We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Very Good Staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quality Inn Durango

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Quality Inn Durango
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
Level Contributor
116 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Very Good Staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

Had a good one night stay while on a bike ride through Colorado. Our TV did not work in our room and the manager on duty went out of his way to deliver a new one in working order to our room. There is a full blown laundrymat within walking distance and directly across from that a great little brew pub with cold beer to enjoy while you wash your clothes. Rooms were clean and well stocked. The hotel is showing some age, but you can see that the staff is working hard to keep it maintained.

On a bad note: (Not Hotel) If you have trouble with your motorcycle while in town, do not bother to go to "Handlebar Motorsports". I had a wheel bearing going out on me and needed their help. The service manager diagnosed the problem as a very expensive U-joint issue without even looking at my bike. I would not let them change the oil in my lawnmower.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jbooth2099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityM1, General Manager at Quality Inn Durango, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback. We are glad to hear your needs were taken care of and you were able to enjoy some of the amenities near our hotel! We are working to keep our building maintained. Next time you come through the Durango area please check us out again. (P.S. Sorry to hear about the bike shop!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    168
    67
    14
    7
See reviews for
133
185
32
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philly
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

We rolled the dice on tr@v&locity and got the Quality Inn.

The front desk staff was excellent, and took time to help me plan out my micro brewery bar tour and hikes in the area. The free breakfast was nicer than I expected. It was staffed and had some hot choices. The king room had a comfortable bed and decent micro fridge and tv. I will say that the king rooms are on the small side, but they were nice enough and clean. The bathrooms looked remodeled.

The one downside is that if you want to go out downtown it is far to walk. There is the free trolley in season that is handy, plus bus stops close by. Unfortunately two of the micro brews close super early (8:30?!) so keep that in mind.

Room Tip: King rooms were a bit small but nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityM1, General Manager at Quality Inn Durango, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback. The front desk is very knowledgeable about many of the "things to do" here in Durango. For such a small community Durango has 4 microbreweries. Sorry to hear they don't stay open past 8:30PM. We have also upgraded our breakfast and make our own sausage gravy!

We will take your feedback seriously and hope your next stay with us will be as pleasant as this one!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
245 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2012

..as previously mentioned, I stay in Durango a lot, and stay here a lot. "If it's not broken, don't fix it". I always have a good experience here at the Quality Inn. The breakfast is great - lots to choose from. The beds are exceptionally comfortable.

I was upgraded from a Queen single to a double-queen last time. The room was larger, and all was well. I was very impressed with getting a call from the Front Desk about an hour after I checked in to ask if my room was okay. Keep that up !!! That is great PR and Customer Service.

Again, never a problem - Recommend it highly...

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KUMtngal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityM1, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn Durango, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words, they are greatly appreciated. Your comments are always used constructively and thank you for pointing out specific things we do here at the Quality Inn. We look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2012

The room was everything I wanted. Extremely clean,(chemicals a bit strong),very nice flat screen TV,(even a remote with large numbers) microwave, refrigerator, very functional shower, king bed that was very comfortable, along with several small pillows, which I happen to prefer. There was a lot of space for luggage and for hanging clothes. The room could be made very dark, for great sleeping. The heating/AC unit was located in such a spot that the air was not blowing directly on me and the temperature was very constant(not hot one minute and cold the next).
The breakfast was way above average, even biscuits and gravy, and an otherwise fine selection. The breakfast room had complimentary copies of the daily Wall Street Journal.
I have stayed in motels and hotels all over the world, and I have never found a staff more friendly and accommodating. When asked about places to eat, I was shown various menus and given discount coupons for some of the restaurants.
During my stay, I had car problems and was going to have to put the car in a repair shop. When the manager was made aware of this, she volunteered to have someone pick me up at the repair shop and bring me back to the hotel and also to return me to the shop. If necessary, she would have extended the check out time, to accommodate me during the time it took to repair my vehicle. To me, this was "above and beyond" from a service standpoint.
I have stayed at this motel on many occasions and will certainly do so any time I'm in the Durango area.

Room Tip: If one would desire a more quiet room, they could probably request one farther away from the main st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityM1, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn Durango, responded to this review, January 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our motel. We are constantly trying to keep everything up to date here at the Quality Inn. It is such an encouragement to our staff when they hear how a guest’s time with us was made more enjoyable. Glad to hear that we will be seeing you in the future, have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

Stayed here in Nov 2011 after long drive from Santa Fe via Chaco canyone. Booked at the last minute half an hour out of Durango. Staff great, room clean and comfortable. Used the spa - had to open outside door as chemicals a bit strong. Friend traveling with used the pass to the gym around the corner which was handy. Breakfast fine. No complaints at all.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marcia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityM1, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn Durango, responded to this review, January 30, 2012
Good to hear that you had a safe trip into Durango and that your stay was pleasant. We are glad to hear that the Rec Center passes came in handy for you and your friend. There are many things in the Durango area that you can enjoy and we hope to have you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2011

Above all else, what stands out at this hotel is its very friendly and helpful staff. Although it is always challenging traveling with a large family, both the front desk reception and the rest of the staff made sure we felt welcomed and had everything we needed.

The rooms were very clean and had an updated-feel to them. The beds were comfortable and the fold-out bed we had requested in our reservation months before was in the room when we arrived. Even in September, our kids has a great time swimming in their heated pool which overlooks the beautiful Animas River.

The complimentary breakfast was the cherry on top of a great stay. Although we were running a bit late the first morning, the breakfast staff was extremely gracious and friendly and even stayed late to make us all "made to order" breakfasts.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Arae N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityM1, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn Durango, responded to this review, December 30, 2011
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay! We love hearing how different guests find something new to enjoy about our hotel. Thanks for letting us know about your stay, it means so much to us that you had a restful time. As always our staff was glad to have you folks with us and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottsdale,az
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2011

The Quality Inn in Durango was a pleasant surprise. The front desk people were friendly and helpful and even called right after we checked in to see how we liked the room. The rooms were spotless, the breakfast good and our overall stay was enjoyable.

Room Tip: There are two buildings. Ask for the second building which is further away from Main Avenue, which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alhillScottsdale_az
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityM1, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn Durango, responded to this review, December 30, 2011
We are so glad to hear that your stay was good! Our staff here at the Quality Inn always calls to make sure you are satisfied and everything is ok with your room. We are glad you had chosen to stay with us, and hope you will see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
3.2 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango
0.6 mi away
Knights Inn Durango CO
Knights Inn Durango CO
#2 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Durango
Hampton Inn Durango
#3 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
2.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
1.8 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#7 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Durango

Property: Quality Inn Durango
Address: 2930 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301-4243 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Durango
#4 Business Hotel in Durango
#5 Family Hotel in Durango
#6 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Durango 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find yourself surrounded by the beauty of Colorado and the history of Durango when you stay at our Quality Inn(R) hotel near the Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad. Our smoke-free quality hotel in Durango is ideally located less than two miles away from the historic downtown area and is also near a variety of popular attractions like: - Durango Train - Multiple Durango Breweries - Fort Lewis College - Mesa Verde National Park The Animas River area offers a variety of outdoor activities, such as hiking trails, rafting and fishing. Our hotel also offers many packages including: - Brewery -or- Wine - Paddleboards - Cruiser Bikes Relax after an active day or get work done before you head out at our business center with access to copy and fax services. Hold an event at our meeting room, which accommodates up to 30 guests, and take advantage of additional amenities at our Durango hotel like: - Free breakfast - Free WiFi - Free weekday newspaper - Seasonal outdoor pool - Indoor whirlpool All inviting guest rooms feature coffee makers, hair dryers and TVs. You can always depend on our Quality Inn hotel to give you great value. At Durango, CO hotels like ours, you get an affordable hotel with all the amenities you expect, whether on business travel, a weekend getaway or vacation. Book now! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity and Choice Hotels so you can book your Quality Inn Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Durango Hotel Durango
Comfort Inn Durango
Durango Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing