do that for you. Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. I really appreciate the kind words you said and think that your suggestions are really great! While we would love to provide a breakfast for our guest we currently just do not have the facilities necessary to do that. We try to put the oatmeal and granola bars out so our guests can at least get a little something. Also, the hotel never had fridges and microwaves in all of the rooms but we do have a handful of rooms that have the units, we just ask that people let us know ahead of time that they will need one and we do our best to accommodate for just a nominal $10 a day fee. Thank you again for taking the time to review the hotel. Safe travels!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California, United States
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

The room was fine but be sure to ask for a nonsmoking room if you want one. I guess I assumed all rooms were nonsmoking but they are not. We walked in and gagged from the smoke. Asked for a nonsmoking room and we were accommodated quickly.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmeehanDurango, General Manager at Durango Downtown Inn, responded to this review, September 12, 2014
Dear Gary K,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We do have a few smoking rooms on property and what happens is people will see the lower rate for the smoking room and book it with out realizing that it says smoking. We do our best to accommodate anyone who does not want a smoking room if we have the availability but we are so busy that sometimes we are not able to. I really suggest that everyone pay close attention to the room type that they book- especially if it is on a third party site. I am glad we were easily able to accommodate you! Thank you again for the review and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
82 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

The Durango Downtown Inn is well located and fairly priced. It's relatively basic in its amenities but only three blocks from Main St. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful. We had a nice room on the river side, second story. You're on your own for breakfast. There is an Applebee's with a bar next door, but it no longer serves breakfast. There's also a grocery store and gas stations nearby.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank KelCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Stayed in July 2014. Chosen because it was best priced room left in town. Must have been something going on. Hard beds. No free breakfast. Clean room. Would not choose again. Hot tub jets not very effective...just frothiness created and not much therapeutic aid,

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ndngolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

We stayed here two nights & it was a perfect place. Only reason I didn't give it a 5 is the size of the bathroom, smaller. But everything is pretty clean (carpets need a cleaning) and very friendly & helpful front desk. Best part is location - the riverwalk was just outside our room, so would take our morning coffee down there. Only two blocks from the historic main street, an easy stroll to shops and restaurants. If we come back, would definitely stay here.

Room Tip: ask for one near the river, out back -
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cookielaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
0.2 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#6 of 32 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 911 reviews
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
#5 of 32 in Durango
4.0 of 5 stars 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
0.3 mi away
Rochester Hotel & Bar
Rochester Hotel & Bar
#7 of 32 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 234 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durango Downtown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durango Downtown Inn

Property: Durango Downtown Inn
Address: 800 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301-5582
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 32 Hotels in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Durango Downtown Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in historic downtown, Durango Downtown Inn is conveniently located just 1 block off of Historic Main Street. The hotel offers guests the convenience of easy access to shopping, dining, and galleries as well as many exciting activities. The world famous Durango Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad is just 5 short blocks from the hotel and a very easy walk. The beautiful Animas river flows behind the hotel giving guests wonderful scenery as well as a 3 mile river walk. Our indoor pool, Jacuzzi, and fitness center are sure to help you to relax and recharge. The Applebees Neighborhood Grill and Bar offers wonderful food choices for any meal of the day. The Durango Downtown Inn is waiting to take care of your every need and we hope to see you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Durango Downtown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durango Downtown Hotel Durango
Holiday Inn Durango
Durango Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing