We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
Nearby Hotels
Best Western Durango Inn & Suites(Durango)(Great Value!)
$166
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$248
$230
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Strater Hotel(Durango)
$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$215
$199
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango(Durango)(Great Value!)
$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn Durango(Durango)(Great Value!)
$155
$140
QualityInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Mountain Shadows(Durango)(Great Value!)
$165
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$187
$178
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$200
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$261
$229
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (950)
Filter reviews
950 results
Traveler rating
466
280
129
53
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
466
280
129
53
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree drinksindoor poolgreat locationper adultcocktail hourhappy hourtrain stationwithin walking distancejacuzzi tubgreat place to staybest westernsmain streetshort walkeach eveningbiscuits and gravythe durango silverton railroadtwo blocks
Filter
Updating list...
674 - 679 of 950 reviews
Reviewed December 12, 2013

The room was large and pleasant, but it just wasn't quite clean looking. The bathroom had a jetted tub, but there was no way I would sit in it. The wifi shut down periodically, and, though the office staff kindly reset it for me several times, I do want a dependable connection to the internet. The breakfast spread looked good, they even had breakfast burrito fixings, but no yogurt for the diet or health-conscious. Fortunately, our room was on the ground floor because, though they had an elevator, it had been broken for "a few days" and they did have three floors of rooms! I would not stay here again, even if they paid me!

Room Tip: Some other hotel!
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nrtopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

I am so sorry that you were disappointed with your stay. We did have an elevator issue and unfortunately living in a remote community we have to wait for a technician to come in from a larger city to service our elevator. It is working fine now and I am glad that we put you on the first floor so you were not inconvenienced by it. I don't know if there was a problem with the jetted tub since you did not use it but I apologize that you did not feel comfortable enough to at least try it and see if you would enjoy it. I am not quite sure what the wifi issues were, I am happy that my staff was able to assist you when you were not able to connect. We do have yogurt on our breakfast buffet. We do offer fresh oatmeal daily as well. I am not sure what healthy options you would like to see but any suggestions are appreciated.
We all hope that you had a safe trip home to Maryland. I am so sorry that you did not bring up any of these issues when I checked you out that morning, I would have liked to apologize to your personally for your dissatisfaction with our hotel.

Mary Kay Dobson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Great rooms! The beds were very comfortable and lots of space. The indoor pool is right outside your door and it was warm! The breakfast was great. Very good hot food and the staff was very helpful and offered to get you whatever you wanted. Location was great just off of downtown, Quick easy walk to the train station

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Justin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

What a wonderful review. We are all so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us! Have a great holiday season and come back and see us again soon.

Mary Kay Dobson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

We were a group of 32 adults / kids traveling for hockey games. The hotel staff worked to make it a perfect trip for us. They opened their breakfast service an hour early, kept the bar / beverage service open late, and gave our group late checkouts. We could not have wished for more!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Krista B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Thank you so much for the review. We do try and accommodate requests for groups. We really appreciate the acknowledgment-it means a great deal to all of us here. We hope that your team will consider us again if you are coming to Durango. Enjoy your holidays and thanks again.

Mary Kay Dobson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

This hotel offers exceptional value for the cost. The only deficiency was the slow internet service, but I understand it is that way all over the local area. The rooms were clean, and the beds were decent. The breakfast offered many choices, including a variety of healthy options. Some of the rooms (although ours didn't) had balconies with a wrought iron table and chairs, which was a nice touch. The front desk service was excellent, especially when providing directions. We did not use the pool or hot tub, but they looked inviting. The hotel is kind of tucked away behind the train station, but not too hard to find.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank lmjennin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Thank you very much for the wonderful review. We do have a great product and are very happy that you were pleased with your stay. We are working on finding different internet options and do apologize for any slowness that you experienced during your stay. We all hope that you had a great time in Durango and that you have a fun holiday season.

Mary Kay Dobson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Arrived later than planned but reception was ready. Efficient check in and invitation to "cocktails" on the house. Brilliant intro to Durango. Ginny the hostess was great. Informative and set us up for a great dinner (The Ore House). Rooms OK - none was a little noisy due to highway proximity but not really an issue. Durango has a great downtown area to explore. Breakfast was wholesome too followed by a friendly and efficient check-out. Indoor pool / hot-tub were very tempting but alas we had no spare time. Good value. Would recommend and would stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Thank you very much for the nice review. We appreciate your taking the time to go on this site and rate our hotel. It really means a great deal to all of us especially when it is so positive. We are happy that you enjoyed our facility and staff. We all hope that your journeys were pleasant and that you will stay with us again if you ever come back to the area.

Thank you again!

Mary Kay Dobson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews