We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“railfan”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
Ranked #11 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
greensboro, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“railfan”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

great hotel in perfect location with friendly staff and top notch amenities. comfortable bed, good internet access, clean bathroom...couldn't be better! the rest of this information is put in here because i had to write 200 characters.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Charles W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you so much for the great review. We are so happy that you enjoyed our hotel and took the time to write an online review. Durango is a great area to visit with lots of fun and interesting things to do. Enjoy the fall and thank you from all of us here at the Best Western Rio Grande.

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    247
    107
    47
    22
See reviews for
284
299
29
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
320 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed here the last week of August for two days. We got a senior rate. The only room we could get on the top floor was one with two queen size beds, no balcony. We had an outside door facing the train area and at times coal odor was rather strong. Our room had a huge overstuffed chair stuffed into the corner between the window/air conditioner and the bed, which made it useless to us as we had to run the air conditioner in this rather stuffy room and were too cold in the chair. There was a desk with a comfortable office chair that could not be partially pushed under the desk, so it blocked the way into the bathroom area. The sink was separate from the shower/toilette area, the counter top was rather small and there was an odd closet area and two cute pegs for skis. The fridge worked well for us, we did not use the microwave. The room also had a connecting door which made the furniture lay-out even more awkward.
I used the pool twice later in the evening, the shallow end is very shallow, the deep end was fine for treading water. The chlorine odor was rather strong. The few children who were there were well supervised and well behaved.
The two free drinks, served in the breakfast area, seem to be very popular. It would have been nice to be able to sit outside instead of around the pool. The only outside area to sit is a picnic table by the larger parking lot or two benches by the front door where the tour buses unload.
The breakfast was fine as far as 'continental' breakfasts go, except for the large yogurt tub.
The ice machine on the third floor was not working the first day we were there but got repaired after we reported it the second day.
The staff was friendly and helpful throughout our stay, the location is great, the price for our room was not. For that reason I would not stay here again, nor most likely anywhere in overpriced Durango. I wonder what makes this a Best Western Plus.

Room Tip: There seem to be a lot of strange room locations in this hotel. I would definitely want to be on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shock43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for the review. I am sorry that you were disappointed with the accommodations. We are right next door to the train and since it a coal fired steam engine it does run all night long. This can create a coal odor throughout the areas close to the train. I will suggest to the owner about the outside seating areas. The rooms with the two beds do not have a balcony, I am so sorry that we did not have that option for you. The pool has to be treated with the chemicals, I do apologize for the odor. We all hope that you enjoyed Durango. It is a great area and summer is our peak season when are rates are their highest. We are starting to drop our rates and they will be a the lower price point until the middle of May. We appreciate your business and your input.

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I travel on business every week to Durango. From the front desk staff, the happy hour bartenders and the breakfast crew I have made true friends who make me fell welcome every week. The rooms are great! The location is within walking distance to the best restaurants in Durango. I have options but always choose to stay here!

Room Tip: 2nd or 3rd floor room gets you a balcony and distance from the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you so much for the very kind review. We do feel that our regulars are "family" and we so appreciate the year round business and support that we get from all of you. We are so happy that you took the time out of your busy schedule to review our hotel and all the positive feedback that you gave us. We look forward to seeing you soon. Safe travels and again thank you so much.

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 5, 2013

If you plan to travel on the train and want easy walking access to the culinary delights of Durango, then this is the place to stay. Friendly and professional staff. Comfortable and quiet room. and good value breakfast. The managers evening cocktails were much appreciated.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you so much for the great review. We appreciate the kind words and the positive feedback. We are glad that you chose our hotel and took the time to review us on this site. We all hope that you had a great time in Durango and will be back to see us again someday.

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton Park, New York
Level Contributor
214 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

This hotel is within walking distance ( a few blocks) of downtown, this hotel features rooms around the pool. Nice to look at but noisy - noise echoes all over the place. My room was very nicely appointed with a whirlpool tub, refrigerator and microwave. Couch, coffee table and desk also. We had drinks in the lounge which doubles as the breakfast room. Not elegant, but the drinks were really good and they served chips and salsa as bar snacks. No restaurant, though.

Room Tip: Tell the front desk you don't want to look out to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Kathy0619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel. The hotel atrium does echo but we do keep the pool hours limited to 9 am - 9 pm. We are replacing the roof this fall with a better insulated material that should reduce the echo. We are happy that you enjoyed the cocktails and the breakfast. We do not have an actual restaurant on property but Durango has several great restaurants within walking distance of the hotel We appreciate your feedback and your business.

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver WA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

From the front desk to the breakfast buffet to the swimming pool, this is a very nice place to stay. Rooms are good sized and open to wide hallways. Good security; outer doors locked at 11pm but your passkey will admit you. Ample parking. Close to the train station and the historic area of Durango. Breakfast is great and includes hot foods, fruits, pastries, cereals, juices, as well as the usual expected items. Served in a room near the pool, not in the lobby. Housekeeping very diligent. Rooms sparkled the entire week. Towels are bath sheets of spacious size. Rates are comparative. Front desk personnel know the area. I'll stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OldTraveler37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Thank you for the great review. We appreciate all the positive comments and are very happy that you enjoyed the hotel and all that it has to offer. We do have a great product and a great staff-thank you for the wonderful acknowledgement! We all that you for your business and are glad that you enjoyed your time in Durango.

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Grove, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We recently spent a couple of nights in Durango and stayed here. The location was great. We were within walking distance of everything -- the train, dining and shopping. Yet, you are set back and in a quieter location than some of the other hotels. The staff was very courteous and willing to offer advice when we asked them questions. The room was very clean and very comfortable. It was larger than I had expected. The breakfast buffet was "quite tasty". Overall, we were very happy with our accommodations and would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScenicView1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do have a great location that is convenient and quite. You can park your vehicle and walk everywhere! With the limited parking in Durango that is quite a plus! We appreciate the positive feedback and hope that you will return again someday soon.

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.2 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#7 of 33 in Durango
452 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
0.3 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#8 of 33 in Durango
1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Best Western Durango Inn & Suites
1.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
0.3 mi away
The Leland House and Rochester Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
Address: 400 E 2nd Ave, Durango, CO 81301-5602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Durango
#5 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#5 Business Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn! Located only 1.5 blocks from the Durango & Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad. BEST WESTERN Rio Grande Inn is perfect for the train enthusiasts of all ages. You can leave your vehicle in our parking lot and take a short to the train depot. Free HAPPY HOUR every evening from 5:30 PM to 7:30 PM. Includes(2) complimentary drinks per guest. Free HOT BREAKFAST every morning. Get your day stared right with our extended breakfast: Hot sausage, scrambled eggs, sausage gravy, biscuits, fresh fruit, yogurt, OJ and coffee. Walking distance to world class dining, galleries and amazing shopping. Some guests come for our top notch skiing. Take advantage of our GREAT location and rates when in town for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Best Western, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Hotel Durango
Best Western Durango
Durango Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing