We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Right price, needs updating” 3 of 5 stars
Review of EconoLodge Inn & Suites - Durango

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
EconoLodge Inn & Suites - Durango
Ranked #22 of 32 Hotels in Durango
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
122 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Right price, needs updating”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Room was clean, staff was cordial, the location was close to town.
The room showed its age and needs updating. Cracks in the bathroom floor, creaky floor in front of the bath room and a very outdated thermostat and temp control.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dpd0843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehjut, Manager at EconoLodge Inn & Suites - Durango, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
We do our best to provide our guest with a great stay at one of the most competitive rates in town. Our location, the closest hotel on the north side to downtown, is also very convenient for our guests.

Earl Jack
Assistant General Manager
EconoLodge - Durango
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    26
    34
    22
    22
See reviews for
37
48
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

This was the least expensive place we could find in Durango, and considering that, it was very good. The rooms were clean, the breakfast basic, but good, and the service excellent. Sam at the front desk was very attentive; when I called and asked for a blow dryer, he was at our door in minutes and brought one.
Our stay was in between seasons, so the heat was not working yet, and it got a bit chilly overnight. Also, the property faces the highway, so we could hear the traffic. For me, the big drawback was that there was no pool, but I knew that beforehand.
If you are looking for a place wihout luxuries, but with the basics and friendly service, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suby88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehjut, Manager at EconoLodge Inn & Suites - Durango, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
It is good to hear you enjoyed your stay and found Sam to be so accommodating. We do strive to provide our guests with the best possible value at a great rate. We look forward to serving you again on your next trip to Durango.

Earl Jack
Assistant General Manager
EconoLodge - Durango
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

This is a very basic motel, but more importantly, it was clean and reasonably priced. We were surprised that a light breakfast was also included... Loved the raisin toast and cream cheese! What a pleasant and friendly person Earl is! After hours on the road a welcoming smile and positive attitude is so appreciated. When we asked him to suggest a place to eat, he offered several. We chose the Texas BarBQ and were happy with the food and price. In a tourist town like Durango, it is refreshing to find a clean, inexpensive room. Only complaint....would like firmer pillows.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehjut, Manager at EconoLodge Inn & Suites - Durango, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
So glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! All of our staff members try hard to assist our guests and be ready to offer helpful area suggestions. Again, we are pleased you found our hotel to be just what you need along the road.

Earl Jack
Assistant General Manager
EconoLodge - Durango
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wickenburg, Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We checked in and it was very busy. There was a sign in the room about the heat not turned on until October and the AC on from April- Oct. We set the temperature as high as it would go. It was in the 30s overnight. Both of us froze. The sink & tub drained very slow and the toilet had issues. When I complained in the morning I was told there was a sign in the room for us to ask for a space heater. (Neither my husband or I saw the sign) Apparently we could have called and gone down to the office & got a space heater. If the management knew there was a problem, they should have place a space heater in each room. The heat/cooling should depend on the weather not the calendar.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank northwestgirl777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehjut, Manager at EconoLodge Inn & Suites - Durango, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
I do apologize for your experience. You happened to stay at our hotel just days before switching the system over to heat for the winter. A phone call to the front desk and we would have been happy to bring a space heater to your room to ensure you were nice and toasty. Any time a guest has a concern please call the front desk right away. Usually, we can solve what ever the problem happens to be on the spot.

Earl Jack
Assistant General Manager
EconoLodge - Durango
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Durango hotels

Carthage, Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Place was clean and ready...after days on the road rooms begin to look the same. This room was large so it gave us room to really stretch out. Frig...two big beds...clean bath. Earl at the desk made the difference. He acted like he really cared if we stayed there! When there was no hair dryer in the room, I called and he offered to bring one himself. I can't comment on the breakfast as we slept through it! Guess that says room was comfy!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bookie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehjut, Manager at EconoLodge Inn & Suites - Durango, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
We are so pleased you enjoyed your recent stay!!! All our our staff really do above and beyond to make sure our guests have a comfortable stay. Thanks again for the review.

Earl Jack
Assistant General Manager
EconoLodge - Durango
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
182 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We had a great stay here with 2 adults, 2 teens and a toddler. Plenty of room and comfortable and easy access to everything. Front staff was friendly. Breakfast was better than most continental. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rowley848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehjut, Manager at EconoLodge Inn & Suites - Durango, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
We are very pleased you enjoyed your recent stay at our property. With 2 king beds and a pull out sofa, the 2 king suite is by far our most spacious room. It is truly a great value for large familes or small groups traveling together. Again thank you so much for taking time to post your review. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Durango.

Earl Jack
Assistant General Manager
EconoLodge - Durango
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
181 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Durango has higher rates -- Econo Lodge is not as expensive as some ($112) but really its not that good. -- the rooms are outdated -- the ac/heating needs to be updated -- it did not cool very well and we had to pull the fan in the closet out to circulate air. -- breakfast was okay -- if you can afford it, I would look for a better location.

The upside is that it was located close to the Trolley Pick up to go downtown.

Room Tip: not much traffic at night on the main street when it would be normal bed time
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler11California
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehjut, Manager at EconoLodge Inn & Suites - Durango, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thanks you so much for taking the time to post a review. We do strive to offer our guests a very competitive rate for Durango area. In addition to a trolley pick up directly across the street from the hotel, we are also the closest hotel on the north side to downtown. You're right even during peak season the traffic really dies down in the evenings. While not a “full hot breakfast, our breakfast does far exceeds a typical continental breakfast and includes- waffles, hot and cold cereal, cinnamon raisin bread, wheat toast, two kinds of bagels, milk, juice and coffee among other things.

Earl Jack
Assistant General Manager
EconoLodge - Durango
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
1.4 mi away
Knights Inn Durango CO
Knights Inn Durango CO
#2 of 32 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 99 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
#5 of 32 in Durango
4.0 of 5 stars 432 reviews
0.9 mi away
Durango Downtown Inn
Durango Downtown Inn
#19 of 32 in Durango
3.5 of 5 stars 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Spanish Trails Inn and Suites
1.3 mi away
Residence Inn Durango
Residence Inn Durango
#16 of 32 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 237 reviews
1.2 mi away
Durango Lodge
Durango Lodge
#18 of 32 in Durango
4.0 of 5 stars 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to EconoLodge Inn & Suites - Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about EconoLodge Inn & Suites - Durango

Property: EconoLodge Inn & Suites - Durango
Address: 2002 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301-4635
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 32 Hotels in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — EconoLodge Inn & Suites - Durango 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Choice Hotels so you can book your EconoLodge Inn & Suites - Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Durango
Durango Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing