We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Nice location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   400 E Second Ave, Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
GET A $50 GIFT CARD
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Great location in downtown--walk everywhere--free drinks at cocktail hour--Rooms very quiet and comfortable--Would recommend to friends--Breakfast was goodPool was nice for kids--staff members very friendly

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1741Gayle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you for providing us with this outstanding review. We are thrilled to hear that you had such a nice stay and enjoyed our location. Please tell all of your friends about us as we would love to have them stay with us. I hope you were able to enjoy Durango and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    214
    92
    37
    20
See reviews for
238
256
27
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wethersfield, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Great location in downtown Durango if you prefer to ditch the car and walk to the train station, shops, and restaurants. Rooms were comfortable and quiet (even right outside of the pool area). Continental breakfast had lots of options. Staff were friendly and helpful. If we return to Durango, I would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Hello and thank you for providing us with this survey regarding your recent stay at our property. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the location and the amenities of the hotel. We are very thankful to you for acknowledging our efforts and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

We like staying here with the family. It is nice and close the down town. The whole family can walk to the trail station or down town. There are restaurants within minutes as well. The doors face the pool which I kinda noisy til 9:00 when it closes. They offer a good continental breakfast.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on this site. We have a great location -very walkable to town and the train. I do apologize about the noisy pool area. The kids love it and aren't quiet about it!! We do have quiet time from 9pm until 9am. I am glad that you enjoyed the breakfast. We have been working very hard to improve it over the past year. Again, thank you for the review. Have a great summer.

Mary Kay Dobson
970-385-4980
marykay@bwriograndeinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Checked in to a very friendly staff. After everything went bad. In room safe did not work-television did not work-air conditioner did not work. Spoke with several staff members who were very nice and very apologetic- they offered to move us to another room but it was late and the cable wasn't working in that room either. Our room was very tiny and did not have a balcony as described when we booked it. Pool was closed and after a long day of travel our girls were disappointed they couldn't swim. Mattresses were horrible. Overall, very bad experience.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
I am so sorry that you had problems with your room during your stay. I wish you would have let us relocate you to a different room but I understand that everyone was tired. Our pool is closed from 9pm until 9am so that guests that have rooms in the atrium can sleep. I do apologize that that the kids could not swim later in the evening. We do have the replacement a/c's available and can switch them out very quickly. Someone is here 24 hours a day to make sure that you are comfortable. I only have balconies available in our king bedded rooms, our rooms with the 2 queen beds do not have balconies. I am happy that my staff tried to help out and I apologize again that you were so unhappy with your stay.

Mary Kay Dobson
970-385-4980
marykay@bwriograndeinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

All aboard! RR next door, free parking, cookies upon arrival, and 2 FREE drinks/ snacks every night! Wait there is more. Killer and yummy breakfast, power bars for you hikers, and FREE laundry to wash out the soot! Most of all AMAZING staff who care, and oh so wonderful rooms!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Joyanna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review. I am glad that you enjoyed our hotel and all that it has to offer. Durango is a great place to visit and our hotel is a great place to stay. Thanks for the kind words and the business.

Mary Kay Dobson
970-385-4980
marykay@bwriograndeinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Canyon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

In our years of staying here the hotel has kept the quality. cannot beat the location. If you ride the train and want to visit the downtown area. Just park your car and go. You will be hahppy to stay here.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Ginger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you very much for the great review. I am so happy that our location worked out well for you. I know that I prefer to walk everywhere when I travel too! We all hope that you had a great stay and enjoyed your time in Durango.

Mary Kay Dobson
970-385-4980
marykay@bwriograndeinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

12 minutes to cold water for drinking at reservation desk when i was the only one at desk, 20 minutes notice didn't fetch a taxi, inspite of promise. But
listen to this, day one I had a male guest at my room at 9pm, no problems, Day 2 I had a female guest at 4pm (afternoon), they refused her entry to room saying 1. its a family hotel, 2. rules dont allow, 3. they refused to show rule book. 4, finally when they showed it said no guest allowed beyond 6pm, when questioned on this they said change the hotel- super rude, 5th and most amazing -how do we know whats the relation between you too. 6th, - a lady is only allowed if you have a double occupancy booked, refused to change it to double, when lady is giving her id , saying booking company disallows in my case. OMG. Looks its a middle east country we are living in.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank ALCHEMISTDENTAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
1.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#4 of 32 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 862 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Durango
Hampton Inn Durango
#2 of 32 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 779 reviews
2.1 mi away
Quality Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
#5 of 32 in Durango
4.0 of 5 stars 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
Address: 400 E Second Ave, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Durango
#5 Business Hotel in Durango
#5 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn! Located only 1.5 blocks from the Durango & Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad. BEST WESTERN Rio Grande Inn is perfect for the train enthusiasts of all ages. You can leave your vehicle in our parking lot and take a short to the train depot. Free HAPPY HOUR every evening from 5:30 PM to 7:30 PM. Includes(2) complimentary drinks per guest. Free HOT BREAKFAST every morning. Get your day stared right with our extended breakfast: Hot sausage, scrambled eggs, sausage gravy, biscuits, fresh fruit, yogurt, OJ and coffee. Walking distance to world class dining, galleries and amazing shopping. Some guests come for our top notch skiing. Take advantage of our GREAT location and rates when in town for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Best Western + Iniative, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Hotel Durango
Best Western Durango
Durango Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing