We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close to the Train”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
Ranked #9 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Westfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Close to the Train”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We chose this hotel because it was close to the train. We went to Silverton and stayed overnight, so it was nice to be able to leave our car in the parking lot at the hotel. The rooms are very nice and clean. The breakfast was so-so but at least it was free. The dining room is very crowded, so we tried to eat at an "off-peak" time (i.e., not 8am).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We greatly appreciate your feedback and are happy that you enjoyed our location and the cleanliness of our rooms. I am sorry that you didn't enjoy our breakfast. We do get a lot of compliments on what we serve and I apologize that you were disappointed. We do have a lot of early risers this time of year and the breakfast area will usually clear out once everyone heads over to the train. We all hope that you had a great time in Durango and that you had a wonderful vacation.

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

795 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    236
    103
    45
    22
See reviews for
276
288
29
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Webster, New York
Level Contributor
106 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Weird little lobby but outstanding, polite & helpful staff. Hotel layout is a negative. There is a pool and hot tub in the center of the hotel, surrounded by hotel rooms. This made for a lot of loud echoing noise as kids screamed all afternoon & early evening. Children also took over the hot tub and no staff ever asked them to get out so adults could use the hot tub. There were hotel rooms that you had to walk outside to get to but at least they were quiet. My room overlooking the noisy pool had glass doors so you could see in from the hall. There were curtains you could use to cover the door but the room was very dark as the only light was from small door to a tiny balcony that again needed to be covered for privacy. Just a real strange hotel layout. Breakfast was served in a small room and was very mediocore. Best thing about the place was it location to the train depot and an easy walk to the Main St.

Room Tip: stay in an outside room if you want quiet. You can't nap in the afternoon any were near the poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SEEitall_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
I do apologize that you weren't happy with your room. We do have an indoor pool and hot tub that can get noisy because of the atrium setting of both. The atrium does bring in a lot of natural light but the glass does create an echo. We do limit the pool hours from 9am-9pm so that there is quiet time for everyone around the pool. Even though the breakfast room was not as large as you would like to see we hope that you enjoyed your breakfast and the complimentary evening cocktails. I am glad that the location was convenient to you and hope that you had a great time in Durango.

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darien, Connecticut
Level Contributor
204 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We spent two nights here, and were overall very happy with this hotel. It's close to the Durango/Silverton railroad, and it's kind of fun to be able to (faintly) hear the old-time whistle from inside the hotel. There is a nice indoor pool with a spa, and a good breakfast. Plus, when we were there they were giving everyone tickets to get 2 free drinks per adult in the lounge until 7:30 - a nice perk. They also have a free washer and dryer, so bring detergent (or you can buy some cheaply from the front desk).

The hotel is basically in the old town, a very easy walk (just a few minutes) to access all the best stores and restaurants that Durango has to offer. Even a few rafting companies are nearby if you don't want to drive to the outskirts.

As for rooms: We were originally put into a room on the interior of the hotel, and it had no exterior windows, just a big double door with glass that was facing the hallway/pool area. It was pretty sad, very dark and closed. We called the front desk and they moved us to a room with an "outside door", this was much much better. Although we were facing the highway we really couldn't hear any road noise, it was quiet and light and comfortable.

Because of the great location we would probably stay here on our next trip, and now that I know how the rooms are laid out I can reserve an outside room in advance.

Room Tip: Choose an "outside door" room if you enjoy natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chaz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you very much for the great review. We do have some rooms that are darker because they are in the inside of the hotel where the natural light is limited. There are just a few of those but some people actually prefer them because they can sleep so well because of it being darker! I am glad that we found a room that you enjoyed more. The highway noise at this property is definitely a non factor. We have some guests that enjoy that side because you can see the river from some of the rooms. We are all glad that you were able to enjoy our amenities. We hope that you had fun in Durango and that you enjoy your Labor Day holiday.

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We regularly trust Best Westerns for reliable "cheap" hotels on vacation, and this location in Durango ended up being perfect for our family trip.

The location is just two blocks from Main Ave. and the Silverton train depot. That made walking the old western section of town super-easy with the kids. Since we spent one full day on the train, this also gave us an easy way to start our day leisurely with no need to drive into town and find parking. And coming home that night, it was nice to have a good pool - which dominates the courtyard inside the hotel. The "managers reception" with free drinks was also a lovely touch.

If you are a family that isn't going to stay in one of the historic hotels on Main Ave, this is the perfect location for your stay in Durango.

Room Tip: Even though this is near the train station and highway, the rooms on that side of the property are N...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eskot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We do offer a great value and location. We are really happy that you acknowledged the complimentary cocktails and hope that you had a chance to enjoy our breakfast as well. You can park your vehicle and walk everywhere from this location. It sold me when I first visited this town.

Thank you again we really appreciate your kind words.

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
55 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Although the lobby is relatively small (in comparison to most) the front desk people make up for its size with a caring and out going attitude. They were helpful in recommending eating establishments and when I had an issue with the a/c unit, they had it fixed by the time I returned from dinner.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank LawrenceC501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for the nice review. We do have a small lobby but we have a huge open atrium for guests to enjoy. I am glad that the front desk staff was able to take care of your questions and find you some restaurants to enjoy. They are very kind and caring. We appreciate that you took the time to write a review and hope that you had a great time in Durango! Thank you again.

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Location can't be beat, walk to downtown. Very nice rooms, great helpful staff. Wish the pool was open later with no kids after 9pm. Hard for childless older folks to enjoy pool or nice hot tub. I stay here often when in Durango.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Gail M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for the great review. I am sorry about the pool hours. In the atrium even the slightest noise reverberates once everything has shut down so we try and close it when a lot of folks retire at night. We are replacing the glass roof this fall with a wooden roof with a lot more insulation and we are hoping that this will help with the noise level. We really appreciate your repeat business and hope to see you again soon. We have a lot of property improvements over the next few months and we hope that you will enjoy what we have done! Thanks again for the business.

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton GA, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We have been on a 20 day trip across the US to show the grand kids the wonder of God's creation in the Southwest. This hotel was probably the best we stayed in though we did not have our other three passengers at the time. The hotel is very well located to see the best parts of the city and to take the train to Silverton.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Larry V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Wow! It sounds as if you had a wonderful vacation. The Southwest is pretty amazing with it's diverse landscape and all that it has to offer. We hope that you and your grandkids had a great time! We appreciate the positive review and are so happy that you enjoyed our hotel and Durango. Enjoy the rest of your summer.

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.2 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#5 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
0.3 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#7 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
0.8 mi away
Best Western Durango Inn & Suites
0.3 mi away
Rochester Hotel & Bar
Rochester Hotel & Bar
#10 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
Address: 400 E 2nd Ave, Durango, CO 81301-5602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Durango
#5 Business Hotel in Durango
#5 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn! Located only 1.5 blocks from the Durango & Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad. BEST WESTERN Rio Grande Inn is perfect for the train enthusiasts of all ages. You can leave your vehicle in our parking lot and take a short to the train depot. Free HAPPY HOUR every evening from 5:30 PM to 7:30 PM. Includes(2) complimentary drinks per guest. Free HOT BREAKFAST every morning. Get your day stared right with our extended breakfast: Hot sausage, scrambled eggs, sausage gravy, biscuits, fresh fruit, yogurt, OJ and coffee. Walking distance to world class dining, galleries and amazing shopping. Some guests come for our top notch skiing. Take advantage of our GREAT location and rates when in town for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Best Western, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Hotel Durango
Best Western Durango
Durango Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing