We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friends far from home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
Ranked #10 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Westminster, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Friends far from home”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I travel on business every week to Durango. From the front desk staff, the happy hour bartenders and the breakfast crew I have made true friends who make me fell welcome every week. The rooms are great! The location is within walking distance to the best restaurants in Durango. I have options but always choose to stay here!

Room Tip: 2nd or 3rd floor room gets you a balcony and distance from the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you so much for the very kind review. We do feel that our regulars are "family" and we so appreciate the year round business and support that we get from all of you. We are so happy that you took the time out of your busy schedule to review our hotel and all the positive feedback that you gave us. We look forward to seeing you soon. Safe travels and again thank you so much.

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    236
    103
    45
    22
See reviews for
276
288
29
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 5, 2013

If you plan to travel on the train and want easy walking access to the culinary delights of Durango, then this is the place to stay. Friendly and professional staff. Comfortable and quiet room. and good value breakfast. The managers evening cocktails were much appreciated.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you so much for the great review. We appreciate the kind words and the positive feedback. We are glad that you chose our hotel and took the time to review us on this site. We all hope that you had a great time in Durango and will be back to see us again someday.

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton Park, New York
Level Contributor
214 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

This hotel is within walking distance ( a few blocks) of downtown, this hotel features rooms around the pool. Nice to look at but noisy - noise echoes all over the place. My room was very nicely appointed with a whirlpool tub, refrigerator and microwave. Couch, coffee table and desk also. We had drinks in the lounge which doubles as the breakfast room. Not elegant, but the drinks were really good and they served chips and salsa as bar snacks. No restaurant, though.

Room Tip: Tell the front desk you don't want to look out to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Kathy0619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel. The hotel atrium does echo but we do keep the pool hours limited to 9 am - 9 pm. We are replacing the roof this fall with a better insulated material that should reduce the echo. We are happy that you enjoyed the cocktails and the breakfast. We do not have an actual restaurant on property but Durango has several great restaurants within walking distance of the hotel We appreciate your feedback and your business.

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver WA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

From the front desk to the breakfast buffet to the swimming pool, this is a very nice place to stay. Rooms are good sized and open to wide hallways. Good security; outer doors locked at 11pm but your passkey will admit you. Ample parking. Close to the train station and the historic area of Durango. Breakfast is great and includes hot foods, fruits, pastries, cereals, juices, as well as the usual expected items. Served in a room near the pool, not in the lobby. Housekeeping very diligent. Rooms sparkled the entire week. Towels are bath sheets of spacious size. Rates are comparative. Front desk personnel know the area. I'll stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OldTraveler37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Thank you for the great review. We appreciate all the positive comments and are very happy that you enjoyed the hotel and all that it has to offer. We do have a great product and a great staff-thank you for the wonderful acknowledgement! We all that you for your business and are glad that you enjoyed your time in Durango.

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Grove, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We recently spent a couple of nights in Durango and stayed here. The location was great. We were within walking distance of everything -- the train, dining and shopping. Yet, you are set back and in a quieter location than some of the other hotels. The staff was very courteous and willing to offer advice when we asked them questions. The room was very clean and very comfortable. It was larger than I had expected. The breakfast buffet was "quite tasty". Overall, we were very happy with our accommodations and would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScenicView1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do have a great location that is convenient and quite. You can park your vehicle and walk everywhere! With the limited parking in Durango that is quite a plus! We appreciate the positive feedback and hope that you will return again someday soon.

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Another great stay at the Durango, Colorado BW Rio Grande Inn. The nicest hotel for being in the heart of Durango at a great price, top drawer staff, lovely clean rooms, great breakfast included with the price and you are able to walk to town and the train. This is the only place we have stayed for a decade plus now. Great indoor pool for the kids too.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank AuntieMame10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate the acknowledgement of all of our efforts to give you a great stay. We do hope that you had a great time in Durango and that you are enjoying the fall colors.

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reeds Spring
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Nice location around the corner from the Durango-Silverton train station and close to many good restaurants in downtown Durango. Nice atrium and pool and hot tub. Nice breakfast. Good wi-fi. Very big TVs. Very nice rooms and beds. A Plus Best Western.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Wow! What a great review. We really appreciate your taking the time to review our hotel on this site. We feel that we are exceptional and appreciate the recognition. We all hope that you had a wonderful time in Durango and that you enjoy the colorful season.

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.2 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#3 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
0.3 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#7 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
0.8 mi away
Best Western Durango Inn & Suites
0.3 mi away
Rochester Hotel & Bar
Rochester Hotel & Bar
#8 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
Address: 400 E 2nd Ave, Durango, CO 81301-5602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Durango
#5 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#5 Business Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn! Located only 1.5 blocks from the Durango & Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad. BEST WESTERN Rio Grande Inn is perfect for the train enthusiasts of all ages. You can leave your vehicle in our parking lot and take a short to the train depot. Free HAPPY HOUR every evening from 5:30 PM to 7:30 PM. Includes(2) complimentary drinks per guest. Free HOT BREAKFAST every morning. Get your day stared right with our extended breakfast: Hot sausage, scrambled eggs, sausage gravy, biscuits, fresh fruit, yogurt, OJ and coffee. Walking distance to world class dining, galleries and amazing shopping. Some guests come for our top notch skiing. Take advantage of our GREAT location and rates when in town for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Best Western, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Hotel Durango
Best Western Durango
Durango Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing