We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent Location!”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

This is a good place to stay if you're planning to ride the Durango-Silverton train. The rooms are clean & reasonable, the free breakfast is good, and you're within 2 blocks of the train station, good restaurants, shopping, and a liquor store - and about 4 blocks from a grocery store. We had only 2 days to spend, 1 spent on train, so we hope to return to Durango so we can explore the area more. If we do, there's a good chance we would choose this hotel again. The balcony with bistro table & chairs is a nice feature.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Jeff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Thank you for commending our property and its location. We appreciate your kind words regarding our cleanliness and value. I am so glad that you had a nice time staying with us. Please come to see us again soon as there are many fun activities in Durango to explore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

843 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    251
    113
    48
    23
See reviews for
294
306
29
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014

we paid more than $200.00 for an old room with a very noisy and antiquated air con unit that kept us awake until we turned it off. The bathroom is also designed for Lilliputians, as the jacuzzi tub is only about 4 feet or so in length. The breakfast was good, but this is too much for this type of property.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillBoyd46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Thank you for providing us with this review as we value your business. Your feedback is very important to us. We will use your feedback to better improve our facility.
I apologize if the jetted tub was an inconvenient size for you. We have been upgrading our facility with new carpet, a fitness room, and mattresses. More renovations are scheduled to occur and they include our bathroom fixtures and vanities. I hope you come to see us again as we would love to have you.
Thank you again for your feedback and your valued business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Toxaway, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

This was one of our last available options in town. We got a room that opened to the inside of the hotel, but I imagine the rooms that open to the outside are identical. The staff was friendly and the room was large and clean. The morning breakfast had many options and everything tasted great. The hotel let us park during the day the next day while we rode the train. Price seemed a little high, but not unreasonable.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on this site. We are very happy that your enjoyed your accommodation and the amenities that we have to offer. We do have a great location and a great staff. We appreciate the positive feedback and hope that you had a great time in Durango.

Mary Kay Dobson
970-385-4980
marykay@bwriograndeinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014

We chose this hotel for its location and because it has on site parking but it is so much more.
The Staff are so friendly. Room was well equipped and the FREE launderette was much appreciated.
The only negative was a very obnoxious woman who got very stroppy and confrontational in the launderette because she wanted us to take our washing out of one of the washers so that she could have it. When we refused she actually went and reported us to reception. All we did was get there before her. Anger problems I think!

Room Tip: Higher rooms away from the pool are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank June M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you for the great review. I do apologize about the other guest that was confrontational in the laundry room. Sometimes people just don't want to wait a few minutes, it is all so silly!! I am glad that you were able to use the machines. We are so proud of our new laundry room and fitness room. We are happy to have you park your vehicle here while you ride the train. It does save your the hassle of finding parking and paying fees. We so appreciate your kind words and hope that you have a great summer.

Mary Kay Dobson
970-385-4980
marykay@bwriograndeinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Got "trapped" with dodgy accommodation elsewhere in Durango and tried to arrange accommodation at BW Plus Durango. Had inadvertently reserved for another BW (Another story) but the staff at the BW Plus were amazing. They tried to assist in every way however we were unable to change the other booking. The staff safeguarded our luggage while we rode the Durango to Silverton train. The location is perfect for anyone travelling the train (about 3 minute stroll).
We thoroughly recommend this BW Plus to all visiting Durango. Hope to ride the train again in another year or 2 and this is where will stay without any doubt. Wonderful staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We do have an amazing staff and we all try to go above and beyond to take care of our customers. We appreciate your acknowledgment, it means a great deal to all of us. We do have a great location and are happy that we could help with the luggage storage. We look forward to your return in 2 years and again, thank you very much for your kind words.

Mary Kay Dobson
970-385-4980
marykay@bwriograndeinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

I've always had a bias against Best Western. Our stay was a pleasant surprise. We had a room that opened onto the pool area. Both evenings of our stay, we enjoyed the free happy hour and free wifi and free laundry while our kids swam. The staff was helpful, the beds were comfy. The hotel feels a little dated, but it was a pleasant stay.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Susan86761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We do appreciate the great comments and are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. The hotel is older but we are constantly updating and improving the property. We all hope that you had fun in Durango and hope that you enjoy your summer.

Mary Kay Dobson
970-385-4980
marykay@bwriograndeinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2014

The attitude of the staff in all areas of the hotel was so cheerful, professional, helpful and welcoming that it made us enjoy the stay even more. Our group of lady hikers especially enjoyed the happy hour after our long hikes, particularly since this is the first hotel we've been to which offered free cocktails and liquors in addition to the wine. The rooms were a good size which we need as we have a lot of hiking stuff with us. The location is within very easy walking distance to the historic part of town with it's excellent restaurants and shops as well as close to the train station and the free and interesting train museum. There was a lovely pool with a Jacuzzi and poolside tables as well. The hotel provides chocolate chip cookies at the reception desk, too. Altogether, they made our stay very pleasant and we'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Delores M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thanks so much for the wonderful review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and all that the hotel has to offer. We appreciate the positive feedback-it means a lot to all of us here at the hotel. We hope that you enjoy your summer and again thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

Mary Kay Dobson
970-385-4980
marykay@bwriograndeinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
0.2 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#6 of 33 in Durango
462 reviews
0.3 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#7 of 33 in Durango
1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Best Western Durango Inn & Suites
0.3 mi away
The Leland House and Rochester Hotel
1.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
Address: 400 E 2nd Ave, Durango, CO 81301-5602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Durango
#5 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#5 Business Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn! Located only 1.5 blocks from the Durango & Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad. BEST WESTERN Rio Grande Inn is perfect for the train enthusiasts of all ages. You can leave your vehicle in our parking lot and take a short to the train depot. Free HAPPY HOUR every evening from 5:30 PM to 7:30 PM. Includes(2) complimentary drinks per guest. Free HOT BREAKFAST every morning. Get your day stared right with our extended breakfast: Hot sausage, scrambled eggs, sausage gravy, biscuits, fresh fruit, yogurt, OJ and coffee. Walking distance to world class dining, galleries and amazing shopping. Some guests come for our top notch skiing. Take advantage of our GREAT location and rates when in town for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Best Western, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Hotel Durango
Best Western Durango
Durango Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing