We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and service, but choose your room carefully”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
Ranked #10 of 34 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We spent two nights here, and were overall very happy with this hotel. It's close to the Durango/Silverton railroad, and it's kind of fun to be able to (faintly) hear the old-time whistle from inside the hotel. There is a nice indoor pool with a spa, and a good breakfast. Plus, when we were there they were giving everyone tickets to get 2 free drinks per adult in the lounge until 7:30 - a nice perk. They also have a free washer and dryer, so bring detergent (or you can buy some cheaply from the front desk).

The hotel is basically in the old town, a very easy walk (just a few minutes) to access all the best stores and restaurants that Durango has to offer. Even a few rafting companies are nearby if you don't want to drive to the outskirts.

As for rooms: We were originally put into a room on the interior of the hotel, and it had no exterior windows, just a big double door with glass that was facing the hallway/pool area. It was pretty sad, very dark and closed. We called the front desk and they moved us to a room with an "outside door", this was much much better. Although we were facing the highway we really couldn't hear any road noise, it was quiet and light and comfortable.

Because of the great location we would probably stay here on our next trip, and now that I know how the rooms are laid out I can reserve an outside room in advance.

Room Tip: Choose an "outside door" room if you enjoy natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chaz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Thank you very much for the great review. We do have some rooms that are darker because they are in the inside of the hotel where the natural light is limited. There are just a few of those but some people actually prefer them because they can sleep so well because of it being darker! I am glad that we found a room that you enjoyed more. The highway noise at this property is definitely a non factor. We have some guests that enjoy that side because you can see the river from some of the rooms. We are all glad that you were able to enjoy our amenities. We hope that you had fun in Durango and that you enjoy your Labor Day holiday.

Mary Kay Dobson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (914)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

685 - 691 of 914 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2013

We regularly trust Best Westerns for reliable "cheap" hotels on vacation, and this location in Durango ended up being perfect for our family trip.

The location is just two blocks from Main Ave. and the Silverton train depot. That made walking the old western section of town super-easy with the kids. Since we spent one full day on the train, this also gave us an easy way to start our day leisurely with no need to drive into town and find parking. And coming home that night, it was nice to have a good pool - which dominates the courtyard inside the hotel. The "managers reception" with free drinks was also a lovely touch.

If you are a family that isn't going to stay in one of the historic hotels on Main Ave, this is the perfect location for your stay in Durango.

Room Tip: Even though this is near the train station and highway, the rooms on that side of the property are N...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eskot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We do offer a great value and location. We are really happy that you acknowledged the complimentary cocktails and hope that you had a chance to enjoy our breakfast as well. You can park your vehicle and walk everywhere from this location. It sold me when I first visited this town.

Thank you again we really appreciate your kind words.

Mary Kay Dobson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Although the lobby is relatively small (in comparison to most) the front desk people make up for its size with a caring and out going attitude. They were helpful in recommending eating establishments and when I had an issue with the a/c unit, they had it fixed by the time I returned from dinner.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank LawrenceC501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Thank you for the nice review. We do have a small lobby but we have a huge open atrium for guests to enjoy. I am glad that the front desk staff was able to take care of your questions and find you some restaurants to enjoy. They are very kind and caring. We appreciate that you took the time to write a review and hope that you had a great time in Durango! Thank you again.

Mary Kay Dobson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Location can't be beat, walk to downtown. Very nice rooms, great helpful staff. Wish the pool was open later with no kids after 9pm. Hard for childless older folks to enjoy pool or nice hot tub. I stay here often when in Durango.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Gail M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Thank you for the great review. I am sorry about the pool hours. In the atrium even the slightest noise reverberates once everything has shut down so we try and close it when a lot of folks retire at night. We are replacing the glass roof this fall with a wooden roof with a lot more insulation and we are hoping that this will help with the noise level. We really appreciate your repeat business and hope to see you again soon. We have a lot of property improvements over the next few months and we hope that you will enjoy what we have done! Thanks again for the business.

Mary Kay Dobson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We have been on a 20 day trip across the US to show the grand kids the wonder of God's creation in the Southwest. This hotel was probably the best we stayed in though we did not have our other three passengers at the time. The hotel is very well located to see the best parts of the city and to take the train to Silverton.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Larry V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Wow! It sounds as if you had a wonderful vacation. The Southwest is pretty amazing with it's diverse landscape and all that it has to offer. We hope that you and your grandkids had a great time! We appreciate the positive review and are so happy that you enjoyed our hotel and Durango. Enjoy the rest of your summer.

Mary Kay Dobson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

My family recently spent two nights at this lovely property. The room was clean and large and the elevator much appreciated since no one likes to lug suitcases upstairs! Everyone we came in contact with was friendly and very welcoming. The breakfast here is so far above what you typically get at most places. There were two young people who staffed the breakfast room each day. I am sorry I didn't get their names but they were both outstanding! They were always upbeat (hard to be at 6:30 in the morning) and so efficient and hard working. We appreciated the location to the train station and town, everything within walking distance. This is a lovely property and definitely worth staying at if u visit Durango.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank mcmmwm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

What a great review! Thank you so much! I don't know how those breakfast folks do it either, they are pretty amazing keeping everything stocked and everyone happy. We are all happy that you enjoyed our hotel and the great location. We hope that you had a great time in Durango and a fun vacation. Thanks for staying with us.

Mary Kay Dobson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Hotel is tucked back away from all the hustle and bustle that is in the down town area, yet very close to it all which allows you to walk instead of having to drive. Hotel was very clean. Lots of seating area for the morning breakfast. The pool did close at 9 pm, which I feel is a little early. The rooms were spacious and comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank C G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Thank you for your review. I am so glad that you enjoyed the location and the hotel. We hope that you were able to have breakfast and enjoy our evening cocktails. The pool is in the center of the atrium which does create an echo at times so we do try and have quiet time between 9 pm and 9 am. I am a walker as well so I look for hotels that are conveniently located when I travel. Who needs to get in the car to go out to eat after a long day of driving! We appreciate your kindness and are very happy that you chose to stay with us.

Mary Kay Dobson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango
0.2 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#12 of 34 in Durango
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
0.8 mi away
Best Western Durango Inn & Suites
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn

Address: 400 E 2nd Ave, Durango, CO 81301-5602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Durango
#5 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#5 Business Hotel in Durango
Price Range: $91 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn! Located only 1.5 blocks from the Durango & Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad. BEST WESTERN Rio Grande Inn is perfect for the train enthusiasts of all ages. You can leave your vehicle in our parking lot and take a short to the train depot. Free HAPPY HOUR every evening from 5:30 PM to 7:30 PM. Includes(2) complimentary drinks per guest. Free HOT BREAKFAST every morning. Get your day stared right with our extended breakfast: Hot sausage, scrambled eggs, sausage gravy, biscuits, fresh fruit, yogurt, OJ and coffee. Walking distance to world class dining, galleries and amazing shopping. Some guests come for our top notch skiing. Take advantage of our GREAT location and rates when in town for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Hotel Durango
Best Western Durango
Durango Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing