We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“paying for location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
arizona
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“paying for location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

The property overall is very nice. Very expensive. It is starting to show its age a little. I brought a broken step to the attention of the manager by an online review. It was a concrete step which is broken, and sagging. The staff is very helpful, the free breakfast is good. It just is a little bit too expensive, with other nice properties in the area at better rates.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tootall52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you again for the review. Thanks also for letting me know which step you were talking about in the other review that you filled out. I was a bit confused because most of the steps are cast iron and I didn't think that material would sag. We are in our peak season right now and our rates are at the highest point of the year. Every hotel in the downtown area is around the same price point. There are hotels that are outside of the downtown area that are less expensive but you would still have to drive into town and pay for parking. We also include the hot continental breakfast and the cocktails which does save on those costs for you as well. We all hope that you enjoyed your time in Durango and that you have a wonderful summer.

Mary Kay Dobson
970-385-4980
marykay@bwriograndeinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    214
    93
    37
    20
See reviews for
240
256
27
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
217 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

I found The Best Western Durango on Trip Advisor recommendation and it was spot on. All hotels here are overpriced but at least you get some extras here. Rooms are comfortable, clean and quiet. Staff very friendly. The two free cocktails per night and free breakfast are a bonus. Breakfast was very complete with everything from eggs, fruit, cereal etc.
I would come back here in a Manhattan minute.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank AlamosJude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you very much for the outstanding review. We appreciate the positive feedback and are so happy that you will come back if you get the chance. We do have a great property and an extra great staff. We hope that you had a great time in Durango and thank you again for the kind words.

Mary Kay Dobson
970-385-4980
marykay@bwriograndeinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
104 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We were in room 200, one of two huge one bedroom suites with separate living room and dining area. Our room, which was located above the reception area, was quiet. In the living room there was a TV, sofa, coffee table, desk and chair. In the dining area, there was a dinette set, a sink, refrigerator, coffeemaker, and microwave.

The suite shows wear and tear. Time to refurbish and repaint. Time to replace the baseboards, which were dusty.

Crossing the living room, one enters a hallway with the bedroom to the left and the bathroom to the right. Our bedroom had a TV, dresser, a single nightstand, two queen beds, and a safe. The beds were comfortable.

Two sinks are located outside the toilet and shower/tub-jacuzzi area. The bathroom counter was roomy. The bathroom, however, reflected a patch-as-needed caulking job. Very sloppy.

Lighting throughout the suite was bright and there were plenty of outlets to charge our devices.

The breakfast was not exceptional; standard buffet items.

Free Wifi is available. There is also a complimentary desktop in the lobby for guests.

This hotel is within walking distance of Durango's movie theater, the Durango to Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad and museum, and many restaurants and shops.

If this review has the type of info you like to see in a review, please check "Yes," to indicate the review was helpful

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SDAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. Thank you for commending our property and its location. We do appreciate the constructive feedback as it allows us to improve and better serve our guests in the future. I hope you were able to enjoy some of the activities Durango has to offer and I hope to see you again in the future. Thank you again and have a nice day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Great location in downtown--walk everywhere--free drinks at cocktail hour--Rooms very quiet and comfortable--Would recommend to friends--Breakfast was goodPool was nice for kids--staff members very friendly

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1741Gayle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you for providing us with this outstanding review. We are thrilled to hear that you had such a nice stay and enjoyed our location. Please tell all of your friends about us as we would love to have them stay with us. I hope you were able to enjoy Durango and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wethersfield, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Great location in downtown Durango if you prefer to ditch the car and walk to the train station, shops, and restaurants. Rooms were comfortable and quiet (even right outside of the pool area). Continental breakfast had lots of options. Staff were friendly and helpful. If we return to Durango, I would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Hello and thank you for providing us with this survey regarding your recent stay at our property. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the location and the amenities of the hotel. We are very thankful to you for acknowledging our efforts and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

We like staying here with the family. It is nice and close the down town. The whole family can walk to the trail station or down town. There are restaurants within minutes as well. The doors face the pool which I kinda noisy til 9:00 when it closes. They offer a good continental breakfast.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on this site. We have a great location -very walkable to town and the train. I do apologize about the noisy pool area. The kids love it and aren't quiet about it!! We do have quiet time from 9pm until 9am. I am glad that you enjoyed the breakfast. We have been working very hard to improve it over the past year. Again, thank you for the review. Have a great summer.

Mary Kay Dobson
970-385-4980
marykay@bwriograndeinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Checked in to a very friendly staff. After everything went bad. In room safe did not work-television did not work-air conditioner did not work. Spoke with several staff members who were very nice and very apologetic- they offered to move us to another room but it was late and the cable wasn't working in that room either. Our room was very tiny and did not have a balcony as described when we booked it. Pool was closed and after a long day of travel our girls were disappointed they couldn't swim. Mattresses were horrible. Overall, very bad experience.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
I am so sorry that you had problems with your room during your stay. I wish you would have let us relocate you to a different room but I understand that everyone was tired. Our pool is closed from 9pm until 9am so that guests that have rooms in the atrium can sleep. I do apologize that that the kids could not swim later in the evening. We do have the replacement a/c's available and can switch them out very quickly. Someone is here 24 hours a day to make sure that you are comfortable. I only have balconies available in our king bedded rooms, our rooms with the 2 queen beds do not have balconies. I am happy that my staff tried to help out and I apologize again that you were so unhappy with your stay.

Mary Kay Dobson
970-385-4980
marykay@bwriograndeinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
1.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#4 of 32 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 866 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Durango
Hampton Inn Durango
#2 of 32 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 787 reviews
2.1 mi away
Quality Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
#5 of 32 in Durango
4.0 of 5 stars 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
Address: 400 E Second Ave, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Durango
#5 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#5 Business Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn! Located only 1.5 blocks from the Durango & Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad. BEST WESTERN Rio Grande Inn is perfect for the train enthusiasts of all ages. You can leave your vehicle in our parking lot and take a short to the train depot. Free HAPPY HOUR every evening from 5:30 PM to 7:30 PM. Includes(2) complimentary drinks per guest. Free HOT BREAKFAST every morning. Get your day stared right with our extended breakfast: Hot sausage, scrambled eggs, sausage gravy, biscuits, fresh fruit, yogurt, OJ and coffee. Walking distance to world class dining, galleries and amazing shopping. Some guests come for our top notch skiing. Take advantage of our GREAT location and rates when in town for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Best Western + Iniative, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Hotel Durango
Best Western Durango
Durango Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing