We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great location and amenities” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Albuquerque, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location and amenities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

The location is within walking distance to downtown Durango. The pool and hot tub are great and the breakfast is fantastic! The check-in staff is friendly and helpful. Parking could be a little better.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are so happy that you had a great time with us. I do apologize for the parking, I am not sure when you stayed but we do try and monitor it and keep non guests out of our lot. We all hope that you return and wish you all the best in the New Year.

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    221
    97
    42
    22
See reviews for
254
270
28
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Coast
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Our son lives in Durango, we stayed at the B/W Rio Grande last visit and will be staying again on our next visit in a few weeks. The location is convenient to all attractions and walking distance, for the non skiers, to the shops and fine restaurants, our favorite Ken and Sue's ! Driving distance to Purgatory at Durango Mountain Resort is a convenient, direct drive. The staff from the front desk, Breakfast and maintenance is always friendly, greeting with a hello! The rooms are "roomy" and clean. Laundry services are "free", which is a pleasure with heavy winter clothing. The Managers Reception or a dip into the hot tub, is a nice way to unwind after a day of skiing along ! My two favorite things in Durango, My son and the B/W Rio Grande !

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunshine623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We are all so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you plan to return. We do offer a great product and a great value! Breakfast, drinks, pool & hot tub! Perfect for those tired bones after skiing. We appreciate the positive feedback and all hope that you have a great 2014!

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, AZ
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

This Best Western hotel is conveniently located within walking distance of a lot of restaurants and shopping in downtown Durango and in reasonable driving distance from Purgatory Ski Resort. It also had nice amenities like a fridge in the room, a small balcony, an in-room coffee maker, and free extras like a sewing kit and makeup towel. The included breakfast is hearty and includes lots of hot and cold selections. Our group was also impressed with the free happy hour each evening from 5:30-7:30. The bartender was courteous and knowledgeable. All these things made our stay and will make YOUR stay a great one too!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank jetskiwr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We are all so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and took the time to write a review on this site. It means a lot to all of us that you acknowledge our hotel and staff on a national forum. We so appreciate the business and hope that you will return and see us again someday soon.

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria la
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

This hotel was the nicest hotels. When checking in on our way to paonia the front desk was so nice and helpful. Then when we came back through they did not have the same rate room avaiable but gave us the upgraded room for the same price as the one we were in on the way to paonia. They also call to check on your once you get settled in to make sure everything is to your liking. I am a little of a germ freak and this room was spotless. Location was the best easy walk to anything in town. Defiantly would tell anyone to stay here

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Krbv0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you very much for the wonderful review. We do have a great housekeeping staff that does pride itself on the cleanliness of the hotel. We are in the process of updating the rooms with new carpeting and tub surrounds so it will be even better if you come and visit us again. We all wish you the best in the New Year.

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We stayed at the Rio Grande Inn over Christmas 2013 while skiing Purgatory. The room was clean, the pool and hot tub outstanding and the included breakfast and Happy Hour drinks were excellent. The location of the hotel is perfect for the non-skier who can walk the town and shops. Great staff and good value for the money. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Dennis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
What a great review. We are very happy that you had a pleasant stay at our hotel. We do offer a great product with a convenient location. I am blessed with a wonderful staff and an owner that truly cares about his hotel. We wish you all the best this holiday season. Again, thanks so much for the nice review.

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
116 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We spent two nights here 12/19-21/13 and had a nice time. We enjoyed the location because it is walking distance to many things: the D & S Narrow Gauge R,R., restaurants, bus station and historic downtown. The beds were comfortable, the room was nicely furnished and had some nice updated features. Friendly and helpful staff, good hearty breakfast, 2 free drinks each evening were some more perks.
A couple of things to note: If you want a quiet room go for one outside; not in the atrium.
Due to it's openness everything echoes and you can hear people talking across the atrium or from the floor below. The atrium is attractive but it also smells strongly of chlorine because of the pool and hot tub. The pool and hot tub look nice but we didn't use them due to many families staying there over the holidays for the "Polar Express" Train ride on the D & S.
TIP:Get directions~it is on the end of a street that is only 1 way until 1 block away.

Room Tip: Outside entrance (not is atrium). These also have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CEThigpen80132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We are so happy that your family enjoyed your time with us. We do have a great location, close to shops, restaurants and the train. We all hope that you had a fun holiday and wish you all the best in the New Year!

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

The room was large and pleasant, but it just wasn't quite clean looking. The bathroom had a jetted tub, but there was no way I would sit in it. The wifi shut down periodically, and, though the office staff kindly reset it for me several times, I do want a dependable connection to the internet. The breakfast spread looked good, they even had breakfast burrito fixings, but no yogurt for the diet or health-conscious. Fortunately, our room was on the ground floor because, though they had an elevator, it had been broken for "a few days" and they did have three floors of rooms! I would not stay here again, even if they paid me!

Room Tip: Some other hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nrtopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
I am so sorry that you were disappointed with your stay. We did have an elevator issue and unfortunately living in a remote community we have to wait for a technician to come in from a larger city to service our elevator. It is working fine now and I am glad that we put you on the first floor so you were not inconvenienced by it. I don't know if there was a problem with the jetted tub since you did not use it but I apologize that you did not feel comfortable enough to at least try it and see if you would enjoy it. I am not quite sure what the wifi issues were, I am happy that my staff was able to assist you when you were not able to connect. We do have yogurt on our breakfast buffet. We do offer fresh oatmeal daily as well. I am not sure what healthy options you would like to see but any suggestions are appreciated.
We all hope that you had a safe trip home to Maryland. I am so sorry that you did not bring up any of these issues when I checked you out that morning, I would have liked to apologize to your personally for your dissatisfaction with our hotel.

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
1.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
0.2 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#6 of 32 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Durango
Hampton Inn Durango
#2 of 32 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 833 reviews
2.1 mi away
Quality Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
#5 of 32 in Durango
4.0 of 5 stars 449 reviews
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
Address: 400 E 2nd Ave, Durango, CO 81301-5602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Durango
#5 Business Hotel in Durango
#5 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn! Located only 1.5 blocks from the Durango & Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad. BEST WESTERN Rio Grande Inn is perfect for the train enthusiasts of all ages. You can leave your vehicle in our parking lot and take a short to the train depot. Free HAPPY HOUR every evening from 5:30 PM to 7:30 PM. Includes(2) complimentary drinks per guest. Free HOT BREAKFAST every morning. Get your day stared right with our extended breakfast: Hot sausage, scrambled eggs, sausage gravy, biscuits, fresh fruit, yogurt, OJ and coffee. Walking distance to world class dining, galleries and amazing shopping. Some guests come for our top notch skiing. Take advantage of our GREAT location and rates when in town for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Hotel Durango
Best Western Durango
Durango Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing