We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
Nearby Hotels
$167
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Durango Inn & Suites(Durango)(Great Value!)
$177
$160
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango(Durango)(Great Value!)
$152
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$161
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango(Durango)(Great Value!)
$227
$206
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn Durango(Durango)(Great Value!)
$208
$189
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Mountain Shadows(Durango)(Great Value!)
$139
$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Strater Hotel(Durango)(Great Value!)
$197
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
General Palmer Hotel(Durango)(Great Value!)
$200
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$270
$229
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (944)
Filter reviews
944 results
Traveler rating
463
278
127
53
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
463
278
127
53
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree drinksindoor poolgreat locationhappy hourcocktail hourtrain stationwithin walking distancejacuzzi tubbest westernsmain streetshort walkeach eveningbiscuits and gravyin townthe durango silverton railroadtwo blocksgreat place to stay
Filter
Updating list...
776 - 781 of 944 reviews
Reviewed December 5, 2012

We loved it and will return in January. Thank you for the nice breakfast and warm swimming pool. Plenty of towels. HBO kept turning off, which was a bit frustrating and the office staff did not respond with any consideration

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank LJWBloomfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

Thank you so much for your review. I am glad that you had a great time in Durango. The Polar Express is a great time for families and we do get a bunch of happy kids here when they run that train. I apologize for the HBO problems. We do have cable in our rooms so I am not quite sure what they problem could have been. I am sorry that the front desk was not more attentive. Usually they go above and beyond to take care of guest's needs. I am sorry they dropped the ball where you were concerned. Please come back and stay with us again!! We do appreciate your kind review and hope you have a great holiday season.

Mary Kay Dobson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed here for a single night in October as we had missed our flight home and had to reschedule for the next day. (It might be a small place, but don’t underestimate how long it takes to drive to the airport!!).

The reception staff were welcoming, friendly and professional. We were placed in a room at the back of the property that overlooked the carpark, but we were happy with this selection – as we didn’t want a room in the inner circle of the property that opened into the courtyard surrounding the pool.

The Hotel is spacious and actually looks like a hotel not a motel (and as a previous reviewer has mentioned – it does resemble a ski lodge), it is conveniently located a short walk away from the Durango-Silverton train station and provides a perfect base for wandering around the towns centre.

The breakfast was an open buffet with a great selection of hot and continental options and the room price also included two free drinks at the bar in the afternoon, which is a great way to get everyone in the bar area, chatting and making friends.

Having spent the week (prior to missing our flight) at another Best Western down the road (for roughly the same price) we couldn’t believe the difference in the service, professionalism and value for money between the two establishments.
If we return to Durango, we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Travelling_Bilbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Thank you so much for the great review. We are indeed a hotel, not a motel. We do pride ourselves on our customer service and do go out of our way to make the guests as comfortable as possible. We all hope that you were able to take advantage of the amenities that the hotel has to offer along with a great continental breakfast and complimentary evening cocktails. We do have a great indoor pool and hot tub and the best part is the location. Right downtown within walking distance to shops, restaurants and the train.

Please come stay with us again if you are in the Durango area.

Have a great holiday and again thanks for taking the time to review our property!

Mary Kay Dobson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

This hotel's customer service was awesome. I needed a hotel for my daughter for one night as the college was closed for the holiday. I found this website and called to ask questions about shuttle service from airport, eating establishments and late checkout as college wouldn't let kids back in until after 1pm. They exceeded all expectations by being at airport when daughter arrived, stopped on way to hotel at store for drinks and snacks, accommodated late check out and even drove my daughter to college when they opened! Thank you so much for taking good care of your customer's! We will be back!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stanleyak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Thank you so much for the great review. We were happy to accommodate your daughter until she could get back into the dorm. My staff are outstanding with their customer service, I am truly blessed. I hope she enjoyed her stay and that she does well in school! We love FLC parents and students!

Thanks again, we really appreciate your kindness.

Mary Kay Dobson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Sadly, our room wasn't that wonderful..we asked for and were assigned two ground floor rooms with parking outside the door (critical when you are on a road trip with folks like us who bring everything we own everywhere we go, or so it seems!) with two queen beds. The rooms were very small and the baths were as well. Understand updating is ongoing and someday soon expect this property will have new carpets as well as furniture and fittings which aren't dinged.
The location is great for exploring downtown Durango. Breakfast was motel acceptable. We usually travel with our dogs and next trip to Durango (we live just a few hours away in NM) will find us elsewhere. If you have never visited Durango, please do so and do yourself a favor and stay at this hotel or one of the in-town properties - parking is a huge hassle and endless quarters are required for the meters.
On a previous trip we stayed at the Doubletree down by the river--it is very nice but it is noisy from street traffic (tho' Best Western guests can hear train whistles perhaps more than they want to!). Still think Best Western has rest beat hands down for location.

Room Tip: Interior rooms face an enclosed atrium and many of exterior rooms are far from parking. Choose according to your needs and these nice folks will help.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Khkhnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Thank you again for your input. I am sorry that you were disappointed with your accomodations. The furniture in the rooms was replaced in 2011. We have added new 42" flat screen tv's' and updated the bedding in all the rooms. We are slated to replace the carpet in the very near future and will be replacing all the tub surrounds over the next year. Our breakfast offerings do include scrambled eggs, sausage patties, biscuits & gravy, waffles, yogurt, fruit, fresh donuts, blueberry muffins, bagels, english muffins, bread, cereal, hot oatmeal coffee, tea and juice. Hopefully you were able to find something to your liking with our offerings. We do not allow pets, sorry but we do offer a great location. Most of our parking is located in close proximity to the rooms so I do apologize if you had some problems in that area.
We appreciate your business and hope that you had a great time in Durango.

Mary Kay Dobson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Not so great. Not horrible, but this is a last resort. Hotel old and run down, rooms the same. WiFi SLOW---obviously too many people online at the same time. Room was rough around the edges. Bathroom kind of disgusting. Window didn't lock. Only redeeming attribute: Two free drinks a night in lounge and super friendly servers. Won't make this mistake again. Stay at a Hilton in town.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank baom123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

I am so sorry that you were disappointed with the hotel. We have recently upgrade all of our rooms with new case goods and new linen. We will be replacing all the bath tile in our standard rooms throughout the upcoming months. New carpet is scheduled as well. We are an older hotel and we are constantly working on improving the property. We did have a bandwith issue with our wi-fi and we believe that we have the issue resolved. I am glad that you were able to enjoy the complimentary cocktails and hopefully the breakfast.

Again, I do apologize and hope that you had a good time in Durango.

Mary Kay Dobson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews