We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Durango Downtown Inn
Ranked #23 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Reviewed February 20, 2013

The hotel is located in a very convenient location just a few blocks from the downtown area. Everything is within walking distance. An Applebee's is attached; however, we shy away from chain restaurants and did not eat/drink there. The pool/hot tub were being updated; therefore, the staff provided free tickets to Trimble Hot Springs. This was a great substitute; however, the second day we requested the tickets, they were out and did not have any available the following day either. Arrangements should have been made between the 2 managements to ensure that guests were accommodated if that is what is stated. Room was clean. Only negative is the square pillows. Overstuffed and square just doesn't make for a good night's sleep.

Room Tip: Rooms looking over the Animas River have better view; however, I believe the hotel charges more
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smatso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (355)
There are newer reviews for Durango Downtown Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

244 - 250 of 355 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is a fine hotel; rooms are standard but comfortable. The location is why you want this one. On the backside is a river. On the front (across a slightly busy road) is downtown. You are 2-3 blocks from all the good storefronts and restaurants, which makes your Durango visit very convenient. The only problem I had was that the hot tub wasn't functional, and since I booked through a travel website, I didn't know that ahead of time (kind of the main reason I wanted to stay here). Other than that, I had a great stay and I'm sure you will too.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulieweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

The staff at this hotel is wonderful. They let us check in early. The pet fee was only $10 which is cheaper than most hotels. The location is also great. Walking distance to downtown. However, the cleanliness of the rooms are horrible. Hair on the toilet seat, towels are worn, and carpet is dirty and faded. This hotel needs a lot of upgrading and renovation.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amber_lauree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

we stayed for a week over Thanksgiving and had a room facing the interior courtyard (across from the indoor pool) towards the back of the property which was perfect for access to our car and THE RIVER! this hotel backs up to the Animas River and has easy access to trails for walking/biking. we had Thanksgiving dinner at the DoubleTree which was a quick walk on the trail from Durango Downtown Inn and as it was right at dusk, we saw ~10 deer drinking water and then ran up the cliff on the other side.

1) location was perfect! you're a block from Main St and all the shops and restaurants; as well as a quick walk to the train station (we took a ride on the Polar Express). it's right off of 550 and 160 so it's almost impossible to get lost and we took day trips to Silverton (north on 550) and Four Corners/Mesa Verde (west on 160). we also drove around town a few different times to explore and it's close to 2 parks, a library, shops, restaurants, quick trip to Walmart, etc. plenty of places to eat (head to Oscar's Cafe in the little shopping center across the street for a GIANT breakfast and a taste of the local vibe).

2) we paid ~$100/night on hotels.com so it was worth the quality - i wouldn't pay full BAR for this place. it has an Applebees on site, but no free brekky; although they do offer oatmeal and coffee, i think. wifi was free, but you have to reestablish connection every 24 hrs.

3) we had 2 dbl bds with myself, my husband and 2 young boys and it was kinda tight. no biggie considering we were always out and about, but i wish we would've gotten the connecting room for sleeping as the dbl beds were TEENY! and not very comfy. very hard beds. also, the pillows were SMALL. like throw pillows on a couch. it was weird and awkward to sleep on. room was nice enough and clean. we had a fridge and a microwave which helped immensely!!! not sure if that's standard in all rooms, but it made a big difference with us.

4) maid service was prompt and thorough, but they came to our door at 830a two days in a row. no bueno. chill out. you're not a biz hotel and it was a holiday week. they did do a really good job of cleaning up the rooms and it was always refreshing to come back to :) they forgot to leave towels once, but that's no biggy. the soaps/shampoo/lotion they use are from The Body Shop and don't completely suck.

5) the AC/Heating unit was a big issue with us. there's not temp control/thermostat so you're either burning hot or freezing cold. we got up at least twice a night to turn off the heat and/or turn it back on (we had lows in the 20s when we were there). it was annoying!!!!

6) staff was really nice and helpful. that whole town had excellent customer service which did not go unnoticed :)

7) it's pet friendly!!! we didn't bring our girls (we'd definitely have had to get a connecting room if so), but it was great to see EVERYONE bringing their pets! seriously, this town has got to be the most petcentric place i've ever visited - was great!

all in all, definitely worth a stay! all my complaints are small (except the heating issue. boo on that.) and i'm really glad we stayed here. as this was our first trip to Durango and we def plan on returning, i can see ourselves staying here again for sure. we might check out the Strater or the DoubleTree to compare, but i would definitely recommend this one!

Room Tip: ask for rooms in the back by the river!
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank despidoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

I love this hotel. It is just a hop and a skip to main street with tons of restaurants and clubs. My boyfriend and I frequent Durango as our getaway town and stay at the Durango Downtown Inn every time. Its super close to everything so walking/stumbling back to the room is easy. Its right on the rivertrail and has applebees connected to it. They'll bring late night orders straight to your room too. Also has a jacuzzi and sauna, heated indoor pool too. The staff always recognize us and continue to give us a great experiance every time we're here. Even if you just need a place to crash for the night so you can enjoy a night on the town, this is the place.

Room Tip: Riverside doubles have a sweet view, especially in the winter when the river is steaming
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Josephine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

The Durango Downtown Inn's biggest asset is its location. It is on Camino Del Rio and right on the Animas River. The Animas River Trail passes by it. Durango's downtown is a few blocks away.

Other than that, my room was clean, but otherwise unspectacular. The absence of a refrigerator or a microwave was a minus.

I would have given this a 3.5 if fractional ratings were possible. Rounding up because of the location.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ek_yayavar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

The Downtown Inn was an excellent place for our family to stay. Great location, enjoyed the river walk and walking down Main Street..only 2 blocks away. The rooms were clean and the staff very friendly and helpful. We had 2 rooms that joined, which made it perfect with the children. Our granddaughter enjoyed the heated, indoor pool. Having Applebee's on the premises made for a great lunch. We travel with our little dog and this hotel accomadates pets. We will be back!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swhtice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
0.6 mi away
Best Western Durango Inn & Suites
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
#7 of 33 in Durango
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
0.7 mi away
Durango Lodge
Durango Lodge
#20 of 33 in Durango
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durango Downtown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durango Downtown Inn

Address: 800 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301-5582
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Price Range: $97 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Durango Downtown Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in historic downtown, Durango Downtown Inn is conveniently located just 1 block off of Historic Main Street. The hotel offers guests the convenience of easy access to shopping, dining, and galleries as well as many exciting activities. The world famous Durango Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad is just 5 short blocks from the hotel and a very easy walk. The beautiful Animas river flows behind the hotel giving guests wonderful scenery as well as a 3 mile river walk. Our indoor pool, Jacuzzi, and fitness center are sure to help you to relax and recharge. The Applebees Neighborhood Grill and Bar offers wonderful food choices for any meal of the day. The Durango Downtown Inn is waiting to take care of your every need and we hope to see you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Durango Downtown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durango Downtown Hotel Durango
Holiday Inn Durango
Durango Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing