We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Vail, United States
1 review
“Excellent Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We stayed at the Rio Grande Inn over Christmas 2013 while skiing Purgatory. The room was clean, the pool and hot tub outstanding and the included breakfast and Happy Hour drinks were excellent. The location of the hotel is perfect for the non-skier who can walk the town and shops. Great staff and good value for the money. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Dennis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
What a great review. We are very happy that you had a pleasant stay at our hotel. We do offer a great product with a convenient location. I am blessed with a wonderful staff and an owner that truly cares about his hotel. We wish you all the best this holiday season. Again, thanks so much for the nice review.

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    219
    95
    39
    21
See reviews for
250
262
28
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
116 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We spent two nights here 12/19-21/13 and had a nice time. We enjoyed the location because it is walking distance to many things: the D & S Narrow Gauge R,R., restaurants, bus station and historic downtown. The beds were comfortable, the room was nicely furnished and had some nice updated features. Friendly and helpful staff, good hearty breakfast, 2 free drinks each evening were some more perks.
A couple of things to note: If you want a quiet room go for one outside; not in the atrium.
Due to it's openness everything echoes and you can hear people talking across the atrium or from the floor below. The atrium is attractive but it also smells strongly of chlorine because of the pool and hot tub. The pool and hot tub look nice but we didn't use them due to many families staying there over the holidays for the "Polar Express" Train ride on the D & S.
TIP:Get directions~it is on the end of a street that is only 1 way until 1 block away.

Room Tip: Outside entrance (not is atrium). These also have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CEThigpen80132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We are so happy that your family enjoyed your time with us. We do have a great location, close to shops, restaurants and the train. We all hope that you had a fun holiday and wish you all the best in the New Year!

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

The room was large and pleasant, but it just wasn't quite clean looking. The bathroom had a jetted tub, but there was no way I would sit in it. The wifi shut down periodically, and, though the office staff kindly reset it for me several times, I do want a dependable connection to the internet. The breakfast spread looked good, they even had breakfast burrito fixings, but no yogurt for the diet or health-conscious. Fortunately, our room was on the ground floor because, though they had an elevator, it had been broken for "a few days" and they did have three floors of rooms! I would not stay here again, even if they paid me!

Room Tip: Some other hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nrtopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
I am so sorry that you were disappointed with your stay. We did have an elevator issue and unfortunately living in a remote community we have to wait for a technician to come in from a larger city to service our elevator. It is working fine now and I am glad that we put you on the first floor so you were not inconvenienced by it. I don't know if there was a problem with the jetted tub since you did not use it but I apologize that you did not feel comfortable enough to at least try it and see if you would enjoy it. I am not quite sure what the wifi issues were, I am happy that my staff was able to assist you when you were not able to connect. We do have yogurt on our breakfast buffet. We do offer fresh oatmeal daily as well. I am not sure what healthy options you would like to see but any suggestions are appreciated.
We all hope that you had a safe trip home to Maryland. I am so sorry that you did not bring up any of these issues when I checked you out that morning, I would have liked to apologize to your personally for your dissatisfaction with our hotel.

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Great rooms! The beds were very comfortable and lots of space. The indoor pool is right outside your door and it was warm! The breakfast was great. Very good hot food and the staff was very helpful and offered to get you whatever you wanted. Location was great just off of downtown, Quick easy walk to the train station

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Justin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
What a wonderful review. We are all so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us! Have a great holiday season and come back and see us again soon.

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

We were a group of 32 adults / kids traveling for hockey games. The hotel staff worked to make it a perfect trip for us. They opened their breakfast service an hour early, kept the bar / beverage service open late, and gave our group late checkouts. We could not have wished for more!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Krista B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Thank you so much for the review. We do try and accommodate requests for groups. We really appreciate the acknowledgment-it means a great deal to all of us here. We hope that your team will consider us again if you are coming to Durango. Enjoy your holidays and thanks again.

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

This hotel offers exceptional value for the cost. The only deficiency was the slow internet service, but I understand it is that way all over the local area. The rooms were clean, and the beds were decent. The breakfast offered many choices, including a variety of healthy options. Some of the rooms (although ours didn't) had balconies with a wrought iron table and chairs, which was a nice touch. The front desk service was excellent, especially when providing directions. We did not use the pool or hot tub, but they looked inviting. The hotel is kind of tucked away behind the train station, but not too hard to find.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank lmjennin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Thank you very much for the wonderful review. We do have a great product and are very happy that you were pleased with your stay. We are working on finding different internet options and do apologize for any slowness that you experienced during your stay. We all hope that you had a great time in Durango and that you have a fun holiday season.

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Arrived later than planned but reception was ready. Efficient check in and invitation to "cocktails" on the house. Brilliant intro to Durango. Ginny the hostess was great. Informative and set us up for a great dinner (The Ore House). Rooms OK - none was a little noisy due to highway proximity but not really an issue. Durango has a great downtown area to explore. Breakfast was wholesome too followed by a friendly and efficient check-out. Indoor pool / hot-tub were very tempting but alas we had no spare time. Good value. Would recommend and would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you very much for the nice review. We appreciate your taking the time to go on this site and rate our hotel. It really means a great deal to all of us especially when it is so positive. We are happy that you enjoyed our facility and staff. We all hope that your journeys were pleasant and that you will stay with us again if you ever come back to the area.

Thank you again!

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
1.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#6 of 32 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 886 reviews
2.1 mi away
Quality Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
#5 of 32 in Durango
4.0 of 5 stars 433 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Durango
Hampton Inn Durango
#3 of 32 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
Address: 400 E 2nd Ave, Durango, CO 81301-5602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Durango
#5 Business Hotel in Durango
#5 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn! Located only 1.5 blocks from the Durango & Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad. BEST WESTERN Rio Grande Inn is perfect for the train enthusiasts of all ages. You can leave your vehicle in our parking lot and take a short to the train depot. Free HAPPY HOUR every evening from 5:30 PM to 7:30 PM. Includes(2) complimentary drinks per guest. Free HOT BREAKFAST every morning. Get your day stared right with our extended breakfast: Hot sausage, scrambled eggs, sausage gravy, biscuits, fresh fruit, yogurt, OJ and coffee. Walking distance to world class dining, galleries and amazing shopping. Some guests come for our top notch skiing. Take advantage of our GREAT location and rates when in town for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Hotel Durango
Best Western Durango
Durango Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing