We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Very Nice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Durango Downtown Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Durango Downtown Inn
Ranked #22 of 33 Hotels in Durango
ALLIANCE
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Our room was small in comparison to newer hotels. There was no frig/micro or breakfast. That really didn't matter as we were only there for one night. The room was very clean, The bed/bedding comfy. Pillows were too soft for us. We were able to park right outside our door. There are laundry facilities, cost $1.75 per load for washer and dryer. There are riverside or courtyard rooms that are available for a slightly higher price. We didn't choose this since we were there for only one night and the weather was nasty. Our room was very quiet. We didn't experience any vehicle noise in the morning as the surrounding guests seemed to be on the same late schedule that we were keeping. Front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is within 2 blocks of historic downtown, which would be very helpful considering the parking problem. The river walkway is right behind the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timothy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    139
    82
    34
    14
See reviews for
86
144
14
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

We booked two nights here hoping to take the train to Silverton. Once we found out the train was completely booked with only random seating throughout the train we asked if we could check out one day early. Brandon was very accommodating. The hotel itself is very nice, Rooms were very clean and large enough. The bathroom is a bit tiny for me. No refrigerator or microwave but there is a coffee maker. Lobby has instant oatmeal , microwave and coffee available 24/7. Attached to the hotel is an Applebee's that serves breakfast. I would visit this hotel again , but I was not a fan of Durango.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy1752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

This was a decent room in an excellent location. It was great to be able to walk into downtown for a good meal and a few beers or to travel on the Durango and Silverton railway. You couldn't get any closer and still get free parking!
The room opened onto the front of the hotel. Although the main road was not far away the double glazing kept the noise to a minimum and did not disturb our sleep. The room wasn't ultra modern but was decorated and furnished to a simple but perfectly adequate standard. The quality of the housekeeping was extremely high. A quirk was that the blackout blinds were almost impossible to close completely. We ended up using the clips on a coat hanger and a chair pushed against the blinds to keep them shut. You could certainly see through the gaps if not! I found the wifi to be fine.
They do not provide breakfast in the room rate but do provide complementary coffee and oatmeal which is a nice touch. The staff was pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baloo42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Normanton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

we stayed at the inn in September what a fabulous place. The staff were friendly the room was lovely we had a great stay. Durango is a wonderful place wish we could have stayed longer than the two days we allocated during our road trip around Colorado.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dragonara21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

We opted and paid for an upgrade to a river view room. That was great until a couple of coaches decided to park right opposite our room and start their engines first thing in the morning.
Staff at reception was lovely and very helpful.
Room was fine, small but had all you needed; fridge; coffee maker; wifi etc.
Durango is a lovely place and with plenty of good eateries.
If the steam train goes by, cover your ears as the hoot is loud :-)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Staying here for a family reunion. The staff was excellent. Natasha checked us in and she was superb! The whole staff was very helpful from where to eat to what to do. Will stay again!! The location was perfect since it is in the middle of everything for downtown Durango. With our large group, the hotel was able to accommodate us in that all of our room were right next to each other. The pool area was clean with plenty of pool towels on hand.

Room Tip: Loved the view of the Animas River!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ms N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

Love Durango and decided on this motel due to location to downtown. Should of known better, Durango is not that large and will stay elsewhere next visit. For price should have been a better quality of arrangements available. Stayed two nights and room was cleaned but not restocked so had to go to desk for amenities. Yes exercise room was nice and pool looked alright, Attached to a Applebee's if you like them, but when I travel look for local places not chains. No breakfast buffet offered and rooms lacked updating with simple additions like a mini fridge and microwave. No real great remarks to add to this place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central
0.4 mi away
Durango Lodge
Durango Lodge
#18 of 33 in Durango
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.2 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#10 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durango Downtown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durango Downtown Inn

Property: Durango Downtown Inn
Address: 800 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301-5582
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Durango Downtown Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in historic downtown, Durango Downtown Inn is conveniently located just 1 block off of Historic Main Street. The hotel offers guests the convenience of easy access to shopping, dining, and galleries as well as many exciting activities. The world famous Durango Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad is just 5 short blocks from the hotel and a very easy walk. The beautiful Animas river flows behind the hotel giving guests wonderful scenery as well as a 3 mile river walk. Our indoor pool, Jacuzzi, and fitness center are sure to help you to relax and recharge. The Applebees Neighborhood Grill and Bar offers wonderful food choices for any meal of the day. The Durango Downtown Inn is waiting to take care of your every need and we hope to see you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Durango Downtown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durango Downtown Hotel Durango
Holiday Inn Durango
Durango Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing