We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, staff and room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Durango Downtown Inn
Ranked #22 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great location, staff and room”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We arrived late into Durango after finishing the Colorado Trail, and all we wanted was a hot shower and a clean bed. The staff was helpful in quickly getting us a room, didn't balk at our hiker appearance, and the rooms were clean and comfortable. The hotel was also a five minute walk to all the shops and restaurants in town, at a cost that was just slightly more than hotels that were a few miles out of town. It's also next to a paved trail that extends 7 miles through the city and beyond, so it has great access for running, walking, or biking outside.
Given that the facility itself is a bit outdated, the staff does a good job of keeping a high level of service and cleanliness and comfort in the rooms.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    143
    88
    35
    14
See reviews for
89
151
14
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed in Durango for 2 nights in September. We were not expecting the city to be as busy as it was, so we did not make reservations. The front desk staff was very helpful in accommodating us even though we showed up late during a busy weekend. Our room was clean and comfortable, even had a flat screen tv. Our kids loved the indoor pool, we loved the view of the river outside our balcony. Downtown was easy to get to, walking distance, and the ladies at the front desk showed us two great spots to have dinner and a local beer, Carvers and Steamworks. My son is studying German to study abroad and was very surprised to be able to practice with the front desk girl who is fluent in the language! Everything about our stay was more than enjoyable, we will definitely be coming back soon!

Room Tip: Riverside rooms are wonderful! Top floor allows for a great view off a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Dakota
Level Contributor
89 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Stayed here for one night as we were flying back to ND. I wanted to be close to downtown and this was our only option under $200. We did not spend a lot of time in the room but it met our needs and was very clean.

The front desk staff were very helpful.
There is an Applebees attached to the property!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetotraveltami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San diego
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 7, 2012

I came to Durango to meet up with a friend for The four corners motorcycle rally. Booked room online. And was So pleasantly surprised by the standard of the staff , the courtyard and room most importantly.
The stay made my trip memorable and comfortable ! Will be. Back next year !
Yoli

Room Tip: Cheap tickets.com took care of it all flight,room and car. The auto insurance for full coverage 7 d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yolanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

I stayed here over Labor Day weekend. The check in staff was very friendly. I was pleasantly surprised because they were college age kids. The room was very clean. The bedding and decor was modern. Nice flat screen TV. The location is about 2 blocks from Downtown area attractions. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eggmandingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I stayed here with my daughter. The hotel is in a great location as far as walking distance to downtown. The pool, hot tub and sauna are indoors. There were no towels left for us to use and the front desk did not provide us anymore even after we asked. We ended up walking back to our room wet. We stepped into the dry sauna to dry off a bit first. the room did not have a refrigerator. That surprised me. Very clean though.

Room Tip: Ask if they have rooms with refrigerators
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Biglaugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucson, az
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We were very happy with the cleanliness of the room and the location of the hotel. We were able to walk to the Main Street center of town.
The rooms were recently redone in very tasteful fabrics/furniture and furnishings.
The only drawback to the room was the carpet showld have been replaced with another material. The p.m.front dest clerk (Brandon?) was just as nice as could be and was easy to
work with.
Great value for the money!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank topcattc7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
0.7 mi away
Durango Lodge
Durango Lodge
#20 of 33 in Durango
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Best Western Durango Inn & Suites
0.3 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#7 of 33 in Durango
452 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durango Downtown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durango Downtown Inn

Property: Durango Downtown Inn
Address: 800 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301-5582
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Durango Downtown Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in historic downtown, Durango Downtown Inn is conveniently located just 1 block off of Historic Main Street. The hotel offers guests the convenience of easy access to shopping, dining, and galleries as well as many exciting activities. The world famous Durango Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad is just 5 short blocks from the hotel and a very easy walk. The beautiful Animas river flows behind the hotel giving guests wonderful scenery as well as a 3 mile river walk. Our indoor pool, Jacuzzi, and fitness center are sure to help you to relax and recharge. The Applebees Neighborhood Grill and Bar offers wonderful food choices for any meal of the day. The Durango Downtown Inn is waiting to take care of your every need and we hope to see you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Durango Downtown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durango Downtown Hotel Durango
Holiday Inn Durango
Durango Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing