We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“great weekend getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Fe, New Mexico
1 review
“great weekend getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I shouldn't be telling everyone this because I want to make sure a room is available for me the next time I go...but this hotel is awesome. Centrally located in downtown Durango allows you to park your car when you arrive and only get back in it when you drive home. You can literally walk to everywhere you need to go for shopping and dining.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John_at_Studiox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you so much for the great review. Yes you can park your car and walk everywhere. You can even leave your vehicle while you ride the train and avoid paying the parking lot fees!! We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay. We really appreciate the positive review and your business. Thank you for staying with us!

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    219
    95
    39
    21
See reviews for
250
262
28
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed on the 3rd floor and got a nice king room. The bed was very comfortable and everything was clean. There were a lot of trial products/free samples in the bathroom, which was great because I forgot a few toiletries. The bath/sink area was a nice size.

Our only disappointment was the continental breakfast. There were a lot of options but they all seemed pretty low quality, for example the eggs tasted fake as if they had been made from powdered scrambled egg mix. I would prefer fewer, higher-quality options.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Devren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am so sorry that you were disappointed with the breakfast. The eggs are real eggs, not powdered. They come in a liquid form and since we do not have a kitchen we have to prepare them in a microwave. They are already seasoned and some of the guests prefer not to have them seasoned. The sausage is real pork sausage. We also offer biscuits and gravy, make your own waffles, yogurt, fruit, fresh donuts, bagels, toast, english muffins, blueberry muffins, cereal, hot oatmeal and of course, coffee, tea and juice. We also offer the option of making your own breakfast burritos by providing the flour tortillas, salsa and cheese. We try and offer enough options to meet everyone's dietary needs. We even have gluted free cereal. I am glad that you enjoyed the rest of your stay. We appreciate your input and your business.

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

This weary traveler rolled into town and got a quiet room with great access to downtown Durango. I highly recommend this spot for folks who are just passing through or who may stay a little longer. Once you find it, its pure gold.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EsebanE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed our amenities. Please come back and stay with us again when you have a few days to enjoy all that Durango has to offer.

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Packer Country, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
76 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We didn't have a reservation and it took a little time trying to find the hotel downtown. It was at a dead end by the railroad yard. We stayed 4-24. The hotel was kind of dark looking, both inside and outside. I guess we are used to big open lobby's. Our room door opened to the outside which was fine with us as this was a quick overnight place to stay for us. Our room was very clean and updated. Flatscreen TV, larger than the normal size mini frig and had a freezer section too. Microwave, safe and internet. They also have laundry facilities here that we didn't use.
Upon check-in our very nice clerk told us about the "managers reception". We only had 10 min before it closed. We quick checked our room and then went over for a quick drink. The bartender was very friendly and asked if we needed anything else before she started to put things away.
The indoor pool looked nice and clean although we didn't have time to try and enjoy it.
Friendly staff also at check-out.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ju-Ju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
We really appreciate your taking the time to review our hotel. The hotel was designed to resemble a railroad roundhouse. All the entrances lead to the center, just like a train station! We are glad that you were able to enjoy all the amenities that the hotel offers. Our staff is great and caring and we are happy to have you as our guest. We all hope that your journey was safe and that you will return again someday soon.

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
87 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We chose this hotel solely based on its proximity to the railroad since we spent the weekend in Durango for the fall scenery and a train ride up to Silverton. We were pleasantly surprised. The had a nice breakfast each morning as well as a "manager's reception" in the evenings. We did not have time to enjoy the pool but the area appeared to be clean and nice. The room was clean and well-maintained and had a nice dorm size refrigerator which proved useful. We would stay again if in Durango for some biking or hiking.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HikerGail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
We do have a great location! The train is just a little more than a block away. You can park your car at the hotel and not pay the cost for parking in the train lot or in downtown Durango. We offer a free breakfast and complimentary evening cocktail and of course, free parking. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay. Come back and see us again soon!

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bannng, CA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

This B/W is clean and comfortable and has a courteous and helpful staff. We liked the indoor pool which was right outside our room. The hotel is just on the edge of the downtown section of Durango, so it's an easy walk to the steam train station or the downtown retail shops and restaurants.The hotel was so nice that we extended our stay by another day. We don't do that very often, and we'd definitely stay here when in Durango again. Only issue was upon checkout when we discovered that the rate for the 2nd and 3rd nights was $10 higher than the rate for the 1st night. I thought I had missed something in the online reservation online I had made, but in checking I found I was correct and the hotel had made a mistake. They quickly adjusted my bill, but I couldn't help but wonder how many people don't look over their bill closely when checking out of a hotel. My advice: Always check your bill....!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerome L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you so much for the review. We do have a great location and staff and offer many amenities to our guests. I am so sorry about your bill. I am glad that we were able to resolve it quickly. We really appreciate your input and your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
154 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We've stayed at this hotel in the past and have always been very satisfied. This time we traveled with family from Seattle and we were anxious for them to enjoy their stay in Durango. And they did in large part because of our stay at The Rio Grande Inn. The indoor pool and hot tub were fun for our grandson...and grandpa. Breakfast at Otto's had a good variety of hearty and delicious options. From 5:30-7:30 PM Otto's becomes the place for Happy Hours with beer, wine, spirits and snacks. The rooms were comfortable, the staff was helpful and friendly and the location is hard to beat. What more could one want?

Room Tip: Atrium facing rooms on the 3rd floor also have a river and mountain view from the patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kit N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you so much for the great review. We are so happy that your family enjoyed their visit. We do have a great property with a great location and offer amenities that we feel set us apart from other properties. We all hope that your family comes and visits often!!

We appreciate the positive review and the business.

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
1.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#6 of 32 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 887 reviews
2.1 mi away
Quality Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
#5 of 32 in Durango
4.0 of 5 stars 433 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Durango
Hampton Inn Durango
#3 of 32 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
Address: 400 E 2nd Ave, Durango, CO 81301-5602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Durango
#5 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#5 Business Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn! Located only 1.5 blocks from the Durango & Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad. BEST WESTERN Rio Grande Inn is perfect for the train enthusiasts of all ages. You can leave your vehicle in our parking lot and take a short to the train depot. Free HAPPY HOUR every evening from 5:30 PM to 7:30 PM. Includes(2) complimentary drinks per guest. Free HOT BREAKFAST every morning. Get your day stared right with our extended breakfast: Hot sausage, scrambled eggs, sausage gravy, biscuits, fresh fruit, yogurt, OJ and coffee. Walking distance to world class dining, galleries and amazing shopping. Some guests come for our top notch skiing. Take advantage of our GREAT location and rates when in town for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Hotel Durango
Best Western Durango
Durango Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing