We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean property with great customer service! ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Durango Downtown Inn
Ranked #24 of 34 Hotels in Durango
Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

Although this is an older property, it is VERY clean. The riverfront rooms offer a spectacular view and you're only steps from the walking/bike path. The staff was professional and accommodating. **Props to Natasha at the front desk!!!**
We had a schedule change that put us in town a little earlier than expected and called to see if we could check in early. Natasha took our number and said she would call when our room was available. We never really expected a call back but she did exactly what she said she would do, thank you Natasha. We will definitely be back!!!!

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
Thank khawkins7979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmeehanDurango, General Manager at Durango Downtown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Dear Khawkins7979,

Thank you so much for your awesome review! We really appreciate the kind things you said about the cleanliness and views. Natashia will be thrilled that her hard work and dedication has been recognized in such a great way. Thank you again and we really look forward to welcoming you back! Safe travels!

Sincerely,
Megan Meehan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (357)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

182 - 188 of 357 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2014

I came here for a work visit and it was pleasant enough - but some real drawbacks. No wi-fi in the hotel despite advertising to the contrary. Their solution (instead of fixing the problem during my three day stay) was to have me work in the lobby. Not the most effective conference call location! Great location - but probably best to avoid until they get some of their internal issues resolved.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmeehanDurango, General Manager at Durango Downtown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Dear John P.

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. I appreciate your candor and take your concerns very seriously. I assure you that if the front desk agent was able to fix the problem he or she would have. We find the trouble with the WIFI as frustrating as the guests do and have put in several calls to the service provider to fix the problem in the area your room was located. During the time of the stay we were waiting on a technician from the service provider. The front desk wanted to inform you that our advertised Wi-Fi was available in the lobby, so you could have something during your stay in spite of the unfortunate trouble. I cannot apologize enough that your work was disrupted and assure you that we are working diligently to ensure that the problem does not happen again. Thank you for the kind things you said about the hotel and I hope that you will be able to join us again in the near future. Safe travels!


Sincerely,
Megan Meehan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

An older hotel (smaller rooms, small bathrooms) but well maintained and super clean. No breakfast, but 24 hour oatmeal, coffee, tea, and energy bars in the lobby. Great indoor pool and hot tub. Applebees on site. Great location close to downtown and the D & S NG rail depot and immediately on the Aminas river trail. Pets allowed (rare in Durango) with a $10/nite charge. Most of the hotels in Durango tend to be old dumps (experience talking here). Anything nice tends to be way overpriced.

Room Tip: Want to see the river? Ask for river view, upstairs. Your view will be across the narrow parking lot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Freethr0w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmeehanDurango, General Manager at Durango Downtown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Dear FreeThr0w,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property. We really appreciate all of the nice things that you said about us. We take so much pride in the cleanliness of the hotel it is great when our guest acknowledge the effort! I love the picture you posted- looks like you had a great day of relaxing in our courtyard. Thank you again for all of the kind words and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,
Megan Meehan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We recently stayed at the Durango Downtown Inn for the first time. Great location. Enjoyed restaurants, shopping, and the Saturday Farmers market...all within walking distance. You can get to the narrow gauge railroad station by walking. Hotel staff was very nice in suggesting restaurants, brew houses, breakfast places to try on the main streets also. Not a luxurious hotel, but clean, value priced, and worth the stay. There is an Applebee's restaurant next door. Easy self park near room entrances and stairways.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreatDayTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmeehanDurango, General Manager at Durango Downtown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Dear Great Day Traveling,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We really are glad that you were able to enjoy so much of Durango and thank you for letting everyone know how conveniently located we are for experiencing all of those things. We look forward to your next visit! Safe travels!

Sincerely,
Megan Meehan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2014

The doubletree next door wanted to charge us $239 for one night! We came across the durango downtown inn. We were sceptical at first, but the attention that housekeeping pays to detail really impressed us. We definitely like the location and everyone that works there is very nice. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmeehanDurango, General Manager at Durango Downtown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We take great pride in the cleanliness of the hotel and really appreciate it when people notice. We are looking forward to welcoming you back when you return to Durango. Thank you again and safe travels!

Sincerely,
Megan Meehan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

This hotel is a block from downtown and a few feet from the river. Hotel is very pet friendly . A restaurant is attached and 20 others within walking distance. Hotel is very good at allowing early admittance.

Room Tip: Weekday stays are about half the weekend rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Russell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmeehanDurango, General Manager at Durango Downtown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review the hotel. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. We are definitely happy to assist any guest trying to check in early if we have the room availability. Pets are always welcome at the hotel for a nominal charge of just $10 per pet per night. However, we are also able to accommodate any guests looking for a "pet free" room. Thank you again for the kind words and we really look forward to welcoming you and your pet back in the near future.

Sincerely,
Megan Meehan
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

After a night if camping, 12 mile hike, and freezing windstorm, this hotel provided us with the bare essentials for a reasonable price! Outdoor hotel with small rooms, but clean and comfortable to rest sore muscles with the outdoor adventures Durango and Mancos has to offer!! Attached restaurant and walking distance to mainstreet cafes and shops!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Alison O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmeehanDurango, General Manager at Durango Downtown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2014

Dear Alison,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review the hotel. I am glad that we were able to meet your needs. We get a ton of travelers, like yourself, that are coming back from an exhausting trek in the wonderful wilderness surrounding Durango and we are happy to provide hot showers, comfortable beds and a smiling face to greet you (a soak in our hot tub seems to top it all off). Thank you again and we really look forward to having you back after your next adventure!


Sincerely,

Megan Meehan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
0.6 mi away
Best Western Durango Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Leland House and Rochester Hotel
0.7 mi away
Durango Lodge
Durango Lodge
#20 of 34 in Durango
263 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durango Downtown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durango Downtown Inn

Address: 800 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301-5582
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 34 Hotels in Durango
Price Range: $80 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Durango Downtown Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in historic downtown, Durango Downtown Inn is conveniently located just 1 block off of Historic Main Street. The hotel offers guests the convenience of easy access to shopping, dining, and galleries as well as many exciting activities. The world famous Durango Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad is just 5 short blocks from the hotel and a very easy walk. The beautiful Animas river flows behind the hotel giving guests wonderful scenery as well as a 3 mile river walk. Our indoor pool, Jacuzzi, and fitness center are sure to help you to relax and recharge. The Applebees Neighborhood Grill and Bar offers wonderful food choices for any meal of the day. The Durango Downtown Inn is waiting to take care of your every need and we hope to see you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Durango Downtown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durango Downtown Hotel Durango
Holiday Inn Durango
Durango Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing