We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time in Durango @ BW Rio Grande”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Beaver Dam
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great time in Durango @ BW Rio Grande”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

We stayed at this hotel the last few days in April. The room was clean and pleasant and offered everything you could ask for. The staff was very friendly and went out of there way to make our stay in Durango even better. The breakfast was excellent. We love spending time in Durango and since the location of this hotel is right downtown it was all easy walking and close to the train station. Will definitely stay here again. They even gave you 2 free drinks of your choice per person early evening..We got to meet a few other guest during that time as well..Thanks again to all the great staff..

Room Tip: Try to get a room, with a view and balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tees50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Thank you so much for the kind review. We are all so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do have a great location to downtown and the train and we are a block away from all the noise on Main Avenue!! I have a wonderful, caring staff and we appreciate your acknowledgment of all of them. Please come back and see us again someday soon.

Mary Kay Dobson
970-385-4980
marykay@bwriograndeinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    417
    261
    114
    49
    23
See reviews for
304
315
30
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

this was our first time at this hotel. Very nice, clean, comfortable rooms, ours had a little balcony which was quite a treat. The desk staff was very welcoming and helpful. The price was very reasonable. I would stay here again next time I am in Durango.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank sagamore73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We are glad that you enjoyed your room and all that the hotel has to offer. I do have a wonderful caring staff, thank you for the acknowledgment.
We all hope that you had a wonderful time in Durango and that you have a great summer!

Mary Kay Dobson
970-385-4980
marykay@bwriograndeinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014

Our stay here was Great! The hotel is a perfect location that once you arrive you do not need to use your car to explore downtown We took the train ride in the morning & the station was only a 5 minute walk. There were tons of little extra including chocolate chip cookies when you check in, coupon for free cocktail at happy hour The indoor pool & whirlpool was very nice Was a vacation within a vacation staying here

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank PLConklin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Thank you kindly for your valued response. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay; our location to downtown and other amenities. We appreciate your feedback and I hope to see you again in the future.

Michael Vice
Front Office Manager
970-385-4980
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, California, USA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 7, 2014

We had a great experience while staying here in Durango during our tour of the southwest. The location is ideal if you want to explore all the sights in old-town Durango; you can leave your car in the parking lot. The Durango-Silverton Railroad station is a short walk as are several excellent restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank karenkM5065HQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We all are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you enjoyed Durango as well. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again someday soon.

Mary Kay Dobson
marykay@bwriograndeinn.com
970-385-4980
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Effingham, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Hotel location was great. We could walk to many different restaurants. We had a great view from our window. The hotel was very quiet and had a nice pool area. They offered free cocktails and breakfast which was a treat.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Ryan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate the positive feedback and are very happy that you had a great time in Durango. We do have a great property with a great location. We all hope that you have safe travels and a great summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Excellent location within walking distance of the smart Colorado town of Durango, easy to park, enormous room catering for skiing guests, and Best Western's odd design with the pool in the centre of the hotel under the atrium! The result are; chlorine smells in the main corridors, a very public pool area, noise in both the hotel common areas and sometimes into the rooms. My personal key hate in the US, breakfast on paper plates, plastic cutlery and paper mugs, for which I have rated one start lower. Good value, but really, Colorado and Santa Fe/Albuquerque can do so much better. I will be avoiding Best Western in the future.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UKDiver2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
I am so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I do agree that the atrium can be a bit noisy while the kids are enjoying the pool. We open the pool at 9 am and close it at 9 pm so that we have some quiet hours We do not use chlorine to sanitize our pool, we use bromine. We have to use chemicals that will make the pool safe for swimming. I apologize that the odor was offensive to you. We do not have the space for a commercial dishwasher so we are unable to use china. There are Best Westerns in the chain that have a full restaurant that enables them to use china and not the paper products. I hope that you enjoyed Durango. It is a great location with proximity to skiing, rafting, Mesa Verde National Park and Durango Mountain resort ski area. I again apologize that you were disappointed with the atrium, the indoor pool, and the paper products that we use in our breakfast room.

Mary Kay Dobson
970-385-4980
marykay@bwriograndeinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
303 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

This was a very pleasant surprise on the edge of downtown Durango. Parking is free and it is in a secluded quiet area. The rooms are large, clean, and staff very friendly. It is in walking distance of everything downtown. The indoor pool, evening cocktail hour, and full breakfast in the mornings offered opportunity to meet other travelers.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonarrigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you for the great review. We do have a great property with a very convenient location. It is so nice to walk downtown and not have to worry about finding a spot to park. Downtown Durango has so much to offer its' visitors and I am glad that you found it enjoyable. We greatly appreciate the kind words and hope to see you again someday soon.

Mary Kay Dobson
970-385-4980
marykay@bwriograndeinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
0.3 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#9 of 33 in Durango
1,050 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Durango Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#8 of 33 in Durango
469 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central
2.7 mi away
Adventure Inn Durango
Adventure Inn Durango
#2 of 33 in Durango
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
Address: 400 E 2nd Ave, Durango, CO 81301-5602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Durango
#5 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#5 Business Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn! Located only 1.5 blocks from the Durango & Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad. BEST WESTERN Rio Grande Inn is perfect for the train enthusiasts of all ages. You can leave your vehicle in our parking lot and take a short to the train depot. Free HAPPY HOUR every evening from 5:30 PM to 7:30 PM. Includes(2) complimentary drinks per guest. Free HOT BREAKFAST every morning. Get your day stared right with our extended breakfast: Hot sausage, scrambled eggs, sausage gravy, biscuits, fresh fruit, yogurt, OJ and coffee. Walking distance to world class dining, galleries and amazing shopping. Some guests come for our top notch skiing. Take advantage of our GREAT location and rates when in town for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Best Western, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Hotel Durango
Best Western Durango
Durango Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing