We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice Hotel, with some problems” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
Ranked #9 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, FL
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, with some problems”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Very nice hotel with large rooms & friendly, helpful staff. We stayed there two nights & took the train to Silverton and back. Both nights, the pool was taken over by roudy kids that splashed water out of the pool area and into the surrounding walk ways. The second night the smoke from the trains was sucked into the room in the middle of the night. Breakfast the next morning was impossible as a large bus full of people used up all of the capacity. When we tried to leave, the bus was blocking the only exit from the property. Hotel management had to make them move. Best Western needs to allow for large groups of people and not impact individuals staying there.

Room Tip: 3rd floor is very nice and good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pkmule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you again for taking the time to review our property. I again apologize for the rambunctious children at the pool. I know that kids love our pool and do get a little out of hand at times. I have talked to the owner about your suggestion and he is taking into consideration. We did have some large groups during your stay and I am sorry they took over the breakfast area in the morning. Generally they eat and leave quickly because they are on such a tight schedule with their tour. We do open the pool area in the morning to help with additional seating. The bus drivers are usually very cognizant of blocking traffic. We had a new driver for the bus that blocked you that morning and I am sorry that he was not considerate of your trying to get around him. We appreciate the feedback and hope that you had a nice vacation.

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    231
    97
    43
    22
See reviews for
260
279
29
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed two nights at the Best Western Plus Rio Grande in Durango and loved the 3-story atrium with the pool and hot tub. Elevator had a glass wall so we could enjoy the atrium. Pool area was well-maintained. Our room was on the third floor with two queen beds, refrigerator, etc., and was very clean and comfortable. Amenities were nice and as advertised. The hotel did place us away from the pool as requested. Atrium rooms had glass french-style doors with curtains that could be closed, while rooms facing out had regular wood doors. Some outside rooms had little balconies. Breakfast was in a room off the pool area, and choices included scrambled eggs and sausage, waffles, oatmeal, cereal, pastries, and fruit, etc. In the evening, the hotel also offered drinks to hotel guests. We loved the location of the hotel especially, just a few minutes walk to the railroad station, and there were a number of great restaurants nearby. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: Decide if you want in the atrium or have an outside room. We liked being in the atrium but did not w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TXTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is greatly appreciated!! We do have a great property with a great staff. I am happy that you enjoyed the atrium, some guests prefer to be outside-everyone has different tastes and needs. Durango is a great area to visit with the train, the mountains, rafting and the overall beauty of the area. We are glad that we were a part of your vacation. Thanks again for the review and have a great summer.

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendon, New York
Level Contributor
123 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

Is in a very good location if you want to ride the train to Silverton because you can walk and don't have to pay extra to park your car. You are also within walking distance of the town and restaurants. We had a nice King room; it was clean and quiet but could use a little update. It was one of the few that had a safe in the room so you could store your electronics--computer, camera lenses, binoculars, etc.. Also had outlets that could be reached for charging all your devices. Breakfast was standard and very adequate. Evening drinks (2 per night) and snacks (pretzels and corn chips) were provided. Small lobby, friendly, helpful staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. Our location is great and we do offer a lot of great service and amenities. We pride ourselves on our friendly helpful staff and I am pleased to see that they did not fail where you were concerned. All of our rooms have safes with the exception of the mobility accessible rooms and we do provide safe deposit boxes for those rooms at the front desk. I am glad that you found the safe useful.

We all hope that you had a great time in Durango and had fun on the train. We appreciate the input and your business.

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
89 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

We'd stayed at this hotel before and appreciated the convenience of being in the centre of Durango. We were well pleased with our room, which was on the exterior of the building, finding it spacious, clean and comfortable. Clearly from other recent reviews that doesn't apply to all rooms, but ours was fine. The central swimming pool does give a slight whiff of chlorine, but it wasn't an issue. Breakfast, in terms of the quality and variety of food on offer, was excellent, and the lady overseeing operations was clearly taking a close personal interest in maintaining a high standard. We like Durango, we like the hotel, and hope we'll get another opportunity to visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mick_and_Moose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. I am glad that you enjoyed your accommodation along with the amenities that the hotel has to offer. We have a great location and our property is clean.
We do hope that you revisit if you are in the area again. We appreciate your input!

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden Prairie
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

The location of the hotel is great! It's an easy walk to the shops and restaurants in this quaint town. When we walked into the very small lobby, we wondered if we had made a mistake staying here. However, the front staff's friendliness and offers to recommend restaurants (complete with a map) made us quickly realize that it this hotel was a GREAT place to stay. The bartender and the breakfast staff were wonderful, too. The only thing we didn't care for was that our room did not have a window that let outside light in. It opened to an indoor corridor, making for quite a dark room. Would recommend this hotel for price and location and exceptional service.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for the review. I am sorry about the dark room. All the rooms have a window but we do have a few that face a breezeway where there is not much light. We have interior rooms and exterior rooms that are probably a little brighter. We hope that you enjoyed your time in Durango and we are very happy that you enjoyed the hotel!! Have a great summer, we do appreciate your business.

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, CA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

I agree with the loulou3 that the air was very loud. Also, due to that review, we requested an exterior room, and was very glad we did. The soft finishes in the room - carpet, drapes, etc, were plain dated an icky, and reeked of deodorizor. We were there on Memorial Day weekend, so the town was packed anyway, and in addition, the bike event we were attending, Iron Horse Classic packed the town even more. Therefore all the hotels were pretty expensive. Overall I thought this was a $129 room for which we paid $209 over that weekend. But the staff is nice, and falls head over heels to help with any little thing. One interesting thing - how that Colorado has legalized "Mary Jane", the "I won't smoke in the room" agreement isn't just tobacco anymore....not that we wanted to do that, I just found it interesting.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has an exterior, not interior entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank winebabeskl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are in the process of updating our rooms and adding new carpeting and remodeling the bathrooms. I apologize about the air conditioner noise. The units do have the option of choosing a quieter fan but that may have still been too loud for your taste. We do have a great staff and offer a great location along with free breakfast, drinks and wi-fi (we just updated that today!!) Thanks for staying with us and we hope that you had a fun time with all the events in town for the holiday.

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City MI
Level Contributor
74 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

We walked around a lot because we didn't want to go back to our small, dark room. At night the room was too warm, but turning on the very noisy air conditioner was worse. We put the chain on the door and left the door ajar. The swimming pool predominates the indoor space, so the smell of chlorine hangs heavy. The two free drinks during happy hour don't make up for the sad snacks (a bowl of pretzels, a bowl of corn chips, and thin looking salsa) in a dark, unattractive room. Staff was pleasant.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loulou3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
I am so sorry that you were unhappy with your room. We do have rooms that do not face the pool and are brighter. The atrium can be a little darker than the outside rooms. We would have been happy to relocate you had we known that you were unhappy. I am glad that you enjoyed the drinks, we don't have a kitchen so we are limited as to what we can offer for snacks and I do apologize that you were disappointed with those as well. We do offer a great breakfast and we do have a great location to town and the train. We all hope that you enjoyed Durango. Traverse City is a beautiful town as well. I am happy that you enjoyed the staff and hopefully the rest of your journery was pleasant.

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
0.2 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#7 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
0.2 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#10 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Durango
Hampton Inn Durango
#3 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
Address: 400 E Second Ave, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Durango
#5 Business Hotel in Durango
#5 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn! Located only 1.5 blocks from the Durango & Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad. BEST WESTERN Rio Grande Inn is perfect for the train enthusiasts of all ages. You can leave your vehicle in our parking lot and take a short to the train depot. Free HAPPY HOUR every evening from 5:30 PM to 7:30 PM. Includes(2) complimentary drinks per guest. Free HOT BREAKFAST every morning. Get your day stared right with our extended breakfast: Hot sausage, scrambled eggs, sausage gravy, biscuits, fresh fruit, yogurt, OJ and coffee. Walking distance to world class dining, galleries and amazing shopping. Some guests come for our top notch skiing. Take advantage of our GREAT location and rates when in town for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Hotel Durango
Best Western Durango
Durango Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing