We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value walking distance to downtown”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Durango Downtown Inn
Ranked #22 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Boulder, Colorado, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great value walking distance to downtown”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

In Durango, you have basically two choices: very expensive, elegant hotels on Main Ave. or ordinary hotels on Camino Del Rio. But I think this is the only one on Camino Del Rio that is truly 2 block's walking distance to Main Ave. The rooms are clean and comfortable and basic. I think it is the best value in Durango. We stayed on the "river side" so that we would be farther away from the main road as recommended by other reviews on Trip Advisor. We did not hear any noise, and I don't know what it would have been like on the other side. The downside to this is that they only have rooms with 2 double beds on this side. I wish they would put some king beds in some of those rooms.

Room Tip: River side rooms. Reserve multiple nights for a discounted price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    144
    91
    37
    15
See reviews for
93
154
14
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2013

2nd Floor rooms were comfortable but sparse. Stayed 3 Nights. There were 23 of Us thru out the Hotel. The Staff treated us Respect . Coffee was available 24 hours, European type Breakfast. Staff was Knowledgeable of the Area. Geezers Motor Cycle Club.

Room Tip: Choose an Upstairs room, Park your Bike in Fronnt
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnE435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witney, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Stayed for one night in June in a river view room on the first floor. Room was motel style and fine for our needs for one night. Big room and looked out onto the river. Had asked for a second floor room on the booking but settled for first floor- although view is probably nicer upstairs! That said, we didn't spend much time in the room at all. Hotel is in a great location for downtown and all it has to offer and the train station. We loved Durango itself and wished we could have stayed longer. My other half had a morning run along the river trail and loved it. I visited the indoor pool and hot tub and was the only person there. Nice and clean, and I met who I presume was the manager, with a Papillon dog- really friendly people.

I would probably recommend the river side of the property as it does overlook a reasonably busy road the other side. Go and explore downtown- only 5 minutes walk across the main road. Ore House did great food and cocktails!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank EssJayWhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
2 reviews
Reviewed July 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights over the 4th of July weekend. It is pricey, but the location was worth it for us. We were able to walk downtown each night for dinner and also walk down to the river to go tubing. We were close to everything! We even watched the fireworks right from the hotel. Our check in was smooth and when we decided to stay an extra night, things got a little messed up, but Austin at the front desk was great and cleared everything up for us. He was very helpful. This definitely wasn't the best hotel I've stayed at, but the room was clean and we really enjoyed the location. We'd stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stei0419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg,Fl
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Stayed two nights the last week in June. Check-in/out was smooth. Rooms were large enough in our opinion and well equipped. The shower noise mentioned in another review is an aspect of motel life. Liked being able to sit by the river. Attached Applebee's was a plus and everything we wanted to do was within walking distance. Yeah, it's a bit pricey but we were satisfied with everything and ,of course, we had the option of not staying there. Didn't use the pool but it looked great.
If you go to the Durango train be sure to stop at the little bagel shop just to the left of the station.
Really great and was suggested by our check-in person.
.

Room Tip: Ask for the river side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bsaylor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmeehanDurango, General Manager at Durango Downtown Inn, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to say such nice things about our hotel. We are so glad that you enjoyed it. We really look forward to seeing you back in the near future! Thank you again and have a great day.

Sincerely,
Megan Meehan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

Great location beats being on the main street with the masses of people and vehicle noise. Pool and hot tub were very nice but could have been cleaner. Room is dated but not smelly or dirty. Staff was superior in attention.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rdtf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Staff was friendly. The rooms are outdated. You can hear just about anything from the rooms next to you and from the outside. Our rate was about $140, totally not worth what you are paying for. This hotel is pet friendly, $10 per pet, per night.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Durango hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
0.6 mi away
Best Western Durango Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central
0.3 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#6 of 33 in Durango
461 reviews
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
#5 of 33 in Durango
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durango Downtown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durango Downtown Inn

Property: Durango Downtown Inn
Address: 800 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301-5582
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Durango Downtown Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in historic downtown, Durango Downtown Inn is conveniently located just 1 block off of Historic Main Street. The hotel offers guests the convenience of easy access to shopping, dining, and galleries as well as many exciting activities. The world famous Durango Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad is just 5 short blocks from the hotel and a very easy walk. The beautiful Animas river flows behind the hotel giving guests wonderful scenery as well as a 3 mile river walk. Our indoor pool, Jacuzzi, and fitness center are sure to help you to relax and recharge. The Applebees Neighborhood Grill and Bar offers wonderful food choices for any meal of the day. The Durango Downtown Inn is waiting to take care of your every need and we hope to see you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Durango Downtown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durango Downtown Hotel Durango
Holiday Inn Durango
Durango Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing