We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Riverfront”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Durango Downtown Inn
Ranked #22 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Riverfront”
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Natasha at the front desk was super helpful and nice. Great location, loved the river view. Great prices for the whole stay. I would stay here again. Easy walking distance to Main Street, downtown. ;)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tabtab13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    142
    86
    34
    14
See reviews for
89
148
14
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Places are expensive in Durango (too expensive). We were a bit stuck so didn't have reservations and ended up paying $155 for an off season night at this place. It is a clean but 1970s standard motel, with no amenities that count (no breakfast, poor Wi-Fi, and can be distant parking). Location was very good, but if you don't mind driving a short distance you can do better.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Durango hotels

East Midlands
Level Contributor
352 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Easy to find. Slightly away from the busy town centre of Durango, but close enough to walk in and there's the Animas River outside. A lovely place to walk. Room was plenty big enough and enough space for all our clobber. Bathroom also big enough. We overlooked the courtyard, but it wasn't noisy as the families who used this area put their children to bed early. Reception staff helpful when checked in and happy to answer any questions. Coffee available in reception as well as in the room. Plenty of parking near to room. A laundry room. No restaurant in the hotel, but an Applebees next door if you don't want to walk (or even drive) into town. Tried this for breakfast - one good, one awful. There's so much to do in and around Durango that you aren't likely to spend a lot of time in your room.

Room Tip: Overlooking the courtyard may be quieter than overlooking the car park to judge by some reviewers co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OldieEastMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Great front desk staff at booking and at check-in/Check-out. Room was very clean and comfortable. Very quiet. Still a little high in price but really not bad.

Our room had a microwave/fridge but the other room did not. Check if this is important for your stay.

Only complaint is no vent in bathroom making it pretty steamy after a shower.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This room was extremely loud and for the price the bed sure wasn't worth it. We would not stay here again. There was a group of motorcycle riders below us and they fired up at the crack of dawn and kept coming and going all morning, plus the train sounded like it was coming through our room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karrie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmeehanDurango, General Manager at Durango Downtown Inn, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about the hotel. It really does help to improve the property. We truly apologize that you did not enjoy your stay. You joined us on one of our busiest weekends of the year, the annual 4-Corner's Bike Rally. It is a time when thousands of bikers descend upon the area to enjoy the beautiful rides and events that are set up. If another visitor to the area is not aware that the event is going on I can definitely understand being overwhelmed by the noise the bikes bring. We really do apologize that it had a negative impact on your stay. We hope that you will give both Durango and the hotel another chance during a time that is not so unique, so you can enjoy the tranquility that the beautiful area has to offer. Thank you again for taking the time to submit your review. We use every review as an opportunity to get better. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Thank you and have a great day!

Sincerely,
Megan Meehan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The Downtown Inn is in a great location, close to all the downtown activities. Most hotels near the downtown area are historic hotels, so they're antique, old fashioned style. Even though I like that there are these types of hotels in the city, I appreciate the modern comforts. I really appreciate the staff here, they are all so helpful and nice!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Misarte67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salida, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I booked this hotel 4 months ahead. The rate was $152 a night which I thought was expensive but wanted to be close to the Durango-Silverton train depot. When we arrived, check in was a breeze, the room was exactly what I had reserved. Plus, when I mentioned the 20% off 2 nights online ad I had seen that morning, the desk clerk reduced our rate to $87 a night for both nights! What a great surprise, more shopping money for my daughter & I!!! The room was very clean, beds super comfortable, I will stay again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tamara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.7 mi away
Durango Lodge
Durango Lodge
#19 of 33 in Durango
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
0.3 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#5 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
0.3 mi away
Rochester Hotel & Bar
Rochester Hotel & Bar
#10 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Durango Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durango Downtown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durango Downtown Inn

Property: Durango Downtown Inn
Address: 800 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301-5582
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Durango Downtown Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in historic downtown, Durango Downtown Inn is conveniently located just 1 block off of Historic Main Street. The hotel offers guests the convenience of easy access to shopping, dining, and galleries as well as many exciting activities. The world famous Durango Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad is just 5 short blocks from the hotel and a very easy walk. The beautiful Animas river flows behind the hotel giving guests wonderful scenery as well as a 3 mile river walk. Our indoor pool, Jacuzzi, and fitness center are sure to help you to relax and recharge. The Applebees Neighborhood Grill and Bar offers wonderful food choices for any meal of the day. The Durango Downtown Inn is waiting to take care of your every need and we hope to see you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Durango Downtown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durango Downtown Hotel Durango
Holiday Inn Durango
Durango Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing