We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Wouldn't stay here again” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of EconoLodge Inn & Suites - Durango

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
EconoLodge Inn & Suites - Durango
Ranked #24 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Secaucus, New Jersey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wouldn't stay here again”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

I've stayed at 3 Econolodge hotels on this trip. The one in Durango was by far the worst.

Pros
Friendly front desk staff was very helpful
Decent enough bed

Cons:
Very small room. The king sized bed occupied most of the room.
Though there was a large closet, there wasn't a light in it. To find things , you needed a flashlight.
Small bathroom with a tiny sink. There was no place for toiletries except for the window sill.
Electrical socket in bathroom was marked "No Ground"
No iron/ironing board or hair dryer
No pool
Standard rooms lack a fridge/microwave
Cable TV doesn't receive NBC or CBS.
Single Wi-Fi access point in the office provided a very weak signal and a poor connection in our room. I ended using my cell phone as a hot spot so that I could get email.
Worst breakfast of the 3 Econolodges we booked. Only hot item was the Waffle station. Other properties have had eggs, one or two meat items, and fresh fruit. The bread/bagels looked like they had been there a while, and no one ate them. The room was small and cramped, and people had to sit on bar stools at a narrow counter.

We actually decided to leave Durango a night early in part because of the motel.

We're at a Comfort Suite in Santa Fe. It's FAR superior. I'll post a separate review in a day or two.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank craiger953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehjut, Manager at EconoLodge Inn & Suites - Durango, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
I am very sorry to hear that your stay was less than enjoyable. I wish that any or all of these issues would have been brought to my attention during your stay so we could have fixed them for you. We could have possibly moved you into a larger suite with a microwave and fridge as well as a large vanity. Also, hair dryers and irons are always available to our guest upon request. We do, in fact, have NBC on channel 12 and CBS on channel 13 on every television at our hotel. I do apologize for any difficulty you may have had in finding these channels. As far as breakfast we do go above and beyond the typical continental breakfast and do not advertise a “hot breakfast”. I do agree the that upper mid-scale brand Comfort Suites, with their hot breakfast, is an excellent place to stay for those seeking the additional amenities commonly found at a mid-scale hotel.

Sincerely,

Earl Jack
Assistant General Manager
EconoLodge - Durango
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    27
    38
    24
    22
See reviews for
41
50
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aguilera2122
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

Great room. Second floor. View of Main Street and mountains in the distance. Only drawback: you can hear every noise; neighbors, street sweepers at 4 am, garbage truck 6 am, traffic all night, kids (soccer tournament during our visit). Breakfast room was very small, when you enter people actually have to pivot or walk out of area to let you in.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sparklypixiedust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

We stayed there over spring break.Great location, great staff, clean rooms, bed's where very comfortable loved their pillows, .The kids had fun making waffles in the morning. Look forward to next year.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lp4adp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehjut, Manager at EconoLodge Inn & Suites - Durango, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us! Our breakfast does far exceed a typical continental breakfast and includes- waffles, hot and cold cereal, cinnamon raisin bread, wheat toast, two kinds of bagels, milk, juice and coffee among other things. We look forward to serving you again next spring break!

Earl Jack
Assistant General Manager
EconoLodge - Durango
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jemez Pueblo, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

Great location, Comfortable beds, super friendly front desk folks, reasonable price. No hot water the first morning of my stay. Plenty the next morning. Traffic noise is pretty loud in the rooms. NO hair dryer, iron, coffee pot...NOTHING in the rooms. Coffee isn't bad in the breakfast room.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehjut, Manager at EconoLodge Inn & Suites - Durango, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Thanks for sharing your recent experience at with us. We are the closest hotel on the north side to downtown and most guests do enjoy our Simmons Beautyrest pillowtop mattresses. Hair dyers, irons and coffee makers are standard in all of our suites and for all of our guests hair dryers and irons are available upon request. We are also more than happy to brew a pot of coffee in the lobby at any time for our guests

Earl Jack
Assistant General Manager
EconoLodge - Durango
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
192 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed at the Econo Lodge in Durango Colorado a few weeks ago. Earl was at the front desk and was very helpful. The place is worn and could use some fresh paint and new carpeting, but the price is what attracted us to stay there. As long as the beds are OK, the room quiet and the shower hot, I am a happy traveler.

Room Tip: Short drive to the center of Durango
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank JRenfrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehjut, Manager at EconoLodge Inn & Suites - Durango, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are please you enjoyed our Simmons Beautyrest pillowtop mattresses. I am pleased to say that all of our rooms were freshly painted last year and that all of our bathrooms will be newly renovated in time for this years summer season. Again, thank you for your review.

Earl Jack
Assistant General Manager
EconoLodge - Durango
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

The service, personal assistance we received was great. Earl made our stay so much better by his friendliness and willingness to help with directions and information. His actions with helping us book the Durango to Silverton train ride made our trip easier. His personal experiences helped with our decision making on an experience we will never forget, much, much better. The room was decent in size and cleanliness but a little dated. Cost seemed to be in the average range for this area. Location was fine and the local transportation was just down the street.

Room Tip: Stayed tucked in a corner room and did not have any noise problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehjut, Manager at EconoLodge Inn & Suites - Durango, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your trip on the Durango and Silverton Narrow Gauge Rail Road and your stay with us! Myself and all the staff really do strive to provide our guests with highest level of customer service. Thanks for taking the time to write a review.

Earl Jack
Assistant General Manager
EconoLodge - Durango
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
157 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Room was clean, staff was cordial, the location was close to town.
The room showed its age and needs updating. Cracks in the bathroom floor, creaky floor in front of the bath room and a very outdated thermostat and temp control.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehjut, Manager at EconoLodge Inn & Suites - Durango, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
We do our best to provide our guest with a great stay at one of the most competitive rates in town. Our location, the closest hotel on the north side to downtown, is also very convenient for our guests.

Earl Jack
Assistant General Manager
EconoLodge - Durango
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
#5 of 33 in Durango
4.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
1.4 mi away
Knights Inn Durango CO
Knights Inn Durango CO
#2 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
2.5 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Iron Horse Inn
Iron Horse Inn
#12 of 33 in Durango
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
1.3 mi away
Residence Inn Durango
Residence Inn Durango
#17 of 33 in Durango
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to EconoLodge Inn & Suites - Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about EconoLodge Inn & Suites - Durango

Property: EconoLodge Inn & Suites - Durango
Address: 2002 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — EconoLodge Inn & Suites - Durango 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your EconoLodge Inn & Suites - Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Durango
Durango Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing