We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Durango Downtown Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Durango Downtown Inn
Ranked #19 of 32 Hotels in Durango
UK
Level Contributor
118 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

This hotel was in a good location for walking into town (5 minutes). The room was well equipped, clean and a good size. There was also a laudromat if required. The staff we met were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose+Doris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmeehanDurango, General Manager at Durango Downtown Inn, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and really look forward to welcoming you back when you return to Durango. Thank you again and see you soon!

Sincerely,
Megan Meehan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    134
    77
    31
    13
See reviews for
84
136
14
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Durango Downtown was a really great hotel to stay and is close to the downtown area. Room was a good size and very clean and comfortable. Staff were great. Would have no hesitate to stay here again and will do so in 2015.

Cheers Peter

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmeehanDurango, General Manager at Durango Downtown Inn, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Peter,

Thank you so much for taking the time to say such kind words about our hotel. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay. We really look forward to having you back in 2015, until then safe travels!

Sincerely,
Megan Meehan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mill, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Durango Downtown Inn is nice motel that is within walking distance of the Animas River Trail and old downtown. The price was right and the facility was clean, comfortable, and with walking distance of restaurants and shops. I will stay in the Durango Downtown Inn the next time I am in Durango.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ralph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmeehanDurango, General Manager at Durango Downtown Inn, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Ralph,

Thank you so much for taking the time to say such great things about the hotel. We really appreciate that you would share your experience. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and really look forward to seeing you again soon!

Sincerely,
Megan Meehan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wagga Wagga
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Good value, clean and friendly staff. Very close to downtown and the steam train. We returned after the first good experience. It is nice to be walking distance to all of Downtown Durango? It was great to walk to Jean-Pierre's bakery and cafe for breakfast and dinner. I would certainly recommend the motel.

Room Tip: Good room for the price
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmeehanDurango, General Manager at Durango Downtown Inn, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Helen,

Thank you so much for taking your time to review our hotel. Thank you so much for coming back to see us again after the last time you were here. You are going to be a regular before we know it! Jean Pierre's is such a great place, next time you are here you should try their Crab and Lobster Bisque it is amazing. Thank you again and we are really looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,
Megan Meehan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALLIANCE
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Our room was small in comparison to newer hotels. There was no frig/micro or breakfast. That really didn't matter as we were only there for one night. The room was very clean, The bed/bedding comfy. Pillows were too soft for us. We were able to park right outside our door. There are laundry facilities, cost $1.75 per load for washer and dryer. There are riverside or courtyard rooms that are available for a slightly higher price. We didn't choose this since we were there for only one night and the weather was nasty. Our room was very quiet. We didn't experience any vehicle noise in the morning as the surrounding guests seemed to be on the same late schedule that we were keeping. Front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is within 2 blocks of historic downtown, which would be very helpful considering the parking problem. The river walkway is right behind the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timothy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We booked two nights here hoping to take the train to Silverton. Once we found out the train was completely booked with only random seating throughout the train we asked if we could check out one day early. Brandon was very accommodating. The hotel itself is very nice, Rooms were very clean and large enough. The bathroom is a bit tiny for me. No refrigerator or microwave but there is a coffee maker. Lobby has instant oatmeal , microwave and coffee available 24/7. Attached to the hotel is an Applebee's that serves breakfast. I would visit this hotel again , but I was not a fan of Durango.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy1752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

This was a decent room in an excellent location. It was great to be able to walk into downtown for a good meal and a few beers or to travel on the Durango and Silverton railway. You couldn't get any closer and still get free parking!
The room opened onto the front of the hotel. Although the main road was not far away the double glazing kept the noise to a minimum and did not disturb our sleep. The room wasn't ultra modern but was decorated and furnished to a simple but perfectly adequate standard. The quality of the housekeeping was extremely high. A quirk was that the blackout blinds were almost impossible to close completely. We ended up using the clips on a coat hanger and a chair pushed against the blinds to keep them shut. You could certainly see through the gaps if not! I found the wifi to be fine.
They do not provide breakfast in the room rate but do provide complementary coffee and oatmeal which is a nice touch. The staff was pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baloo42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
0.2 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#6 of 32 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 908 reviews
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
#5 of 32 in Durango
4.0 of 5 stars 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durango Downtown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durango Downtown Inn

Property: Durango Downtown Inn
Address: 800 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301-5582
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 32 Hotels in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Durango Downtown Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in historic downtown, Durango Downtown Inn is conveniently located just 1 block off of Historic Main Street. The hotel offers guests the convenience of easy access to shopping, dining, and galleries as well as many exciting activities. The world famous Durango Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad is just 5 short blocks from the hotel and a very easy walk. The beautiful Animas river flows behind the hotel giving guests wonderful scenery as well as a 3 mile river walk. Our indoor pool, Jacuzzi, and fitness center are sure to help you to relax and recharge. The Applebees Neighborhood Grill and Bar offers wonderful food choices for any meal of the day. The Durango Downtown Inn is waiting to take care of your every need and we hope to see you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Durango Downtown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durango Downtown Hotel Durango
Holiday Inn Durango
Durango Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing