We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stop in downtown Durango” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Parker, Colorado, Usa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A great stop in downtown Durango”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Great downtown location, excellent value for the cost, wonderful rooms, and a very attentive and friendly staff. The entire hotel is designed around the interior pool area, which makes the space quite impressive to look at. And upon check in, you get a coupon for two free cocktails at happy hour that night. You can't ask for more than that, really. I really recommend this place quite highly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank 980PatrickM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. We all feel that we have a great location and wonderful amenities to offer our guests. We are upgrading our rooms this year as well and more improvements are slated for later in the year. We greatlyl appreciate your input and your business.

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    214
    93
    37
    20
See reviews for
240
256
27
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Junction, CO
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This hotel gives you a great value for a stay in Durango! Wonderful breakfast buffet, spotless rooms, SUPER QUIET heat/AC, and a great pool/spa area.Downtown Durango,and train are at your door.We appreciated the opportunity for early check in, and the friendly front desk welcome by Jessica.We are new BW reward members and will definitely be returning soon!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window/ balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boxermom4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for the great review. Jessica is a wonderful clerk and we are blessed to have her on our staff. We are glad that you enjoyed the hotel and all it has to offer. We greatly appreciate your comments and your business. Come back and see us again soon!

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed for 4 days while skiing, riding the train, and enjoying Durango. It is an easy walk to downtown locations (Train station, restaurants, etc). The staff was friendly and breakfast had plenty of choices. I am an early riser and was able to have early coffee while the breakfast area was being set up. They offered an airport shuttle, although you probably need a car if you're doing more than riding the train. The rooms were very comfortable. The hotel worked great for our stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vic S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submi a review to Trip Advisor. We are glad that your enjoyed our facility. We are right downtonw within walking distance to shops, restaurants, night life and the train. The area is centrally located to Durango Mountain Resort, Wolf Creek and Telluride ski areas. It is a great spot for winter sports enthusiasts. If you are planning to ride the train we would love to have you back as our guests. Thank you again for the great review.

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
115 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Our ski group stayed here mid-week and we enjoyed the ease of walking to numerous restaurants in the evening. Also an easy walk to Main Street to ride the free trolley. We didn't spend much time in the rooms, but the mattresses were so comfortable after our days of skiing and snowshoeing. The complimentary breakfast was extensive with eggs, sausage patties, toast, bagels, waffles, yogurt and fruit. The in-room coffee and coffee in the breakfast area was a bit weak for my taste. It was handy to have two luggage racks in the room (most places seem to have only one for some reason). The two complimentary evening drinks were also appreciated.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 218 which faces a concrete wall, but that was better than getting a room that face...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Winger07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your input. We appreciate the kind comments about our facility. We do have a great location and offer great amenities for our guests. I am very glad that you were able to enjoy our property as well as the local skiing area. Please consider us again if you are traveling to Durango. We appreciate your business.

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I've been living out of different hotels for work for the past 7 months and this was undoubtedly my favorite. The rooms were clean, well maintained, and quite. Even staying right by the pool there was no noise disturbance. The staff was great not to mention the hotel bar every night. I'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Graham A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you so much for great review! We really appreciate your comments and acknowledgement of our efforts. We do have a great location and a wonderful caring staff. We all hope that you will come back and see us again if you are in this area. Enjoy your travels throughout the country and thanks again for taking the time to review our property.

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Location was perfect, you can walk to everything. Double queen room was well priced and nicely decorated. Kids had fun in the indoor pool while the adults enjoyed complimentary drinks at the bar located next to the pool. Friendly staff. Excellent breakfast as well. Durango is a beautiful little town nestled in the mountains. The train ride is a must, but tickets do sell fast so be sure to buy your tickets ahead of time. Silverton train is a long scenic ride. The polar express ride is great for kids and a much shorter ride.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank janelle s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you so much for the great review. We have a great location and the kids do love our pool. We appreciate your taking the time to submit the review to Trip Advisor. Your kind words are much appreciated and we hope to see you again in your future travels to the Durango area.

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed for two nights in October, 2012, at this fine property. And in many years of traveling, there have been very few places which provide as much value as this hotel does. The train station is a block from the hotel, and Durango's main street with many restaurants, is about a 10 nminute walk.

Our room was a good size and very clean. The property is well cared for by staff, who were professionals in every aspect.

In particular this is a superior choice for families, with its indoor pool and breakfast on site.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fredderico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We do have a great location for proximity to the Polar Express and family oriented facilities. We hope that you will come stay with us again in your future travels to the Durango area! Enjoy your holiday!

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
1.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#5 of 32 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 867 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Durango
Hampton Inn Durango
#2 of 32 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 788 reviews
2.1 mi away
Quality Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
#4 of 32 in Durango
4.0 of 5 stars 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
Address: 400 E 2nd Ave, Durango, CO 81301-5602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Durango
#5 Business Hotel in Durango
#5 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn! Located only 1.5 blocks from the Durango & Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad. BEST WESTERN Rio Grande Inn is perfect for the train enthusiasts of all ages. You can leave your vehicle in our parking lot and take a short to the train depot. Free HAPPY HOUR every evening from 5:30 PM to 7:30 PM. Includes(2) complimentary drinks per guest. Free HOT BREAKFAST every morning. Get your day stared right with our extended breakfast: Hot sausage, scrambled eggs, sausage gravy, biscuits, fresh fruit, yogurt, OJ and coffee. Walking distance to world class dining, galleries and amazing shopping. Some guests come for our top notch skiing. Take advantage of our GREAT location and rates when in town for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Best Western + Iniative, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Hotel Durango
Best Western Durango
Durango Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing