We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Decent stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quality Inn Durango

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Quality Inn Durango
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
NM
Level Contributor
60 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Decent stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

This is an older motel and the room is somewhat small. However, it is clean and the price is reasonable. There is no on-site laundry facility but there is a laundromat nearby. Note that this motel is a few miles north of downtown Durango.

Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank brev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    167
    67
    14
    7
See reviews for
132
185
32
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canon City, Colorado, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

While in Durango, Co , the staff here made me feel right at home. I especially want to give a huge kudos to Andrea, the breakfast cook for ALWAYS having such a sunny personality, positive upbeat attitude and a welcoming smile EVEYDAY!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cecil F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityM1, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn Durango, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you so much for all of your wonderful feedback! All of our staff take pride in making every guest as comfortable and welcome as possible. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and it is always great to receive such wonderful comments! We have passed along your praise to Andrea and we hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor VT
Level Contributor
67 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Traveled to Durango for family wedding. This was a great place to stay. The location was close to the trolley which could take you anywhere in town that you wanted to go. I was able to travel by trolley on several occasions.
The breakfast was just wonderful for this quiet little place. Everyday there was a hot specialty and every day bagels, muffins, cereal etc. I was quite amazed at the variety offered. The service was awesome. Everyone was very friendly and wanted to make sure that we were having just the greatest time ever.

I would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank babybatman8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityM1, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn Durango, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! We love having wedding parties come through and enjoy the chance to be a part of such an exciting event. The trolley stop located across the street is a great convenience for our guests, whether they want to explore downtown or simply hitch a ride back from walking the river trail that runs behind the hotel, it is both convenient and most importantly...it's FREE!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

The staff was very nice..... and clean. Ha ha! Yes, I judge places like that. I also find that if a staff member stinks the room will stink. Lol!
At first we thought the pool was green water (from algae) but I think the bottom was just painted that color.
All in all the hotel was good. All the other lesser priced hotels in the area were- disscussing !

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jcat111777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

I stayed here alone for 1 night. The hotel is located at the other end of town fro he downtown area. I was not here on vacation, so it didnt bother me. The front desk stafff was very nice and professional. My room was done an hour early than expected. I didnt use the pool but it looked nice. My room did have an odd smell. I hate to say it, but it smelled like urine. I know motel/hotels are public places though and you come across all types of odors. I liked that it had a refrigerator and the breakfast was pretty darn nice for being complimentary.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Biglaugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityM1, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn Durango, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback. We are always looking for ways to improve our guests' experiences. Our housekeeping, maintenance and inspection staff have been informed of the odor in your room and are going to keep an especially close eye out for any funky smells in the future. We are glad that you were satisfied with our breakfast, as we try very hard to provide our guests with a wide selcetion of good food to start the day out right!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Mike Vice is one of the friendliest people I have ever met in a hotel. He made sure we were always taken care of, answered all of our tourist questions he has probably heard hundreds of times with a smile and pleasant demeanor. He always remembered my name (we were there 3 days), even from the beginning, always asked if we needed anything or if he could do anything for us. Rooms were nice and clean. Pool was small, but there were 2 hot tubs with lots of windows. Breakfast was pretty standard, but there was always someone there, in sight, that made sure everything was stocked. Can't say enough about Mike's help and making sure we were happy to be at the hotel.

Room Tip: Main road in front and Durango train in back. Our rooms were in the back, the train wasn't too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TBAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waverly, KS
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was better than expected - wasn't expecting much since it was the last room I could find in Durango. The best part was watching the train go by as we were swimming the next morning.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blueeyeskms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityM1, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn Durango, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you for leaving leaving feedback about our hotel. We are always searching for ways to better our standards or service. It's so great that you got to enjoy the passing train while swimming! We look forward to your next stay with us in Durango.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
3.2 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango
0.6 mi away
Knights Inn Durango CO
Knights Inn Durango CO
#2 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Durango
Hampton Inn Durango
#3 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
2.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
1.8 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#7 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Durango

Property: Quality Inn Durango
Address: 2930 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301-4243 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Durango
#4 Business Hotel in Durango
#5 Family Hotel in Durango
#6 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Durango 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find yourself surrounded by the beauty of Colorado and the history of Durango when you stay at our Quality Inn(R) hotel near the Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad. Our smoke-free quality hotel in Durango is ideally located less than two miles away from the historic downtown area and is also near a variety of popular attractions like: - Durango Train - Multiple Durango Breweries - Fort Lewis College - Mesa Verde National Park The Animas River area offers a variety of outdoor activities, such as hiking trails, rafting and fishing. Our hotel also offers many packages including: - Brewery -or- Wine - Paddleboards - Cruiser Bikes Relax after an active day or get work done before you head out at our business center with access to copy and fax services. Hold an event at our meeting room, which accommodates up to 30 guests, and take advantage of additional amenities at our Durango hotel like: - Free breakfast - Free WiFi - Free weekday newspaper - Seasonal outdoor pool - Indoor whirlpool All inviting guest rooms feature coffee makers, hair dryers and TVs. You can always depend on our Quality Inn hotel to give you great value. At Durango, CO hotels like ours, you get an affordable hotel with all the amenities you expect, whether on business travel, a weekend getaway or vacation. Book now! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity and Choice Hotels so you can book your Quality Inn Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Durango Hotel Durango
Comfort Inn Durango
Durango Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing